We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid a room looking out on the warm en noisy wintergarden!”
Review of Scandic Klara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Klara
Ranked #69 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Centrally located hotel with friendly staff. Room was small but nicely decorated. Breakfast buffet is great with fresh fruits, smoothies and eggs made to order. Close to the Central station and shopping areas.

Big drawback was the temperature; it was very hot in the room early mid July while outside it was nice weather but not that hot. There was a window overlooking the so-called wintergarden, but this is not more than a covered breakfast space. Therefore: no fresh air when opening the window ánd a lot of noise in the early morning when staff was setting up breakfast. Airco did work, but made the air very dry. Staff at reception almost shrugged their shoulders when i complained and didn't try to find me another room or offer anything. Since i was here for a confernece, it was my 'home' for a whole week and i would have preferred a different room or even a different hotel for that matters.

Room Tip: See above: avoid the rooms overlooking the"so-called wintergarden for a fresh night and noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samopreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great hotel, lots of renovations going on, however it didn't interfere with our stay there. It's close to alot of attractions and the walking mall. The staff was very helpful, curteous and pleasant. The rooms were large enough for 3 people. The breakfasts were plentiful, wonderful food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbs092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

The Rica Hotel Stockholm is in perhaps the most perfect location in the Swedish capital: just a 5 minute walk from Central Station and 10-15 minutes by foot to most of the musuems, the Royal Palace, countless restaurants & clubs, etc.

We stayed here to attend the Björk concert on the island of Skeppsholmen and it took us just 10 minutes using our legs!

We got a "budget room" which does mean a very small room, but it was in no way too small for two of us, and was spotless clean.

The bed was comfy, the new flatscreen TV had plenty of cable channels in multiple languages, there was a coffee/tea kettle, air conditioning, and a fantastic shower & bathroom. No need whatsoever for a larger room!

Besides the location, the other great feature was the amazing breakfast buffet! It was on two different levels and the cute blonde girls made us various eggs to order, fresh smoothies, and even "to go" coffee cups which was perfect since we had to catch an early train the morning we checked out.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campbell_Sundelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is about 10 minutes from the Old Town by foot and 2 minutes from the main tube and tram system hub. Good location and reasonable price for an expensive city. Nothing is cheap here. Rooms a little small, but clean. Breakfast nice but not enough seating we all had to queue for a seat bit poor that really,.

Room Tip: Dont get one over looking the central atrium unless you like to wake up to the early morning sound o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlynKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed there twice:once,before boarding a cruise and ,secondly,,after the cruise.Although they are renovating and the lobby is cramped,the sevice is exceptional and gracious.When we complained about the air-conditioner,we were shown six rooms to choose among and helped to move.
The breakfast is scrumptious,much better than the one we had on the cruise,there is afternoon coffee with cake on the house,as well and the location of the hotel is the best.
The receptionist arranged our check in for the airport,including the boarding cards!I am looking forward to seeing the renovated Rica

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The room is sparse and the service only fair, construction starts at 5 in the morning and forget about sleeping in. The hotel is being renovated and will be opening after renovations in fall, 2012. Breakfast gets a C+. Like everything else in Stockholm it is expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe room, they are a little better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddkolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for several days in the middle of July 2012. It is located in the centre of Stockholm near the central Drottninggatan pedestrian street, just a few minutes walk from Old Town (Gamla Stan). The staff was very helpful, the breakfast was just excellent, the room rather cosy though a bit small. This hotel is being reconstructed now but we didn't feel any inconvenience due to that fact. The only thing that you should keep in mind is that until the end of the reconstruction (and the opening of a new restaurant) they don't serve any spirits at the hotel restaurant! But you can come there and have free coffee or tea any time of the day! And while writing this another minor (but somewhat funny) drawback occured to me. The free Wi-Fi is included in the price of your stay, but in our room Wi-Fi was available only in the toilet :) ! Anyway it didn't cause us much trouble and didn't spoil the overall positive impression of our stay in Stockholm.

Room Tip: They say that the higher is the room the better works the Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_P74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#47 of 155 in Stockholm
1,611 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
1,397 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#50 of 155 in Stockholm
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
160 reviews
Norrmalm
Hobo
Hobo
#25 of 155 in Stockholm
353 reviews
Norrmalm
Haymarket by Scandic
Haymarket by Scandic
#38 of 155 in Stockholm
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Klara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Klara

Address: Slojdgatan 7, Stockholm 111 57, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Stockholm)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#49 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $106 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Klara 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Klara, and enjoy central Stockholm at its best city location. Our hotel is a popular meeting place with a newly renovated restaurant, meeting facilities and modern hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandic Klara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Rica Hotel
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing