We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Ranked #66 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly situated to discover Stockholm, just a few minutes walk from Central Station. Thank you to the First Hotel Amaranten team for the upgrade. I had booked a Superior room but was kindly given Executive.
Overall, we had an enjoyable stay. The lobby/bar was very lively in the evening, a comfortable place to finish off the day.
Amanda at Reception was very helpful and had a warm smile; however I wished that the breakfast team would have been more flexible. We were asking for some fried eggs, but apparently the chef could not make them, not even on request; very disappointing to miss such a chance to go the extra mile. Otherwise, the variety of the buffet was great; even though some fresh pastries would have been lovely. The room looked fresh and modern, but could have been more spacious. Furthermore, many things in the bathroom seemed to be loose or missing, from towel holder to the shower door.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bianca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay. Very nice to read that you had a good stay at Clarion Hotel Amaranten. I am sorry to hear that we were not flexible regarding your special request for breakfast, I will look into that.

Thanks for the great words about Amanda, she's a star!!

Take care and hope to see you here soon again.

Wishing you a great day!
Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    716
    474
    227
    128
See reviews for
334
630
107
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It’s just a avrg hotel , their Lounge is really nice . very well connected with the metro station .
Few retail outlets are also nearby . It’s not in the center of Stockholm so you have to walk or have to take taxi to the city center .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi_Rathore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

Most welcome back

Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just a casual 10 min. walk from the bus terminal this hotel is a great base for exploring this beautiful city. It's just that bit away from the main traffic, so even with a room facing the street it was quiet. Our double room on the 5th floor was ample for our needs, and had a good size bathroom with bathtub. Slept like a log in the comfy bed. Very helpfull and friendly staff. The downside was the tiny pool (4 strokes and you were at the other side), and the sauna was out of order. Great breakfast with everything from pickled herring to bangers and beans. The weather was great so we asked reception about renting a couple of bikes. Cross the road, and right at the lights, and just 50 mtrs up on the left was a cycle workshop. Brilliant! We paid 200sk for 24hrs per bike (no deposit, just picture ID). It'll cost you 260sk per pers. for hop on/off buses! Trust me, this is the perfect way to explore the city. One last tip. Arlander airport is 30 miles from the city, so unless your in a major rush, avoid the really expensive express train and taxis, and take the "flygbussarna", airport coach, to the city bus terminal. 198sk return, pay by credit card on the bus, takes around 45min.

Room Tip: One of the top floors. The view from the rear of the building looked nice. Will ask for that next ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi,

Thank you very much for sharing your views about the Clarion Hotel Amaranten at tripadvisor.

I do apologize that our sauna is out of order, we are looking forward a renovation which is planned ahead.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

In Sweden usually you will not find very luxury hotels.
This hotel is a bit more expensive (+20%) than others from same category but its location is worth of it.
Good breakfast (I would rate as 7 considering global scale and as 8,5 considering others swedish hotels).
Good room space. I got a double bed room.
Bathroomm = medium. I don't like tubes and the shower had low pressure.
Good restaurants nearby and right above metro station. Quite convenient for transportation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Location in Kungsholmen close to downtown is quite good and its right by the Radhuset T-Bahn so very convenient to connect. But I found the room I had was quite small... I was there on business and to catch up on work in the evenings and needed to use my laptop on my lap on the bed as there was no real place to work. So I felt quite cramped. If its just being used as a place to sleep it would be fine but not for more than a few nights at a time. Breakfast was good but very busy as lots of business travelers all on the same schedule. So it works if you need a downtown location that's reasonably priced but there are superior choices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiingCyclingDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Thank you to the reception for her warm welcome.
Express process check in. The lobby a bit too dark and I don't know why but I feel very
hot. Maybe because of the short ceiling in the lobby area.

Room, just a standard room. not really clean.

Standard breakfast, nothing special.

Excellent concierge services.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

If we take the price issue aside (which might have been due to B Obama's visit in town) hotel Amaranten had very friendly and efficient staff, excellent matresses and great bar with fantastic craft beer selection.

Location is very convenient, yet quiet. As a business hotel its a good choice, as a romantic trip I would suggest something with more character.

WiFi on the top floor was very slow

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have whole wall as a window, very cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Norski_Rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#47 of 154 in Stockholm
2,808 reviews
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#50 of 154 in Stockholm
3,525 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,250 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#40 of 154 in Stockholm
374 reviews
Norrmalm
First Hotel Kungsbron
First Hotel Kungsbron
#77 of 154 in Stockholm
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Amaranten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Property: Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Address: 31 Kungsholmsgatan, Stockholm 112 27, Sweden (Formerly First Hotel Amaranten)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Amaranten 3.5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Amaranten is located on Kungsholmen in central Stockholm. With only 700 meters from Stockholm's city center and 10 minutes walk to Central Station, the hotel is easily accessible and close to most attractions in Stockholm.Kungsholmen has a great variety of restaurants and has a charming nightlife, ranging from casual outdoor cafes to nightclubs. Near the hotel is also the City Hall and Town Hall, two of Stockholm's most famous silhouettes. At the hotel, we offer a gym, sauna and spa (the indoor pool is temporarily closed for renovations). If you book well in advance is also a personal trainer available. The hotel restaurant Kitchen & Table serves a combination of the best flavors of multicultural Manhattan with local ingredients from the region around one of Stockholm's most beautiful islands -Kungsholmen. The result is a culinary experience with ridiculously good dishes and mixed, maxed tastes. All served with lots of love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Hotel Amaranten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Amaranten
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing