We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel”
Review of Scandic Klara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Klara
Ranked #69 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have stayed 2 nights in this hotel.
Hotel conveniently located in the center, so I didn't have to use any transportation.
If you are coming from the airport by train, hotel is within walking distance.
I have been there EO September and hotel was renovated. Nothing that really bothers.
Rooms are small to my standard and bathroom has only shower.
In the room you will find TV (with ENG channels), free WiFi and an umbrella.
Breakfast is really good with wide variety of bakery, cheese, ham, eggs, yogurt and fruits.
To my opinion bad mattress is too soft.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyboyTel_Aviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September. Rooms are reasonably sized for Sweden and are in reasonable shape except for the matress that should have been changed a long time ago - we kept rolling to the center of the matress. The lobby is under major renovation and doesn't look like it will be completed soon - however, this didn't bother us. Breakfast is good with a good variety and good service. There is complimentary coffee and tea all day long which is nice. The location of this hotel is very good, right next to the main commercial pedestrian road that goes right in to Gamla Stan. Our room gave into the central courtyard that is closed in and that holds the breakfast area. The view is therefore very nice but with no access to the outside. One of the down sides with this hotel is the wifi. They give you a daily code that doesn't always work and that has to be re-entered on a regular basis during the day. We seemed to be continually entering codes to get wifi service. I would normally give 4 stars for this hotel but am giving 3 stars because of the bad quality of the matress and of the wifi service.

Room Tip: Make sure that if you have a room giving to the interior courtyard that the AC works, because it get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in August, 23-25, and traveling overseas by myself, I thought it was great. The room is small, with a twin bed, but clean and big enough. I don't really know who plans to spend much time in their room, anyway; I was there to sleep and shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I arrived at the hotel around 7:30 am, and there was a room ready for me, which was nice since check-in was not until after noon. The breakfast buffet was good, and I liked being able to grab an extra apple and banana for later. The location was great, and while I was on the second floor, I did not hear any of the lobby construction work taking place. My room overlooked the shopping street, and I loved opening my window in the morning to the great energy of the people chattering and the sidewalk musicians.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank heatherclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here with 2 friends for a weekend and we booked a triple room. The room itself was clean and modern but a bit on the small side for 3 people. It was a twin room with an extra bed. I think it would have been on the small side for 2 people wishing a longer stay but fine for a weekend.

The room looked onto a central courtyard which was a nice view and fairly quiet, but not great for putting on make up in natural light. You open the curtains in the morning and anyone having breakfast could potentially see you! The bathroom was spotlessly clean but very small with a shower not a bath. The selection of toiletries are great though with a huge body wash dispenser in the shower.

The breakfast was the best part of the stay. You could have everything you could think of from breads, rolls, cold meats, salad, cheeses, pastries, yogurts, fish etc. to hot breakfast choices. The central courtyard was a lovely setting for breakfast as well. It felt bright and airy even when it was busy.

The location was good. It was about a 15/20 minutes walk to the bus station where the buses leave for the airport. The hotel itself was on a side street which opened onto a big square where there were lots of market stalls and lively. At night it was much quieter. It was short walk to good restaurants in the area.

We had compared prices for several hotels in Stockholm prior to travelling and it seemed the price was similar to other hotels in the same rating.

I'd recommend this hotel, but I would advise asking for a larger room, if possible.

Room Tip: If it's not too expensive to upgrade to a larger room, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags8_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed in this central hotel in Stockholm for one night. It was very expencive, but its okey for one night only. Upgraded the room, but can't understad how small the other room must have been, because this was small.

The room was spotless. Bed was very good, but it was two beds together, not a double bed.

Breakfast was in a very nice back yard. Just loved it! They had all I could wish for. This was the only time I was given good service. Must be because the lady working here was not of swedish origin. A scandinavian in general don't know what good service is. Reseption staff looked like they didn't care.

Location was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppa80Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Rica Hotel is located a few blocks from the Central Station in the heart of Stockholm. It is right along the main pedestrian corridor from Gamla Stan and adjacent to shopping and a wonderful food market. But the hotel is being upgraded, so the lobby is small and crowded with tour groups and the staff is stressed. Check-in was slow and bumpy: there was unused staff at the desk monitoring other staff which slowed things further. None had time to answer questions.

The hotel has lifts to rooms on the upper floors, but there are occasional four-riser stairs within the hallway that block full accessibility. Rooms are very small, a corridor with a bed and a window at one end of the room. They are, nonetheless, clean and comfortable with little disturbance from the street below. The bathroom had a stall shower, no tub, with moderate pressure and good hot water. The bathroom was clean and modern, the room had a minibar and free wifi with reasonable download speeds.

The truly outstanding thing about this hotel is the breakfast. It is held on two levels of the inner atrium with stations for hot food, cold food, cereals, fruits, breads, and drinks. The selection is extensive and the staff is attentive and friendly. A late breakfast would serve for the two meals for the day and is included in the price of the room.

The public areas of the hotel may be better once the renovations are complete and the staff can better accommodate tour groups, but the rooms would be very tight for any except couple or solo business travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here earlier this month for 2 days at the beginning of our 3 week Scandinavian adventure. Yes, there was construction, but it didn't interfere and we felt the price we received through Expedia was reasonable for Sweden. (I wonder if the prices will increase once construction is finished?).

Location was convenient to the train station (we came from the airport by Arlanda Express and walked to the hotel), as well as the attractions we were interested in. Easy walk to Gamla Stan, City Hall and the tram stop by Sergl's Torg to take you to Skansen and Vasa.

Breakfasts were great. We had no problem with room temperature and our bed was good too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emptynestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#48 of 155 in Stockholm
1,608 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
1,389 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#51 of 155 in Stockholm
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#9 of 155 in Stockholm
147 reviews
Norrmalm
Hobo
Hobo
#25 of 155 in Stockholm
352 reviews
Norrmalm
Haymarket by Scandic
Haymarket by Scandic
#38 of 155 in Stockholm
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Klara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Klara

Address: Slojdgatan 7, Stockholm 111 57, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Stockholm)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#49 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $106 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Klara 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Klara, and enjoy central Stockholm at its best city location. Our hotel is a popular meeting place with a newly renovated restaurant, meeting facilities and modern hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandic Klara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Rica Hotel
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing