We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are quite happy return guests!”
Review of First Hotel Reisen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Reisen
Ranked #58 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have stayed here several times now, in rooms ranging from basic to suite. We return as it is a nice, proper place, conveniently located in the Old Town, i.e. close to shopping, restaurants and entertainment.

Pros:
- Friendly staff.
- Attention; a broken light bulb was fixed promptly!
- Charming.
- Central location.
- Reasonably priced.

Neutral (i.e. OK):
- Slightly worn appearance.
- Restaurant (evening as well as breakfast) fair and decent.
- Parking by valet service from the reception only (but you shouldn't drive here anyway, it's messy and busy in the city!).

Minor cons:
- No safe locker in rooms.
- In some suites there is a jacuzzi; nice, but somewhat hard to get into and out of. It is also a slightly messy affair to have just a shower as there was no shower curtain.

No major cons!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swesuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located right in the middle of Gamla Stan. Perfect location for sight seeing and to experience Stockholm city life.
Breakfast was one of the best I've seen in Europe. Very rich and tasty.
Room was very clean, small but comfortable.
Parking is a problem in Stockholm. Don't think of coming with your car...extremely high parking fees...

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Oranium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great location in Gamla Stan (Old Town).
You can walk all around Old Town from this location. It's five minutes from the Royal Palace and restaurants.
Wonderful sumptuous breakfast buffet included with fantastic onion sausage, coffee and the best butter cookies!

The pillows were so comfortable, I wish I had asked where to buy one.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had to get to the airport at the break of dawn before the buffet began, so the staff packed us a nice brown bag lunch and even included the yummy cookies that I had requested!!! Mark handed us hot coffee and OJ on the way out the door and helped us with our bags! Very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFJane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We booked a room overlooking the harbor on an upper floor and the view was quite lovely. The room is quite tiny but is cozy. The wood furniture looks a bit worn and there is a really odd step up into the bathroom. This could definitely be a tripping hazard and a "toe breaker" so beware. We placed one of my boots in front of it to remind us of the danger. It has a nice deep tub which was welcome. The heat was provided by a radiator which was so warm, we had to turn it off.
The restaurant had a wonderful breakfast buffet every morning and service was great. We had dinner there our first night because of how late it was and I will say it was excellent. The nice thing about this place is also LOCATION! You are minutes from arriving in the the center of the Gamla Stan, close to the Royal Palace and the Hop on Hop off bus station is right across the street. We even walked from the hotel to tour the City Hall. Really can't say more about the location, food and service. The staff were very nice. Yes, I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you can afford a room with a view, it is lovely and be sure it is high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crosspawcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Went here with a tour group. It is right next to the palace in Old Town, so it is a great location to all the tourist spots. You are a short walk away to the more modern Stockholm as well. Got a roomon the 5th floor and it was quiet (although people in our group had rooms on the 1st floor and said it was noisy at night). Have never stayed at another hotel in Stockholm so not sure if room size is small across town; but rooms are small, and adequate. Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Higher up you go the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msa23_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

First Hotel Reisen gets it. When I enter the hotel I'm always greeted by a very friendly hotel receptionist. When entering my room I find a hand written note welcoming me back. And, they have the best breakfast buffet in Stockholm. Try it out.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank MortenOlesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night for business. Not happy with the stay, small and old room. Really need renovation. Not sure if they have modern rooms.

On the positive side is location and also a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yef70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#48 of 155 in Stockholm
693 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#11 of 155 in Stockholm
629 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#49 of 155 in Stockholm
3,012 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
2,205 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 155 in Stockholm
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Reisen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Reisen

Address: Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 11130, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $124 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Reisen 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Historic Hotel emcompassing 5 renovated 17th-century houses in Old Town setting, overlooking harbor; near Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Reisen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing