We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everyone but not bad either”
Review of Elite Hotel Adlon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elite Hotel Adlon
Ranked #48 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Not for everyone but not bad either”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

It's around twenty years since I was last in Stockholm and I'd forgotten how expensive Sweden appears. It's all about the exchange rate I guess so it pays to put things into context. Like anywhere you get what you pay for and the cost of a five star hotel in Stockholm will be plains above what you will probably be used to paying elsewhere and so on down the ratings. So to get a feel for value here look at a selection of properties of different grades. The Adlon is really around mid value, it would probably be a three star property in most other western european countries, albeit in Swedish Kroner at what you'd normally consider a five star price. So put your expectations into context before you book the Adlon.

The hotel is an older property near the main train station in the centre of the city. Accordingly it's an easy flat walk of one block to the Arlanda Express terminal but so are many other hotels. As an older property it does have rooms of many different sizes. I was in a Grand Lit room which was small but had a double bed. I've seen smaller rooms and I think the Adlon has rooms smaller than mine but it also has larger rooms, so do your homework to avoid disappointment. While the room seemed old and tired the bed linen was fine and the bathroom seemed to have been renovated and was not overly small.

The hotel has a small lobby area on ground level which also doubles as a kind of lounge where you can buy drinks and snacks. But the hours for service are not around the clock and beware of room service, it carries a hefty SEK 100 service fee so around $15!! One night I asked if I could buy a glass of wine to take to my room (myself). But that was not allowed, instead it would have to be delivered and for the service fee plus the cost of the wine, I declined. That said I think if you drink in the lounge then there is no service charge. There is a breakfast room on the first floor that actually does a nice breakfast. The only eggs available seemed to be soft or hard boiled but they had a good selection of cold items and some excellent breads. The hotel doesn't have a lunch or dinner restaurant but it does sell sandwiches in the lobby.

The staff all seemed nice enough and they were helpful and you can buy train tickets through the front desk including Arlanda Express tickets. I had bought my Arlanda Express tickets online in advance via the Arlanda Express website. It works well, after buying the ticket your credit card becomes your paperwork, the conductor simply swipes your card to check the purchase, no paper required. The hotel has free wireless internet which worked very well. The room had flat screen cable television but many entertainment channels seemed to be pay per view.

Small rooms aside the weakest link with this hotel for me would have to be position on a busy city street. Most of the rooms look out over this street and it can be noisy. I'm a light sleeper and I struggled. The windows are double glazed but are old and the sound insulation is not the best. So if you struggle with sleep then this hotel may not be for you. My room didn't seem to have air conditioning, but it did have heating and a portable fan too.

So really mixed emotions here. In the context of the Swedish economy staying here was not a bad deal and the location for the airport train and the city is second to none. The rooms are small but I read that Sweden has the smallest average home size in Europe, if that is true then the hotel falls into line with the norm. The downside really is just the street that the hotel overlooks. If you are a poor sleeper then that could be a real issue for you. I was on the second floor and I had big problems over two nights. But if you sleep like a rock then the hotel works, it's not The Grand but then it doesn't pretend to be, accept it for what it is and you'll be fine, if not then there are lots of other options for all budgets.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room if your budget allows and the higher above the main street I think the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdlonStockholm, General Manager at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review. We really appreciate that you liked the selection on our breakfast buffet. Regarding the charge to bring drinks from the lounge to the room, this is due to alcohol regulations in Sweden saying that only employed at the hotel are allowed to handle//bring drinks in areas outside the lounge - hopefully this can be changed in the future. And regarding our windows, you are right - some of them are old. Therefore we are going to change all windows facing the street starting in oct-nov this year - we look forward to this and more noise reduction from the street.

Wecome back to Stockholm at Adlon Hotell!
Kind regards from the team at Adlon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    387
    123
    23
    11
See reviews for
111
184
156
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days in a single room on my business trip to Sweden.
Hotel location is good and the breakfast was better than I expected..
What I did not like in this hotel is the size of my room, which was minimal.
Bed size, for me, was also inappropriate-although I must say that this is a problem that often have because of my height.If you log on to watch TV even for a minute it will cost you about 13 euros.
I love it when I see computer connected to the Internet to customers using for free-this hotel has that.
Rooms at this hotel are quite expensive although it is probably characteristic of the Swedish country-as there is from my point of view all the expensive!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurogane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdlonStockholm, Manager at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Google Translation
Tack för ditt omdöme om Adlon. Det är tråkigt att du upplevt våra rum som väldigt små - det är inget vi kan åtgärda utan rumsstorleken är konstant och skiljer sig mycket mellan våra olika rumskategorier. Beträffande den "korta" sängarna så har vi 15 rum utrustade med extralånga bäddar, dvs 210 cm långa - det är synd att du inte blev rumsplacerad på ett sådant rum för det hade du troligen uppskattat. Som du säger så har vi full täckning med gratis WiFi på hela hotellet - det roligt att läsa att du uppskattar det. TVbetalkanalern kostar ca 13 Euro /dygn, om man väljer att titta på de. Utanför betalkanalerna finns gratis att titta på bl a BBC Word och ett basutbud av svenska kanaler där även engelsktalande filmer sänds.

Varmt välkommen åter till Stockholm - önskar hela Adlon teamet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Yes, Stockholm is expensive. Think again before you come if this will be a vacation. If you insist go on reading. Everything is expensive in this city, so as the hotels are. In fact you can stay for this price in one of the best hotels in other capitals of Europe. But here is Stockholm. For this price you can just have a small room in Adlon. Very small. No mini-bar, no safe in the room. Both the owners of the hotel and the crew tries to compensate the drawbacks. Free wi-fi, kettle and coffee/tea and a decent breakfast is supplied. Besides the receptionists are so helpful. Adlon Hotell is located just in the center of the city. The room I stayed was at the street side. I can't believe how this city is noisy in the evenings. The drivers don't hesitate to use their horns even at 02.00 am. But you can use the ear-plugs which are ready in the room. You can reach to major streets and quarters on walk. My overall assessment is just average despite the good staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdlonStockholm, Manager at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Google Translation
Tack för ditt ärliga omdöme. Vi uppskattar särskilt att du värdesatt vår personal och vår frukost. Betr hotellrumspriset så är det marknadsanpassat till den kongressäsong då du vistades här - september är alltid en månad med hög beläggning. Turistsäsonger har samma rum i snitt lägre prissättning.
Varmt välkommen åter hälsar vi alla på Adlon Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

very good hotel, staff are helpful, smiley, friendly & most of them young hard working swedish, room small but enough for me as solo traveler, hotel is just footsteps from all the city attractions, central station, bus stop & shopping area
breakfast was very good well presented & tasty, room cleanliness was not that good as the maid was made only the beds but always forget to clean the floor but its ok most of the time i was out just went back for shower or sleep

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masha80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdlonStockholm, General Manager at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your nice words about our breakfast. Regarding the cleaning of the floors, we have to follow up what happended - thanks for informing us. Regards from Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying in this very nice hotel for 4 nights, Aug 3rd to 7th, 2012. Overall, a very good experience with most of the important things covered well. Only a few areas for improvement, which I will detail below. This was the 4th leg of my summer Northern European vacation/photogrpahy jaunt.

Location – 10: simply cannot beat the location of this hotel! 1 block from the Arlanda Express station, about 2 blocks from the main shopping street, many great eating options close, and only a ~1km easy walk to Gamla Stan (old town). Also a reasonable walk to pretty much ALL of the attractions in Stockholm and if you’re not into walking that much, it’s only a few blocks to the central station, where you can get anywhere you want to go!

Price – 9: I paid about $93/night, so pretty decent for this great location

Room – 7.5: On the small side but that’s what I ordered to save money so no complaint there. The bed was decent… didn’t cause back pain so that’s a plus. Tv was flat panel mounted to wall in corner above desk but was very small. By far the smallest of the 4 hotels I visited on this trip, but again, not a huge issue for me. The desk was fine, I fit my laptop and a bunch of other stuff on it with no problem. However, the chair was very uncomfortable. I had to start putting pillows on either the seat or back to avoid pain, so that was not ideal. The main contention I had with the room was this… on the Hotel’s website it clearly says that they have air conditioned rooms. However, if there is AC (something that I still doubt lol), it is not controllable by the guest. According to the staff, it is centrally controlled but they couldn’t tell me what temp it was set to maintain in the rooms. When I arrived in my room at about 1pm on about a 75 degree day, it was uncomfortably warm. I searched the room and could find nothing blowing air, cold or otherwise, so I really don’t know where the supposed AC is coming from. Anyway, this is probably not a major deal for most people but I am a hot sleeper so it is for me. Also, it is Stockholm so really this is probably only a potential issue if you are going in July or August but then again, those are the 2 best months to go. The other problem is that my room faced in the inside courtyard and there was a resaturant’s outdoor seating below. Of course, this being Europe, pretty much everyone sitting outside was smoking, and believe it or not, that smoke wafted up 4 floor and through my windows while I had them open. Unfortunately, I have bad smoke allergies, so while those tables were occupied, I was faced with the choice of being hot or dealing with smoke issues. Luckily that those tables usually cleared out before midnight so I was at least able to leave the windows wide open overnight. And, they staff did provide me with a fan so it was bearable even when I had to have the windows closed. Those without smoke allergies or hot sleepers like myself would probably rate this room higher.

Bathroom - 8.5: Decent size (for the room size) and good water pressure/shower head but a couple of issues here to be aware of. First, the shower door has a small gap between its bottom and the floor, so not matter what you do, water will get out onto the bathroom floor. I had to put my hand towel down after every shower to avoid potential slips on a wet floor. Still, the floor tiles had some grip to them and I think were heated, so it wasn’t a huge concern but still, seems like it could have been designed better.

Breakfast – 9: Pretty good selection, although mostly cold fare. The only hot options I saw were boiled eggs and porage, neither of which I care for. Good selection of deli meats, cheeses, rolls, bread, cereals, juices. 3 highlights for me were 1) Pineapple-Orange Juice, 2) A good quality self-service espresso machine, and 3) awesome cinnamon and cardamom bread!

Staff – 9: Very helpful and cordial… were able to answer any questions I had. They were also able to accommodate my concern over the temperate of my room by providing a small fan. When it broke on the 3rd day, they replaced it with a new one within a few minutes.

Internet/Wi-Fi – 8.5: This was an interesting setup. At check-in, they provide you with little cards that are good for 1, 2 or 3 days of Wi-Fi connections. These all have a different username and password, unlike many hotels who have a single set that is used uniformly. The connection speed was good, but it was a bit of a hassle because even after logging in once, you still had to go to the login page again every time you entered a new session. Not exactly sure what the time-out period was but this became somewhat annoying. Not too bad for my Ultrabook actually but my phone was a different story. First of all, I had to go obtain a second set of passes because they are only good for one device at a time. No big deal but it was really tough to get a connection with my phone at times… not sure why… it’s a Galaxy S3 so not like it’s old tech or anything. Anyway, not the best on this trip but not the worst either.

Cleanliness – 9.5: No issues encountered here, as expected with a hotel of this quality.

Value – 9.5: All things considered, I’d have to give this hotel a very high value rating. For the location alone at under $100/night, I’m not sure it can be beat in this city. Add in a really good breakfast, helpful staff and very clean establishment and it’s probably one of if not the best value in Stockholm! Only downside was uncomfortable chair and temp of room but these were more than overcome by the positives in other areas. Highly recommended and really would have rated 4.25-4.5 stars, but since partial stars are not available, I went with 4 as I reserve 5’s only for perfection… or close to it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ASP-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdlonStockholm, General Manager at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your nice review - we apprecieate all the details.
Regarding the restaurant on the yard, the have the yard open during summertime and they are not allowed to use it after 10 p.m. in the eveing. We have to follow up if they don´t follow this deadline!
Regarding your comment that we write on our own website www.adlon.se that we have air condition in our guestrooms- there must be some misunderstanding - we don´t and have never had. But obviously we have to follow up if this information is wrong in some online travel agency page? Thank you for reminding us. Air condition is not "normal" in Sweden due to our short summer.
Kind regards from the Adlon Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I spent 4 nights here in July 2012.

Room: We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking a pedestrian side street beside the hotel. It was a good size for a European room. It had a full size closet, desk, lounge chair, flat screen TV and a double bed. Washroom had a very small shower with good water pressure. Room included a mini fridge.

Amenities: Free wi-fi was solid and fast. There was an included breakfast which was very comprehensive (multiple types of breads/pastries, cereals, yogurts, fruit, meats, cheeses, veggies, eggs, coffees) and was a convenient way to get a start on the day.

Location: Located about a 5 minute walk from the central train station and the T-Centralen metro stop. Using an transit pass, all of Stockholm was easily within reach. Lots of restaurants and cafes were located within a few minute walk. There's a very comprehensive grocery store located in the basement of the Ahlens department store about a 5 minute walk away.

Staff: They were efficient and polite. One small negative: we wrote the hotel in advance and were assured there would be gluten-free bread available for breakfast. On our 2nd morning, there was none available. This was corrected for the rest of our stay. Help with transportation and directions questions was generously provided

Overall: This was a really good hotel in what I felt to be a perfect location. The price was really competitive (hotels.com sale for close to $110 CDN/night) making this an outstanding value in expensive Stockholm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halifaxns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdlonStockholm, General Manager at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Google Translation
Tack för dina fina och uppskattande ord om Adlon och vår service. Många hälsningar från hela Adlon-teamet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My parents, my sister and I stayed 3 nights. Location is great, so the breakfast and the rooms although the latter could have been little bit larger. Overall we still believe that we received very good value for money we spent. Check different websites for a "better" bargain. Are you going to check in late, it is a good idea to inform the reception.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdlonStockholm, General Manager at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Google Translation
Tack för ditt fina omdöme om Adlon och vår service! Hälsningar från hela Adlon-teamet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 154 in Stockholm
1,177 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
1,720 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#16 of 154 in Stockholm
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 154 in Stockholm
2,392 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
846 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Adlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Adlon

Property: Elite Hotel Adlon
Address: 42 Vasagatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden (Formerly Adlon Hotell)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Adlon 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elite Hotel Adlons' location is perfect for a visit to Stockholm. We are a centrally located three star superior quality hotel. Easy to find whether you arrive by plane, train, bus or car. Stockholm Central Station, Arlanda Airport Express train, the central bus station and commuter trains are only minutes away and several inner-city buses stop directly outside our door. Once you are here, you are close to all of Stockholm's business and entertainment centers. Just around the corner is Stockholm's foremost shopping district and you're in walking distance to Old Town, City Hall and the Royal Palace.The charming 19th century building has been newly refurbished offering comfortable rooms and personal assistance from our staff. Enjoy the plentiful breakfast buffet and complementary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Why not work wireless in our lounge while enjoying something Swedish from our menu? The Elite Hotel Adlon displays a unique character and personalised service. All our rooms and public areas are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Elite Hotel Adlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Hotell Stockholm
Adlon Hotell Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing