We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At first, they were cheating us.”
Review of First Hotel Reisen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Reisen
Ranked #57 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked this hotel because it has a selection of 4 stars and elected by tripadvisor as an excellent hotel. We payed in advanced, and when we arrived they told us they were upgrading us for 20 euros more each day, which we accepted. The location was perfect and we went all day walking around the city. At night we realized that the room and the bathroom were so small that there was no room for anything. So we asked for a decent room and inmediately they changed to a good room and bathroom. they didn t charged us the 20 euros extra they were talking about. Besides that, it has a very good breakfast a fast and free internet access and was not that bad after all, but i could not say it is a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure the type of room they are going to give you. After we complained, they gave us an executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvia359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel, and were very comfortable. The location is excellent, close to all the sights of the Old Town and the rest of Stockholm. The ferry over to Djurgården and the Wasa ship museum is across the street.Many nice restaurants and cafes are close by. Near to subway and bus, and a short taxi ride to the central train station and airport train.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are larger and have a beautiful view, but will cost you quite a bit more. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flagirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was involved in a long project across in Stockholm and stayed in the hotel on and off for around 6 months. During that time the hotel ran a fully upgrade of rooms, updating the Wifi service and TV's within the room. Now the Wifi service and TVs are as sleek as the rest of the hotel.

You wont find a better location that this in central Stockholm. It sits right on the seafront on Gamla Stan (referred to as the old town) which has many lovely bars and restaurants. Its also a stones throw away from the Palace.

The staff are friendly and always helpful. Hopefully I will be back here soon in a leisurely capacity rather than business.

The only downside is the road outside the hotel can get busy in the morning so ask for a room at the front on one of the higher floors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and not next to the elevator. The road this hotel is on can get bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at 7 am withViking Line ferry. I had mailed before to hotel and heard that we can drop by and eat breakfast. Wien we arrived the place was Almost empy, but around 7.30 hotelguests begun to come.

The hotel is located next to the sea and the breakfast-room has the most beautiful panorama to the sea and docks. It is Only 30 minutes walk from the Viking Line terminal.

Perusonel was very friendly, food was clean and nice. Lots of raw fish, herrings, and other swedish specialities.

We were very pleased to stay there almost one and half hour before entering the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aprilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed this hotel for a two night stay in beautiful Stockholm. We were upgraded to a suite at no extra cost which was lovely. There is street traffic but with the beautiful water view, who cares? Excellent breakfast with gluten free options if you need it. Free wifi!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyHouston_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My daughters and I had the misfortune to stay at this hotel whilst visiting Stockholm and the only way to describe it was disgusting. My room was tatty and very unclean with a very questionable stain on the valance on the bed. Even after showing the Duty Manager the problems it was still only superficially cleaned. The only member of staff who knew her job was the breakfast restaurant manager.

On checking out the reception staff belittled me and it took me 2 hours to actually get my bill in a state to be settled. They tried to charge me twice for one of the rooms only through the efficiency of Metro Bank did I manage to catch my flight - untrained and uncaring staff.

Room Tip: I don't know that there is a good room and I could never guarantee for the cleanliness of any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This 4 star hotel is well situated, within walking distance to many tourist attractions and boat cruises. The rooms are clean, beds very comfortable, flat tv screen. Access to lifts requires the use of your room card, which gives added security.
The buffet breakfast is excellent, with a wide selection of Scandinavian food.
The receptionists are very helpful. Free WiFi is available.
Will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotellall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
688 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,624 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
488 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Reisen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Reisen

Address: Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 11130, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $156 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Reisen 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Historic Hotel emcompassing 5 renovated 17th-century houses in Old Town setting, overlooking harbor; near Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Reisen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing