We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super, a genuine Chinese restaurant”
Review of China!

China!
Ranked #552 of 3,085 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Umeå, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super, a genuine Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a genuine Chinese restaurant, not adapted to Swedish customs. They have some, at least for me, more odd selections on the menu, and some also quite expensive, (the kind you like to pay for with a business card), but also a lot reasonably priced. Not your everyday Chinese menu, which is nice for a change, and the food we had was really great and tasteful.
The staff matched the food, really friendly and helpful. This restaurant will be on my Stockholm top list.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanStenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    16
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food experience-a bit slow on the service”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

It´s great to find a restaurant that does not serve the usual dishes you can expect in a Chinese restaurant. Of course, we had to try the crispy duck, which did not disappoint us. Actually, it was enough to satisfy the three of us. We will definitely be back and try some of the interesting dishes on the meny. I have no problems recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globelelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful food - bad service”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I've been to China! several times, and I have never been disappointed. They serve authentic Sichuan food, and I love their la zi ji (chili chicken), their suan cai yu (fish with pickled mustard greens), fish fragrant aubergines, tangcu paigu (deep fried ribs), shui zhu beef (water boiled beef - although it could be more heavy on the chilis). And their version of gan bian si ji dou (dry-fried beans) is addictive. It's is definitely not your average Swedish/Chinese restaurant, and I'm glad they threw away their Swedish adapted menu and kept only the true Sichuan menu when they moved from Hornstull to Ringvägen.

If the food is authentic Chinese, well, so is also the service. Sometimes very attentive, and sometimes very confused. Sometimes very smooth and friendly, and sometimes only effective, not friendly. The lady who seems to be the owner is probably the most confused, or at least confusing, of them all. She is eager to please, but gets too eager, which not seldom result in almost hysterical situations. And sometimes she forgets what you've ordered, and will be devastated when reminded.

But, if you are aware of that, you won't be disappointed. The food is great, and really worth waiting for!

Go eat at China! if you want really good Chinese food in Stockholm.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Fnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful service, long waiting times, over 3 hours”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Hi,

I have eaten at China Restaurant before and it was fine. We recently went back and made a reservation and pre-booked crispy duck. The server sat us in the corner behind other tables and did not serve us for 45 minutes until we walked up to the bar to retrieve menus and order our meal. We will not allowed to split our bills properly and have been so disappointed we will not return and will have to find another place to have crispy duck..

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“best chinese in town!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I don't know how the previous reviewer could think this was expensive, I have been to China! several times and never paid more than 300 kr (most main dishes are between 100 and 200). The sichuan-dishes are very hot and very good, and the Peking duck is excellent (600 kr for four people) but has to be booked in advance. A non-typical Chinese restaurant for this part of the world and highly redommended!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tofve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China! also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to China!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing