We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheep budjet hotel not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #145 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“cheep budjet hotel not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hotel in a poor area, not recomended for cuples,business or familys,basic poor quaility rooms,very shaby interior, only plus that it is only half hour walk to city centre

Room Tip: there are no "Good" rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    61
    110
    76
    90
See reviews for
35
87
87
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

As I was looking for a midrange room (travelling solo), the affordable choice are rather thin on the ground. But this hotel does the job, with clean and functional rooms and a good breakfast. Service can't be called friendly, but it's not unfriendly either. Just don't ask too much...:)
I had a single room, which was good, but the wall on one side (probably another single room on the other side) was so thin I could hear others talking like it was almost in my own room! Pretty annoying and not really something you'd expect in a midrange place.
All in all ok, but if you have some more to spend, go for other choices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I needed a bed so I could get to an early meeting the next morning and took a single room with no window. It was really nice that they did hang curtains, so it didn't feel as much like a cave! It was basic, small but clean - good enough for me. The staff wasn't particularly friendly, but they weren't rude or unpleasant, either. The breakfast was varied with plenty of fresh stuff.

The code I was given for wifi did not work, said the code had already been used when I tried to log in.

The shower was a little tricky to figure out, but a quick call to the reception gave me the answer I needed.

It's about a 5-7 min walk from the Medborgplatsen metro station.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsSwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Perfectly comfortable beds, no troubles with the wifi and a neat room.

Shower was lukewarm though, could've been hotter.

The personnel does not seem happy to work here. Checking in felt like going to a very thorough security check at the airport, and being found particularly suspicious.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vahinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

dated decor and unfrendly staff, thats all we can say!
we will newer stay in, or recomend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozkito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
lisburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

our room was on the third floor we had to carry our cases up 2 flights of stairs one of them spiral assistance was not offered

room services consisted of 1 fresh towel per person per day and a plastic bag put over the top of the bin there was no evidence of room cleaning or bed making/changing

our flight on sunday was at 9 30 we needed to leave the hotel by 7 30
breakfast times for sunday were changed to 8 am we asked the receptionist for help and were told "i cannot help you there is coffee available " this was Sek20 per cup we left the hotel on a cold morning without the breakfast we had paid for
overall we found ,with the exception of 1 male member of staff, the reception people were at best curt and at worst keen to make it clear they were NOT there to help

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#90 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Tre Sma Rum
Hotel Tre Sma Rum
#99 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#92 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#73 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
#80 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#107 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: 42 Magnus Ladulaasgatan, Stockholm 118 27, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Hotel is centrally located in the charming south side of Stockholm city centre, in the quiet and genuine neighbourhood known as Södermalm.The hotel serves as the perfect gateway to explore the rich cultural history evident on the streets of Stockholm. Underground subway, commuter trains and buses are found within the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Stockholm International Fairs at Älvsjö are only 5 min away with the commuter train. Ericsson Globe Arena is also 5 min away by underground metro and the famous harbour, the Old Town, ferries to the Royal Island of Djurgården and the Viking Line Cruise Terminal at Stadsgårdskajen are all within an easy 10-15 min walking distance. Södersjukhuset, Eriksdalbadet, Mariatorget, Tantolunden, Zinkensdamm and Medborgarplatsen are located in the near vicinity and only 5-10 min walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing