We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”
Review of First Hotel Reisen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Reisen
Ranked #58 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Excellent location with shopping and sightseeing just around the corner! Room with lake view was outstanding! The staff in the reception and bar/restaurant are very friendly and serviceminded! Excellent breakfast with a rich choise of food!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
1  Thank Asa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

High expectations met. Great location, view, furnishings. This is a perfect spot if you want to visit a bit of the old Stockholm and feel a part of it. Excellent location on Gamla Stan waterfront, minutes from Royal Palace, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank SOMA-Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Good location, good service and the restaurant was very good. No AC in the room is a problem since the room became like a sauna. Trafic outside is quite heavy and disturbing if you open the windows. However, overall the stay was good and I could recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank Olof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had made our booking many months in advance because of the reviews we read in TripAdvisor. We arrived early, around 0830, after getting off of a cruise and knew our room would not be ready. Lukas at the front desk went out of his way to take care of our luggage and get the room ready as soon as possible. At the same time, he directed us to different services we required at the time and also what we might do to occupy ourselves until then. We had a corner room on the 4th floor overlooking the harbor with a fantastic view. Staying in Gamla Stan is a lot of fun and there are many great restaurants within a 5 minute stroll of the hotel. The spa in the hotel is great and the room was spacious and comfortable. Noise was never a problem even though it was warm and we had the windows open all night. We will definitely stay there again when we go back to Stockholm


  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great location with plenty of dining choices right around the corner in Gamla Stan. Hotel staff went out of their way to help us with directions, recommendations and ordering cabs. The bar was friendly and fun. The waiters were pleasant and easy going. We were upgraded (complimentary) to a deluxe room with sauna and jetted tub. The room was furnished in beautiful rugs and period furniture. Wonderful wooden floors, in-room coffee service and minibar. A very spacious and comfortable room. The breakfast service was great....complete with Swedish pancakes and lingonberries. I would stay there again in a heartbeat! They set the tone for a great visit to Stockholm.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momcat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel two nights in July 2014. Being a family of four, we stayed in a junior suite which was big enough to sleep all four. Having read some of the reviews of this hotel we were worried that some rooms were too noisy and specifically called the hotel to ask for a room on a high floor. On the phone we were told that "all suites are located on the 5th floor", so noise should not be a problem. However, upon arrival we were informed that all the hotel´s suites are located on the 2nd floor. And there, noise is a serious problem! Traffic in the street below is disturbing and so is the outdoor bar/restaurant on the ground floor. Add to that an A/C that did not work, so we were forced to try to sleep with an open window. Cleaning could be better, for example the bin in the bathroom was not emptied. In a suite we would expect better. In addition, the hotel is not in a very good shape and clearly in need of serious refurbishment. On the positive side, and lifting our rating to "average" the staff was very friendly and trying to be as helpful as possible. They offered us a room on the 5th floor. This was, however, a standard room and too small for a family. Also the breakfast is good (but we were charged extra for cappuccino) and location in Gamla Stan is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Netrom72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionschef at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Netrom72

Thank you for taking time and writing a review about your stay at First Hotel Reisen.
I am very sorry to read that your stay has not been to your satisfaction.
Since Sweden normally has mild weather an A/C is not often needed however we do have an air cooling ventilation which in your case has not been enough and we apologize for this.
I will contact you directly by email so I can send you an invite back to First Hotel Reisen.

Best Regards
Magnus
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our Superior room with seaview was a bit cramped, especially the bathroom which was really tiny. An expensive address but the great advantage is that you are in the centre of Stockholm but not in the noisiest part.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank Nitocris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Shift leader at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Nitocris,

Thank you for your review. Our facility is old, from the 17th and 18th Century, which consequently results in smaller rooms. We try to lay our focus on guest service which we hope you appreciated. Let us know next time you decide to stay with us and we will try to accommodate you better.

Best regards,
Team Reisen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
688 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
626 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,176 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Reisen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Reisen

Address: Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 11130, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $154 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Reisen 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Historic Hotel emcompassing 5 renovated 17th-century houses in Old Town setting, overlooking harbor; near Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Reisen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing