We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice service”
Review of Scandic Klara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Klara
Ranked #69 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, nice service”
Reviewed January 17, 2007

Rica Hotel Stockholm is located in the city center, 3 minutes walk from one of the main shopping streets. The hotel is nice and clean. Double room is spacious enough for one, but might be a bit small for two. Bathroom is adequate, good power shower. Buffet breakfast was very good, with a variety of cold and warm foods. There was also the 'Swedish deli' section with some special fish and other nice things. Good choice of drinks. Complimentary newspaper (in Swedish, though :D).

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, room interior
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kaimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    521
    292
    100
    33
See reviews for
155
362
103
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2006

This is a nice hotel with a couple of negatives. First, the rooms are tiny. I have a queen room and it is the smallest hotel room I've ever seen. It's clean, it's comfortable, and it's tiny. If you only use the room to sleep or if there is only one person you.'ll be fine. The other negative is the space at breakfast. This is a big hotel, and when it's sold out, the breakfast rooms (there are two) just don't have enough seating. In two days, my seat was taken both times when I got up to get more coffee. I had left a book on the table. I don't blame the guests, there is nowhere to sit.

On the other hand, it's an excellent breakfast... and it's included in the hotel price. They have American bacon and eggs, they have a more traditional European breakfast, and they have a section entirely dedicated to Swedish food. I was thoroughly impressed with the selection.

The other really good thing is free internet service, although I'd prefer it if they didn't make guests get a one-day pass to use it. Those passes are at the front desk, and if you're unaware, you may waste the money and pay for it. But read the hotel info book, which specifically notes that internet access is free. You just have to get one of those day passes in the lobby, for each day of your stay.

Location is another huge plus. My room overloks the busiest shopping street in the city. How cool is that? And it's pedestrian only, so there is no vehicle traffic to worry about. It's really very quiet and only two blocks from the T-Bana subway's main station.

Good hotel, reasonable prices, and excellent location. Stay here if you don't mind the little rooms.

  • Liked — Excellent Breakfast!
  • Disliked — Tiny Room... I mean it was really small!
  • Tips/Secrets — Get your 1-day internet card. Don't pay for internet access; it's FREE!!!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GoingEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

Great location, very short walk from the Arlanda Express (the high speed airport train), lots of shopping, 15 minute walk to the old town and museums, quiet, comfortable but small rooms (I had a single with a twin bed), lots of restaurants nearby (Hurry Curry right next door had cheap, filling and tasty Indian food), BUT the hotel's wireless service is terrible. One of the main reasons I stayed here was the promise of free in room wireless, but it was quite spotty, maybe 5 mintues of a fast connection then it disappeared. The only way I could get work done was to disconnect and then reconnect. For most travellers, I guess this isn't a big deal, but unfortunately I needed to work. By the way, the breakfast buffet on the weekend was a zoo from about 9am, Monday things were much quieter.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank WillnPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

We stayed at the hotel 20-23 september. The hotel is good
but I cant understand how it can have 4 stars.

  • Liked — The situation
  • Disliked — We needed cards for everything (security)
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2006

Very pleasant hotel in the very heart of Stockholm. Stylish lobby, beautiful breakfast hall and friendly staff.
Rooms large and well finished. There are room with no open windows overlooking the atrium and rooms with open windows on the streetsides. Free wireless internet access cards are available at the reception.
The best hotel in the very heart of Stockholm for its money.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank arne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

Excellent? Perfect? Don't be silly!!

This is a pleasant hotel, with clean rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff and a good location. But it isn't "excellent" so let's not pretend it is.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Random_Person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2006

This hotel was a highlight of our Scandinavian trip. The location was perfect, just a few blocks from the train station in a pedestrian area close to everything. A restaurant serving Swedish specialties was just a block away, across the street from the nearby fruit-and-flower market.
The room was comfortable and quiet. The door was solid and well-fitting, eliminating all noise from the hall. There was no noise from adjacent rooms, either.
In addition to a superb Scandinavian bed, the room had two chairs, a desk, 2 night stands, and a very large, new television. The floors were hardwood with a rug in the sitting area. The room was approximately 9' x 21' feet in size.
The bathroom included a towel warmer and a wonderful shower. Everything was incredibly clean.
The room rate included an irresistible Scandivian breakfast buffet with smoked salmon, herring, ham, liver pate, bacon, many breads, caviar spread, eggs, fresh fruit and vegetables, cheese, espresso, hot chocolate, countless fruit juices, and more!
The hotel was also a sponsor August's wonderful Kulturfestival which included free performances by the Swedish Royal Ballet, another highlight of our trip.
Internet access in the lobby was yet another thoughtful touch in this wonderful hotel. We plan to stay here again on every future visit to Stockholm.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank WorldTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#50 of 154 in Stockholm
1,416 reviews
Norrmalm
Haymarket by Scandic
Haymarket by Scandic
#28 of 154 in Stockholm
583 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 154 in Stockholm
1,173 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Terminus Stockholm
Hotel Terminus Stockholm
#93 of 154 in Stockholm
352 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 154 in Stockholm
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Klara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Klara

Property: Scandic Klara
Address: 7 Sloejdgatan, Stockholm 111 57, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Stockholm)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#48 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Klara 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Klara, and enjoy central Stockholm at its best city location. Our hotel is a popular meeting place with a newly renovated restaurant, meeting facilities and modern hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Klara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Rica Hotel
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing