We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy spa, great service and comfy beds!”
Review of First Hotel Reisen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Reisen
Ranked #55 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Classy spa, great service and comfy beds!”
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I stayed at Reisen with my girlfriend for three days. We were met in a polite and very helpful way from the start. The receptionist who checked us in gave us very valuable information about sightseeing, nearby reastaurants and information about the hotel. From our room we could see all of Stockholm and our stay was as romantic as can be. We booked two massages in the hotel spa and then spent hours in the classy sauna and pool, ordered a bottle of red wine from the lively bar.
I strongly recomend Reisen for a romantic weekend. The beds are large and comfy, service great and don't miss the spa!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeSully3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    523
    230
    60
    31
See reviews for
159
614
51
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

This hotel is in a great location in Gamla Stan. It is a short walk into the centre of Stockholm too. Me and my husband stayed here in December 2009 just before Christmas.

We had a double room and the bed was comfy and we were lucky enough to have a large bathroom with a bath and shower. Towels and toiletries provided. The hairdryer was useless but that is nothing new with hotel dryers!!

The breakfast was the best i have EVER had in a hotel, there was everything you could possibly imagine.

The sauna area was small but enough and the plunge pool was fantastic - some people have complained that this 'pool' is too cold but it is supposed to be as it is a plunge pool for after your sauna. There are also changing areas, showers and lockers.

We left this hotel really happy and would have not hesitated to recommend to our friends and family but........on our arrival home we checked our bank account and were shocked to see we had been charged more than we had signed for on our departure. We called the hotel straight away and were told that the extra charge was for items we had used in the mini bar. The maid had told the hotel staff that we had a bottle of wine, soft drink and snacks!!!!! We did not have a single item from the mini bar. When we told the hotel this they said 'well the maid told us you did!!!' and went quiet. We then said we did not and this is completely unacceptable. He was then put us on hold to speak with a colleague. He returned to the phone and said i am sure we have more important things to worry about than this on Christmas Eve and said they would refund the money back to our card as a 'good will guesture'. My husband had just driven 8 hours and was not in the right frame of mind to contest this any more. We are satisfied now we have our money back but were not pleased to be accused of using the mini bar and lying about it!

It is such a shame this has happened and i wonder how many others have had to pay for things they did not have. If i did stay at this hotel again i would request the mini bar be emptied before we arrive to avoid this happening.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First_Hotel_Reisen, General Manager at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Dear guest,

I appreciate your positive comments about our hotel and I have shared them with the staff here.

At the same time I am very sorry to hear of the way your call regarding the mini bar charge was handled. That kind of attitude is not acceptable and, fortunately, very rare here. We take pride in the service we deliver and do so with a positive and constructive approach. On this occasion we obviously failed and for this I am truly sorry.

If you read this please contact me and I would be happy to assist.

Best regards

Cem Gürler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

The hotel is in the Old Town, right on the harbour with excellent views of Stockolm. It is within walking distance of the entire Old Town and beyond. The staff were friendly and helpful, although the breakfast was rather regimented at peak times.
The decor is rather dark and dated with signs of wear both in the public areas and the rooms. The room we had was very small with hardly space for two people to move around in together; similarly the bathroom.
We stayed over the New Year period and had a special dinner on New Year's Eve. This was very expensive and even more so when the wine was included, but frankly very disappointing. We though that the miserable portions of nouvelle cuisine had long gone, but apparently not so in Stockholm.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setúbal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights and just loved the location. Near Gamla Stan, it also allowed us to walk everywhere. The breakfast was good. The room was a bit small, but we had a nice view. Staff were friendly and recommended us places to eat and also booked us a traditional christmas dinner at the grand hotel which was great. Loved the christmas markets. Don't miss the Vasa museum.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia Alves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Good hotel, perfect location.
Reception staff very kindly let me check in at 9 a.m.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2009

First Hotel Reisen is on of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, Sweden. The hotel has the best location in the cozy old town, it's near to the citycentral and to all shopping, nightlife and restaurants. The staff was so friendely and helpfull, you could also tell thek have good knowledge of the city. They gave us good recommendations of places to see and things to do.

If you want a good hotel to stay in I would really recommend First Hotel Reisen.
They have nice rooms you get a good value for a better room, me and my friend stayed in a room with private sauna and jacuzzi a specious room with a great jacuzzi

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlanta_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Lovely hotel with beautiful surroundings i the old town in Stockholm. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly. Don't miss the cozy restaurants, cafés and markets in the old town just around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillistockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#51 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#24 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#71 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Reisen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Reisen

Property: First Hotel Reisen
Address: Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 111 30, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Reisen 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Historic Hotel emcompassing 5 renovated 17th-century houses in Old Town setting, overlooking harbor; near Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your First Hotel Reisen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing