We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place”
Review of Elite Hotel Adlon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elite Hotel Adlon
Ranked #40 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We found this hotel absolutely marvelous. Though we had small double room we did not feel any discomfort. There was enough space for the two of us. Room is warm and perfectly sound-proofed, facing Vasagatan, but traffic noise did not disturb us. The hotel has perfect location for those who come by Arlanda Express, that stops just across the street, and for a walk to downtown, which is not very far. The breakfast is rich and tasty.
What we didn't like is that on Saturday we left towel on the floor for it to be replaced, but when we came back in the evening it was still there, though the bed was made and the trash was thrown away. Also we didn't have enough shampoo and no new teabags. After I call the reception and went to them downstairs these problems were settled quickly (without any apologies though), and still it was not really pleasant to go and ask for service that should be on default for such a price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 826 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed in a single room that was basic, but the bathroom had heated floor tiles, the shower was good and the television had a good tourism channel giving plenty of information. My room was facing the street but I had no noise problems. The reception staff were friendly, and the hotel is close to the station, that has a Coop supermarket on the lower level, plus a few casual food outlets. There are also plenty of food options along the street, and shopping areas around the corner, behind the hotel. The breakfast room on level 1 gets very crowded, but it's possible to take your breakfast down to the ground floor bar area on a tray. I did this one morning and it was pleasant. At breakfast there is plenty of bread, cheese and ham, plus biscuits, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs and small sausages. The toasters were very ineffective. It's possible to pay a small fee and buy a lunch bag so that you can make a sandwich to take with you after breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdlonStockholm, General Manager at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write this nice review, and we especially appriciate that you enjoyed our wide selection at the breakfast buffet - with many organic food as well. We wish you warm welcome back to Adlon Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location was conveniently close to the train station and to public transit as well as the shopping district. The breakfast was good. we had a superior room, which was worth the extra cost. The room was quiet, a nice size, and very clean and well-kept. Our biggest negative was rather spotty internet service. Overall a good value in an expensive city. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennTux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdlonStockholm, General Manager at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write this nice review. We have WiFi service in all guestrooms and lounge and lobby areas for our guests. As the building is from 19th century and many walls are very thick, there are some "hidden" corners is a few rooms where the Internet WiFi might be a litte spotty now and then. I am sorry if you found it disturbing.

We wish you warm welcome back to Stockholm and Adlon Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is well situated, close to the train station and in walking distance of the centre of town.

The single room I had was adequate but could do with refurbishing and was small and cramped; and the single bed was too small for an adult man. The room looked out on the main street and, in spite of some very good double glazing, I still got disturbed by road noise – especially when the streets were cleaned about 4 am every morning. The breakfast buffet was good but not spectacular.

If I need to stay in Stockholm again I’ll look for somewhere quieter with larger rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss_voyagerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdlonStockholm, General Manager at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. Regarding the room size we have 6 different room sizes to chose from, starting with small single up to mini-suites - all bookable at our home page. Sorry to hear that the cleaning of the street in the morning disturbed you - I do understand that. Although our windows facing the street all have noice reduction of 36 dB you may hear different odd noices and maybe wake up if you are sensitive for noice. We wish you warm welcome back to Stockholm - from all of us at Adlon Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stated at the Adlon Hotel for three nights. The location is great. It is across the street from the Arlanda Express which is a high speed train that gets you to the airport in 20 min. The hotel is also about 2 blocks from the train station. The staff was extremely helpful in giving advice on how to navigate the city and avoid tourists traps. The breakfast was good..cereal, oatmeal, cheese, deli meats, eggs and so on. I would definitely stay here again. There is a great Italian place 5 min from the hotel called Vapiano. Great food and atmosphere!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_FunTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdlonStockholm, General Manager at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write this nice review! Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed there with a family of 4. Got the mini-suite, which is a large round (!) room with a small sitting area. It was big enough to open the sleeping coach and another roll-away bed in the main room, but not more than that.
The location was great. 3 minutes by foot from Arlanda Express. Bus stop just in front, or metro station (Central) a bit further on.
The room was shabby with dusty carpets hiding stains on the parquet. However, the bathroom looked repaired and had an indulging shower.
2 flat TVs!
The breakfast was rich and tasty, but the restaurant area is not big enough and in 3 out of 4 mornings we had to "struggle" for a table.
Don't come with a car. The hotel has only 3 parking spots, and they are inconvenient and overpriced.
Reasonable quality sleep. Just don't forget to blind the curtains during summer!
Free Internet, reasonable bandwidth.
Considering a reasonable (for Stockholm) price - recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G9508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdlonStockholm, General Manager at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. Regarding the garage price - you are right that 335 SEK might seems high, but this is the price set by all garagespaces in the city. It sure is easier to reach Stockholm city by air, train or bus, but if you need your car we have the service to offer garage spaces for our guests. We wish you warm welcome back to Stockholm and Adlon Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hotel is situated right next to the main railway station but still seems surprisingly quiet. Breakfast room is quite small and we almost didn't get a table there in the morning, but otherwise I don't have anything bad to say about it.

Shopping street is two blocks away and old town is in walking distance. Red Buses also go right past the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
871 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 154 in Stockholm
1,464 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#29 of 154 in Stockholm
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#53 of 154 in Stockholm
2,002 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
2,838 reviews
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 154 in Stockholm
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Adlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Adlon

Address: Vasagatan 42, Stockholm 11120, Sweden (Formerly Adlon Hotell)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $135 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Adlon 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elite Hotel Adlons' location is perfect for a visit to Stockholm. We are a centrally located three star superior quality hotel. Easy to find whether you arrive by plane, train, bus or car. Stockholm Central Station, Arlanda Airport Express train, the central bus station and commuter trains are only minutes away and several inner-city buses stop directly outside our door. Once you are here, you are close to all of Stockholm's business and entertainment centers. Just around the corner is Stockholm's foremost shopping district and you're in walking distance to Old Town, City Hall and the Royal Palace.The charming 19th century building has been newly refurbished offering comfortable rooms and personal assistance from our staff. Enjoy the plentiful breakfast buffet and complementary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Why not work wireless in our lounge while enjoying something Swedish from our menu? The Elite Hotel Adlon displays a unique character and personalised service. All our rooms and public areas are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elite Hotel Adlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Hotell Stockholm
Adlon Hotell Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing