We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central location, clean and friendly.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotell Ornskold

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stockholm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotell Ornskold
Ranked #110 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very central location, clean and friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

Enjoyed staying at the hotel, staff were nice and friendly. The hotel is located centraly so you can walk around the city sights with ease. Our room was a good size, nicely decorated and clean. The price was reasonable. in comparison to other hotels I found on the internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
9
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

This small three star hotel is old and quaint with furniture dating back some decades. You have to carry your bags up a flight of stairs which is OK if your bag is not heavy. Acceptable for a quick overnight stay on a tight budget. It is close to the action and only ten minutes walk away from the old city. Staff was friendly and assisted quickly with directions and an iron when requested. The room itself was big, but the carpet needs replacing. The breakfast is served in the room and was adequate - I dont think the hotel has a dining area.
I paid around SEK1 200 for the night. Another SEK 300 and I would have been in the Radisson, where I normally stay. Would not recommend for business travellers unless you have budget constraints. I do not however have any specific complaints.
The taxi to the Ferry took around 20 minutes in peak hour traffic.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bankeronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

extremely good (for some too hectic) location, right behind Dramaten. Very, very beatiful interiors, not too expensive, nice breakfast, quiet. broadband, charming, historically interesting. Really nice!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miehksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

I stayed at Hotel Örnsköld for ten days, in one of their smallest rooms (very affordable, but very very tiny), and had an absolutely wonderful time. The staff was the nicest one could hope for, breakfast is served to your room at your chosen time (fresh and always at the minute), and the location absolutely perfect. I will definitively stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

I stayed here in 2005 when I was in Stockholm for business. I was originally staying at really high-end 5 star hotel around the corner, but I checked out and went to the Ornskold.

It was a great place. Super-friendly family ran the hotel, they'd make conversation as I went to my room.

The room wasn't the largest I've ever been in, but it had enough room. I lucked out; I had a room that was on the inside of the building; not much scenery, but it was quiet on weekend nights when street-facing rooms would be much louder.

Location was excellent as well. Great restaurants on Nybrogaten and nearby streets. Lots of bars and clubs. There was a 7-11 a few hundred feet away for small sundries.

Breakfast in the morning was very European, but always very tasty. A hardboiled egg, cheese, some nutty bread that I can't find anywhere else, coffee, etc. In the evenings, they'd give you hot chocolate; it was packaged, but really really good. You could ask for more if you wanted.

Also, there was free wireless internet which was a huge bonus. In my last week there, the DSL connection died, and the owners trusted me enough to allow me to try to fix it. (I couldn't, but it ended up being a problem upstream.)

All this, for half-the price of the original 5-star hotel.

I've since stayed at 5-star hotels world-wide. It wasn't the most extravagant, or the most "don't lift a finger" or the most "resorty". I would say that it was the most pleasant hotel experience I've had, and is easily my favorite one.

  • Liked — Attention to customer
  • Disliked — The rooms COULD be larger and ... nicer, but oh well.
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkinsst7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munchen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

came here because a friend of mine suggested it. It was actually pretty difficult to find a central hotel ain Stockholm and It was a very good surprise. This hotel is family runned hotel. Very familiar and pretty good in services. Not 5 stars but that was what i was looking for and truly central, that is the best reason to go to the hotel. It is at the limit with the city and very close to nightlife (2 minutes walking from one of the top club in the city as well). Something different was they have no breakfast room so they serve breakfast in the room. That was a very nice experience. Strongly suggested for a week end in this great city.

  • Liked — location, breakfast in room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank markgimaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Ostermalm
Parlan Hotell
Parlan Hotell
#104 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Esplanade
Hotel Esplanade
#65 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Ornskold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Ornskold

Property: Hotell Ornskold
Address: 6 Nybrogatan, Stockholm 114 34, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Hotell Ornskold Stockholm
Hotell Ornskold Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing