We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated, but some rooms are terrible!”
Review of Scandic Klara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Klara
Ranked #70 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Rica Stockholm has recently been renovated, and the hotel itself looks really good. Some of the rooms are awful though. Both me and a colleague got rooms with tiny tiny windows looking out on a patio floor... Anyone in the patio can look down into your room (although the window is so small they probably won't see much...).

The prices are pretty hefty: 2000 SEK per room, and the standard really doesn't live up to it.

Avoid first floor rooms if you can, in case they are anything like room 143.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
4  Thank ebben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraWiberg, Rooms Division Manager at Scandic Klara, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

I'm sorry to hear that You did not like our rooms. Room 143 that You were staying in has a normal sized window as in all our rooms but that room is a little dark since it is facing the courtyard.

The hotel has put some flowers outside the window so that one should not get too much disturbed by the guests out in the courtyard.

Of course we also have rooms facing the outside. Next time You come to us You could request for a room not facing the courtyard.

During 2012 and 2013 we have renovated the public areas of the hotel and we are hoping to be able to start renovating our rooms as well in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Sara Wiberg
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Klara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

The nice thing about this hotel is that it is centrally located (and not far from the central station /Arlanda Express). The rooms are not so big but they are comfortable (also soft bed) and clean. I was lucky to have a room with a window facing the Drottninggatan (no cars allowed in this street). So, during the night, it is quiet and it is possible to open the window. However, later I noticed that there are also many rooms facing the breakfast area (courtyard or atrium). In that case, you can expect a lot of noise and light and opening the window would not be an option. If I would have obtained such a room, I would have tried to change immediately. The breakfast is good but not exceptional (especially not in view of the high price of this hotel).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Drottninggatan (street)
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snorkelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A good, centrally located hotel with good facilities, helpful friendly staff.
You could not get a better hotel in central Stockholm. Everything is in easy walking distance, and the bars and restaurants are plentiful

Room Tip: Get one away from the breakfast room on 1st floor, as it gets busy at weekends.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roytheroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraWiberg, Rooms Divison Manager at Scandic Klara, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

I'm glad to hear that!

Welcome back!

Kind Regards,

Sara Wiberg
Rooms Divison Manager
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Arrived at 1.00 am to find that they had given my colleague's pre-paid room to somebody else. I was not impressed with the way they handled it. Did not really seem sorry or made any attempt to contact us in advance to make alternative arrangements.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClauClau82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraWiberg, Rooms Divison Manager at Scandic Klara, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

I'm sorry to hear about Your stay.

Please contact me at sara.wiberg@rica.se with some more details and I will look into what happened.

Kind Regards,

Sara Wiberg
Rooms Division Manager
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Breakfast was great and the position is strategic both to Arlanda Express station and to the city center, walking distance from both. End of the positive aspects...

Talking about negative, the rooms are small. Be aware that the internal rooms at first floor have the windows that litterally face the feet of people in breakfast room/courtyard. The room we were given was horrible!!! Even if it was at first floor, the window was literally facing the feet of people having breakfast in the hall, that has been obtained in the covered inner courtyard, which floor has been raised. Moreover (we discovered this during the following days) it was close to the music speakers so... no privacy and no quiet! Please look at the picture to better understand...

As soon as we entered into the room we went back to reception. We had to longly argue with the staff to have it changed, they wanted to charge us for a "premium" fee for the change. After discussing with the supervisor, at last we were given another room, at 3rd floor. The bed was smaller (french size, 140cm) but at least the room was quiet. Reading another review about this hotel, I fear that booking.com customers are some sort of b-class. We paid for a standard room and we were given a less-than-budget room, same situation.

Hotel very expensive compared to other similar places.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms that have windows in inner courtyard.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank Valerio_1980_RM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

very nice hotel with perfect staff and great location.
I stayed in a small but very cosy room facing hotel's atrium. room was very clean and had everything you need. and if you need smth on top of that, hotel's staff is always there to help you. they are all very friendly and nice.
it is very easy to reach the hotel from Central Station if you arrive by train or bus from Arlanda. also there is a a metro station and taxi stop right on the corner. generally, the location is fantastic - you can walk to almost any attraction. also it is very convinient for the shopping lovers - all main shoppings streets are here.
I will stay at this hotel again. also the price was really nice.

Room Tip: small single rooms on 4th floor are nice.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yershova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Decided that I wanted to stay closer to the city center this time around and choose the Rica Hotel Stockholm. It was a nice change to the usual "just outside the city" choice that I typically made during business travel. This is a busy area with plenty of places to walk to. If you like shopping there are plenty of places to chose from around the area. You might have to walk a little further for a nice place to eat, however this was the perfect location when visiting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
1,553 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,306 reviews
Norrmalm
Haymarket by Scandic
Haymarket by Scandic
#38 of 154 in Stockholm
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#27 of 154 in Stockholm
1,074 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#47 of 154 in Stockholm
1,865 reviews
Norrmalm
Hobo
Hobo
#26 of 154 in Stockholm
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Klara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Klara

Address: 7 Sloejdgatan, Stockholm 111 57, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Stockholm)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#49 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $136 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Klara 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Klara, and enjoy central Stockholm at its best city location. Our hotel is a popular meeting place with a newly renovated restaurant, meeting facilities and modern hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Scandic Klara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Rica Hotel
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing