We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Diplomat(Stockholm)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$287
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rival(Stockholm)
$224
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nobis Hotel(Stockholm)
$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Skeppsholmen(Stockholm)
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
$179
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel C Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
$313
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel(Stockholm)
$381
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
100
98
19
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
98
19
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprison cellconverted prisonbunk bedsguest kitchencentral hallwayminute walk from the nearest metrowasher and dryertop bunkprivate bathrooma great place to staystaff at receptionstayed for one nightexpensive cityspent nightsrooms are smallold towndolls
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 223 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017

This is a great hostel on the island of langholmen. Its not too difficult to get to (boat is not needed!)
The rooms are very small (as they once were cells) which means when there is two of you in the room there is very little space!
The wifi is free but very patchy. The guest kitchen has individual fridge lockers and is well stocked with cutleries etc.
There is a cute wee beach just across the road from the hostel.
Overall it is a quiet hotel..unless someone doesnt shut their room door properly. An alarm goes off until its shut which is annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017

Very nice hostel with an intriguing theme, in a prison cell! Although the cells are extremely small, everything you need is in there. It also provides a good base to explore Stockholm whilst staying in the middle of nature. The museum of the prison itself is also worthwile and free to visit when you're a guest.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017

I stayed here a total of 4 nights in late July 2017 during my time in Stockholm. I also stayed here a few days back in 1993 after graduating from college during my backpacking journey through Europe. Seems different from back then but a good difference.

I arrived in Stockholm by Viking ferry from Helsinki and opted to take a taxi from there to the hostel. The faxi driver immediately quioted me a fixed price which I knew was probably way too much but he and one other taxi were the only ones there and did not want to argue the point. Anyway he got me to the hostel. I am glad I did. It is too far to walk from the Viking terminal. Based on what I know now and if you wan tto save money take the bus transfer that Viking offers to City Terminal or Central. There I would take Bus 54. The bus stop is on the street that starts with Klag something. It is the street that has Central Station(rail) on one side and City Terminal on the other.. The taxis are out there as well. Coming out of Central Station you cross the street and go down a bit to the left until you see the bus stop that has Bus 54 on it. That will take you in the direction you want to go. The ride is roughly 24 minutes and will take you by Hornstull subway(T-Bahn) station). Then it makes turn down a side street. It stops very close to the bridge that crosses over to Langholmen island. The stopis is called Bebers something. Ask the driver you want off to go to Langholmen and he/she will tell you. Piece of information Central Station\Bus Station have streets on two levels. The bus stop I mentioned above is on the top level. The level above the Tourist Information desk/McDonald/Burger King/Starbucks.

On the birdge which few cars go on and it mostly has walkers and bikers you cross it and keep going straight. Do not veer to the right like hte road does. Keep going straight at the same angle as the bridge on the gravel path for about 40 yards. You will then come to a perpindicular cement path that goes left and right. Turn left and go about 50 yards. Be careful of the bikers and ocassional car. When the wall along the right side of the road sops and you can turn right into a parking lot do so. This is the parking lot for the hotel/hostel. Walk straight for about 70 yards passing the mini picket fence of the parking lot. You will come to a entrance on the left that will have arrows pointing where to go. You will turn left and go about 20 yards and the entrance to the hotel/hostel is on your left. The front door open automatically. Reception is open pretty much all the time from what I can tell.

The best grocery store to go to is in the shopping center near Hornstull subway station. To get there you walk back to the bridge I mentioned before and keep going straight away from the bridge for serveral blocks. I think about 200-300 yards). Stay on the left side. When you come to a cafe/restaurant on a corner with a sigh that says Gasthaous Molddav(something like) and turn left and you go one long block(100 yard). At this point you will come to a wide street. You will see a 7 Eleven directly across the street. Cross the street and turn left for about 40 yards. There is an entrance with auto sliding doors that goes down to the shopping mall along with Hornstull station. Once down there I think you turn right. The store is very large and the name began like Hemp something. The name is red in front of it.

Also if you are coming from Stockholm, the Fly(something) bus stops near the 7-Eleven. Instead of turning right for the grocery store you turn left for about 30 yards and you will find a bus stops with the Fly(something) where they pickup and dropoff. Best and cheapest way to get to and from the airport.

By the way Bus 54 pretty much takes the same path I mentioned going to the grocery store when it heading toward Langoholmen. When in doubt about where you are or where to go ask. Stockholmers are generally nice and understand English generally speaking

The hostel/hotel is a former prison but it is not as dreary as you think. I was in a dorm room with two double-bunk beds separated by desks opposite each other with a wall betwen them for privacy betwen the two double-bunks. The desk is a large falt table with two plastic chairs with no cushion . Not comfortable to sit in for a long period of time.

There are two large windows on each side of the room with curtains. If you want your privacy at night you will need to close them since people walk by them.

There is a locked cabinet which is similar to a long school locker. Big enough for a medium size bag or a large one if it not too bulky.

The lighting in the room is average but not dreary.. I was happy with it especially with the large windows.

The rooms all connect to a large central hallway which is a museum depicting the history of the history. Hence, there are lots of displays in this area. Ocassionally, people walk around looking around. Your door is securely locked with a keycard only for its occupant. This central area or museum is only accessible by punching in the keycode to get in it.

There is a sperate WC and showers for each sex. One sex on one side the room and the opposite on the other side. Two showers. Two sinks with the showers and two sinks with the toilets. There are soap dispensers in the showers and by the sinks.

Breakfast is extra. I think 100Kr per and it consits of scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, and other items. I had it and I was hapy with it. It is in another part of the hotel.

I did my laundry at the hostel. It is in one of the locked room in the hostel section. It is 79Kr for 2 hour use of it. There is only one washer and dryer. The detergent is automatically fed into the washer. It must be a bio-degradable unscented soap. Be careful of the dryer. That suckers drys your clothes fast. I suggest 15 minutes cycle and take out the clothes that are dry enough and do another 15 minute cycle.

Reception is very good and friendly. They were extremenly helpful in terms of getting to tourist places, grocery store, etc. They will give you a city map of Stockholm. They also sell city transit cards. I bought one that had 200Kr on it. That enough for at least 4 rides.

Wifi was very good in the central hallway of the hostel but depending on the usage and distance it can get slow. I was in Room 5 which is at the very end of the hallway. I got about 2-3 bars and at times was Ok but others too slow. There is a password which the hostel will provide.

There was a fair amount of people using the hostel but I suspect there were some availability. I would consider this hostel at least for a backup in case you can not find one available. It is a unique experience to stay in a former prison and it appears a lot of Swedes get a kick out of staying here. Also Langoholmen island is mostly a park from I can tell and a lot of Swedes along with their families are walking around.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017

The hostel is in a former prison and it is decorated very nice and it looks like a prison. The hostel is not very noisy, they have lockers and the staff is helpfully.
The hostel is located on a small, green island, which is very nice. But it is not very central, even to the underground or to a supermarket you have to walk a few minutes but it is worth it, when you have a few days in Stockholm and you are not in a hurry.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017

I stayed here as a solo traveller for the Europa League final back in May. The hostel is around 10-15 walk away from Hornstull metro station. The walk is pleasant and can either be taken through a park or via following the road. The hostel is right at the very far corner of the complex after passing the football pitch.

On arrival I was met by very friendly staff and asked if I wanted towels & bedding. Suppose if I was a regular 'hostel' stayer this must be a normal question, but as I don't usually stay in this type of accommodation I obliged. There was a small extra cost for this. I also asked if checkout could be later than 10:00 and was told for 50SEK it could be until 12:00 midday.

The hostel is an old prison and rooms are in the old cells. I was in a two bed cell and not a dormitory. The room was quite small as expected with bunkbeds and a desk. However, the shower/toilet was quite a large room and the shower was good quality. The TV in the room had around 15 channels mostly Swedish of course! There is also a safe in the room which is free to use. Internet was free and easy to get logged on. I never really used any other facilities as I only stayed for one night.

There isn't much around the hostel and you have to walk back upto Hornstull for sign of activity. There are a number of bars/restaurants around here. The road called Hornsgatan has a number of bars along it on the way to Zinkensdamm metro station. Beers can be found for between 55-75SEK.

Would definitely recommend for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lanc_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews