We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget hotel in a fantastic location”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #142 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A budget hotel in a fantastic location”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I've just returned from a 5 night stay at the Alexandra. If I'd had read some of the reviews before I left, I might have made a last minute cancellation but equally think some of the reviews are unfounded in their criticism.

We chose the Alexandra due to it's price (£45 a night approximately for a single room including breakfast & wifi) and it's location which is close to all the bars/restaurants/shops we like to go to.

I had a single room (with a window) on the ground floor of the hotel. The room is small but clean with a really comfortable bed. Unfortunately being on the ground floor meant that the large window couldn't be opened and the only ventilation was from a smaller window vent. The bathroom was small but equally clean. The shower tends to flood not only the bathroom but also goes into the main room. I think there's a knack to avoiding this which I didn't have! The breakfast buffet is varied and enjoyable, despite the crowded room. Plenty of choice and good quality items.

I'd read some comments about the staff being unhelpful but I found them to be exactly the opposite. They were always available to provide wifi logins (free and constant), hairdryers, coffee etc. with a smile. No problem there whatsoever and I really don't think they deserve any criticism at all. This also applies to the cleaners & the breakfast room staff who have pretty grim jobs!

To summarise, I think you get what you pay for. If you want a budget hotel which is clean & in a great location, I'd definitely recommend this hotel. If you're expecting anything more, this might not be for you.

Room Tip: You can book rooms with or without windows. Ensure you choose the right option!!! Ground floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vintagen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    62
    113
    77
    91
See reviews for
35
89
89
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We're stayd 2 nights in this hotel and the location was nice. Was a bit concerned after reading rewiews from other hotelguests, but we where very lucky and had a nice room on the 3'rd floor with balcony! Good breakfast :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otangvik1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a very simple hotel close to metro and bus station "Medborgarplatsen". Very practical to explore the city.The room size and bathroom were ok.
Bed was comfortable and bathroom clean.
Odd were the not filled holes in the walls from former furniture or whatever fixations. Breakfast is good and more than sufficient. Personal at the reception desk seems to be hiding behind the counter.
Overall all very practical and good for the price.

Room Tip: A good location for traveller not demanding too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaubaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I read all the reviews before staying at this hotel, I had assumed that some of them were a little extreme - however I can say it is all true apart from free WIFI there is nothing good about this hotel. It's extremely dated with worn out carpets and furniture and dirty marked walls. There's no aircon,no fridge, no safe no decent towels and of course no windows. Staff seemed sullen and distant not open to friendly advise. It was supposed to be central but I fail to see this as a central location it's a long walk to the heart of things - given the expensive price tag here I'm sure there must be better options.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Dated decor and can hear the neighbours speaking in clearly through the windows. I have a windowless room which is appalling. The wet room is tiny. To get to my room you go down a corridor like in the movie the shining. In that movie the rooms were really big and nice although jack Nicholson was there. This is the smallest hotel room I've stated in apart from the yotel shoebox hotel. At least it has WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeeassault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in budget room without window. The hotel located on rather dull street with faceless residential and office buildings but in only couple of minutes from commuter train (pendeltåg) Södra station, from which it's only 4 min to T-Centralen, in 5-7 mins from 2 T-bana stations on different lines. It's not that far to walk all the way to Gamla Stan and beyond as well, but mind the way back ))
Got early check-in without any fuss or fee. Breakfast was OK although without hot dishes.
Room was on the ground floor, small and pretty narrow, decorated and furnished in late 80's style. Thin walls. Only one towel. The same narrow bathroom's shower corner was oddly right behind the door with other facilities on the side, so after taking a shower you should either don't go there at all or put your only towel on the floor. And only one disposable glass for all stay was like a bad joke (
Overall - fair choice for the money given the prices in Stockholm.

Room Tip: Better avoid windowless rooms until budget is really tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gblick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#88 of 154 in Stockholm
223 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#96 of 154 in Stockholm
258 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#106 of 154 in Stockholm
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arstaviken Hotell
#120 of 154 in Stockholm
42 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
#84 of 154 in Stockholm
1,337 reviews
Mariatorget
Hellstens Glashus
Hellstens Glashus
#100 of 154 in Stockholm
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: 42 Magnus Ladulaasgatan, Stockholm 118 27, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Hotel is centrally located in the charming south side of Stockholm city centre, in the quiet and genuine neighbourhood known as Södermalm.The hotel serves as the perfect gateway to explore the rich cultural history evident on the streets of Stockholm. Underground subway, commuter trains and buses are found within the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Stockholm International Fairs at Älvsjö are only 5 min away with the commuter train. Ericsson Globe Arena is also 5 min away by underground metro and the famous harbour, the Old Town, ferries to the Royal Island of Djurgården and the Viking Line Cruise Terminal at Stadsgårdskajen are all within an easy 10-15 min walking distance. Södersjukhuset, Eriksdalbadet, Mariatorget, Tantolunden, Zinkensdamm and Medborgarplatsen are located in the near vicinity and only 5-10 min walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing