We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Level 7 take the oportunity to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Ranked #65 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel just a 10 minutes walk from the central station and Arlanda express. Very friendly staff at the reception and the lobby bar. Rooms well the suits at level 7 are modern and really nice. If you take the terass suit you will have a great experience. I really recommends Amaranten

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Protravellerswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

When first getting into the room, the decoration is nice and modern and based on white and black (we were in room 529 if I remember correctly). There was an armchair and twin beds.

The mattresses were very comfortable and of good quality.
A small bathtube was there too.
There was a large TV and free wifi internet.

The hotel location is excellent as it's next door to Radhuset metro station. It's also within walking distance from the Central train Station. There is a pub next door and a supermarket and a 7-11 at 50m as well as a few restaurants.

There are a few negative points that could be improved (maybe they're room specific) :
- the visavis with the building opposite the window
- the room temperature. The window could only be opened by a few centimeters and couldn't let the outside fresh air in (nights are fresh in Stockholm, even in summer time so you don't really need an AC but at least have the fresh air in ! It can be very hot when the sun hits the window in the morning. A fan is provided but it only moves hot air.
- the bathroom (plumbing) for the shower would need a bit of rejuvenation as the faucets were a bit flaky - the water power and temperature varied a lot during our showers

For the nice services they have:
- There is a small souvenirs shop in the lobby were you can get your Swedish goodies, postcards, stamps etc, which might be helpful if you still want to use snailmail postcards.
- The staff speaks perfect English.
- The hotel provides a free left luggage service - you just need to ask the reception (they give you a receipt for your pieces of luggage).

For the big positive :
- the breakfast is a buffet with many choices (cereals, milk, juice, fruits, meats, eggs, bacon, breads, ...) and will fill your stomach up to late in the afternoon.
- the beds were really comfortable

Room Tip: If you're heat sensitive, I guess a room in the lower floors and not exposed to the sun rays mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DummyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel was very clean and good value for money. Not far from the central station and easy walking distance to the main attractions. Breakfast was included in the cost everything was available bacon eggs continental breakfast all very good. Only downside it was very hot when we stayed and there is no air con in bedrooms so it got very hot overnight. But of course you not in rooms long enough really.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviethebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stockholm is an incredibly charming city. And staying at Hotel Amaranten made it unforgettable for us. Lovely rooms and the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen. Conviniently located close to all major attractions.
We traveled with our 2 years old girl and she was totally crazy about Junibacken, a children amusement park. And Wasa museum is a total must!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tournesol77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a comfortable enough hotel for a one night stay. Room size was decent and while it had no airconditioning and the air did not seem to flow into the room despite the open window, the hotel did provide a table fan. There were new fluffy towels so were we relieved since one of the earlier reviewers mentioned the hotel did not provide any wash cloths. As I was part of a tour group and it was a quick stop, I did not really benefit from the convenient location.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank pl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel two nights for business, a colleague stays often and felt it was a good value. All things considered, I have to agree as the hotel was less than SEK 800 per room, per night all in. Location is excellent, next door to T-bana station Radhuset, across the street from a large city supermarket, and within 2 minutes walk of lots of dining options. (Central Station is about 10 minutes on foot)

I was allocated room 612, a large room which overlooked a roof top and and small view of a greek garden of some sort. At first glance, the room seemed fins, but them it became obvious that it had not seen new furniture, etc, in a number of years. The min-ibar was left for use as a fridge, which I prefer. But the room telephone and safe were both not working. Also, the room had a large opening window and then a floor to ceiling window but the net curtain was no where to be found. So either you had black-out curtains closed, or the neighbouring flats and rooms could see your every move in the room. (I could see, however, that the other rooms had their nets. I did notify the front desk of these issues on check-out so hopefully they will be addressed. Note there is no AC in this room.

Bathroom did look like it might have had a new shower within the last decade, it was a walk-in style with two headed shower (no tub in this room). Beds were not new by any means, but I was so tired on this trip it would not have mattered.

Hotel has a small fitness room, which was more than adequate for me. A very large sauna, and a small squarish pool are in the basement. I had the misfortune of staying during school holidays so the pool was full of screaming kids which sadly could be heard loud and clear while trying to relax in the sauna.

The big plus of this hotel, aside from the location, and it is a huge factor in me saying that I would stay here again, was the breakfast. The buffet options were huge, and the food was delicious and high quality. Not only that, they had a special gluten free area with its own breadbox, cereals, toaster... first time I have ever seen that and it is enough to make me give this place another nod.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgrbleu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times over the last 10 years and always enjoy my stay. Better than Scandic hotels anytime, but the sauna needs refurbishing and the superior rooms are somewhat average. Staff are lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#54 of 155 in Stockholm
3,770 reviews
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#45 of 155 in Stockholm
862 reviews
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#43 of 155 in Stockholm
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#64 of 155 in Stockholm
2,203 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#55 of 155 in Stockholm
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Amaranten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Address: 31 Kungsholmsgatan, Stockholm 112 27, Sweden (Formerly First Hotel Amaranten)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $113 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Amaranten 3.5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Amaranten is located on Kungsholmen in central Stockholm. With only 700 meters from Stockholm's city center and 10 minutes walk to Central Station, the hotel is easily accessible and close to most attractions in Stockholm.Kungsholmen has a great variety of restaurants and has a charming nightlife, ranging from casual outdoor cafes to nightclubs. Near the hotel is also the City Hall and Town Hall, two of Stockholm's most famous silhouettes. At the hotel, we offer a gym and sauna. The hotel restaurant Kitchen & Table serves a combination of the best flavors of multicultural Manhattan with local ingredients from the region around one of Stockholm's most beautiful islands - Kungsholmen. You can also visit our award winngin cocktailbar Tap Room Kungsholmen to enjoy our modern takes on classical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Hotel Amaranten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Amaranten
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing