We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beds but old hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Ranked #65 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is good situated on Kungsholmen just some minutes walking from Central station. The lobby is very nice and the check in went fine, also the bar is nice and friendly staff.

The rooms seem a little old and the hotel too, the beds thou are really nice. The gym is nice but the spa and pool is horrible, so old, quiet and boring place.

The breakfast is quite nice and thou it is a lot of people it is not so noisy, and there are a lot of good things to choose from to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleALJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hello!

Thanks for taking the time reviewing us on TripAdvisor. A renovation is planned ahead.

Most welcome back.

Best Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 2,287 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

NIce and helpful receptionists can't improve impression when you come to tiny room with no amenities, internet only in the lobby, no fridge, no place to put your suitcase - I had the smallest possible one and was staying in double room. Too small bathroom, actually my toilet and wash basin were all in one, so you should be a bit inventive to use it.
Fortunately I was staying there only couple of hours, mostly sleepless as there was noise from the street and I was afraid not to miss first morning train. Location is good, but everything else ...
Hotel needs complete renovation. They can't afford having walls with holes in it on corridors.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24LiZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback .
We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Amaranten. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Amaranten in order to improve our services. We are looking forward a renovation which is planned ahead.

Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right next to T station Radheust... also nearby within walking limits to the Central Station.

However the Negative:
- Small Rooms.
- No Amenities.
- No Soap or Shampoo
- nothing except towels in the bathroom.
- Noisy Rooms on the roadside.
- No Adapters / Converters for guest convenience.
- No Shavers Plug.
- No Cupboard in the rooms.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Kulin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay.
Your feedback has been taken under consideration and we appreciate that you took the time to send us feedback.

Please let me know personally when you are coming next time so we can to something extra for you on site.

Regards
Chatrine Andersson
chatrine.andersson@choice.se
Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Only good thing about the hotel is the location, and that is due to the good T-banna. Hotel room tiny, no kettle, iron or anything, have to go to 3rd floor if you want to do any ironing, boasts 24 hour room service, which in reality finishes promptly at 10pm. Very noisy due to traffic outside, breakfast although tasty very chaotic. The room has a very shoddy finish and the bathroom is very old (and wasnt too clean) - think they have spent all the money on the reception area. Only other perk is the free Wifi in the room - would not revisit

Room Tip: get a top floor so you wont hear the traffic as much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lhill94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for posting your review on the Trip Advisor even though we could have scored a little better this time.

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Amaranten. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Amaranten in order to improve our services. We are looking forward a renovation which is planned ahead.

I hope you will visit us again in the future.

Have a good day
Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was a good hotel in a central location.The room was adequate though noisy because of traffic outside.The breakfast was rather chaotic but ok in content.There is an underground station close by.I had dinner in the restaurent which was very tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helmutmac`
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your views about the Clarion Hotel Amaranten at Tripadvisor.

We hope to see you as a guest in our hotel in the near future.
Have a great day!

Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated to discover Stockholm, just a few minutes walk from Central Station. Thank you to the First Hotel Amaranten team for the upgrade. I had booked a Superior room but was kindly given Executive.
Overall, we had an enjoyable stay. The lobby/bar was very lively in the evening, a comfortable place to finish off the day.
Amanda at Reception was very helpful and had a warm smile; however I wished that the breakfast team would have been more flexible. We were asking for some fried eggs, but apparently the chef could not make them, not even on request; very disappointing to miss such a chance to go the extra mile. Otherwise, the variety of the buffet was great; even though some fresh pastries would have been lovely. The room looked fresh and modern, but could have been more spacious. Furthermore, many things in the bathroom seemed to be loose or missing, from towel holder to the shower door.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bianca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hello!

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay. Very nice to read that you had a good stay at Clarion Hotel Amaranten. I am sorry to hear that we were not flexible regarding your special request for breakfast, I will look into that.

Thanks for the great words about Amanda, she's a star!!

Take care and hope to see you here soon again.

Wishing you a great day!
Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It’s just a avrg hotel , their Lounge is really nice . very well connected with the metro station .
Few retail outlets are also nearby . It’s not in the center of Stockholm so you have to walk or have to take taxi to the city center .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi_Rathore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

Most welcome back

Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#53 of 155 in Stockholm
3,771 reviews
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#42 of 155 in Stockholm
2,994 reviews
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#45 of 155 in Stockholm
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#64 of 155 in Stockholm
2,204 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Amaranten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Address: 31 Kungsholmsgatan, Stockholm 112 27, Sweden (Formerly First Hotel Amaranten)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $113 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Amaranten 3.5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Amaranten is located on Kungsholmen in central Stockholm. With only 700 meters from Stockholm's city center and 10 minutes walk to Central Station, the hotel is easily accessible and close to most attractions in Stockholm.Kungsholmen has a great variety of restaurants and has a charming nightlife, ranging from casual outdoor cafes to nightclubs. Near the hotel is also the City Hall and Town Hall, two of Stockholm's most famous silhouettes. At the hotel, we offer a gym and sauna. The hotel restaurant Kitchen & Table serves a combination of the best flavors of multicultural Manhattan with local ingredients from the region around one of Stockholm's most beautiful islands - Kungsholmen. You can also visit our award winngin cocktailbar Tap Room Kungsholmen to enjoy our modern takes on classical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Amaranten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Amaranten
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing