We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional staff, central location and great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of First Hotel Reisen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Reisen
Ranked #55 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exceptional staff, central location and great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Located in the old town with frontage to the river and walking distance to many museums and sites. Reasonable size rooms, good buffet breakfast with a wide range of variety and great customer service. We visited Stockholm for a weekend trip during their Cultural weekend (all museums, palaces, churches and galleries are free to the public on Saturday night until 12am), which meant all the popular restaurants in the old town were already booked out in advance and we had no luck making our own reservations. The staff recommended and booked a restaurant (Swedish cuisine) for us, which was a 10min taxi ride from the hotel and the food was fantastic. We then headed back to the hotel bar for a night cap at 11pm which was buzzing with locals and hotel guest. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureStamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    511
    222
    58
    30
See reviews for
156
601
50
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

24 hour visit to Stockholm Sweden, flew with Ryanair it was wonderful experience we stayed at First Hotel Reisen in Gamla Stan,. On sale of 0 to 10 it was close to a 10. IWeb loved every aspect of the visit, eagerly looking forward to another visit,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location can't be beat. This hotel in a great part of town and all of Stockholm is within walking distance. Gamla Stan is a little disappointing in that almost every shop sells touristy junk. But this part of town is just beautiful and very photogenic so it is not to be missed. Just don't go there for the shopping. The entire city is walkable, clean, and quite beautiful. I was on a business trip so no time to go to the museums which I hear are fantastic. The staff was extremely helpful and the property is very clean. The breakfast at the hotel restaurant is outrageous and I would go back just for that. However, I waited for a solid two minutes to be seated for dinner and was completely ignored. I left and had a fantastic meal at a local restaurant called Krypin, which was recommended by the front desk staff.

Room Tip: Superior room would be too small for two people. Check into upgrading to the deluxe or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gsandnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West River
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

As a first time traveler to the city of Stockholm, Sweden I was so impressed with the staff of First Hotel Reisen. Everyone made you feel so welcomed to their hotel and their country. They were always willing to help you find what you were looking for. The rooms were very much to my liking. I was not happy with the wall that was our view from our window, only one word to the front desk and we were upgraded at no cost to us. The breakfast was such a treat for me. Stockholm really knows how to put on a feast for breakfast. I could have spent the day right at the buffet and been a very happy camper. The location of the hotel was just perfect. The only problem we had with this hotel is we didn't stay long enough to enjoy their city. We were very lucky to be able to walk to "The Royal Swedish Opera House" to see the Russian State Ballet perform "Gisele", the high light of my stay in Stockholm, Sweden. If I was to visit this city again, would I stay at the Reisen, you bet I would and would not consider any other hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay for a short weekend break. The positive first......Great location near to Gamle Stan and many restaurants, easy walking distance to town. Generally the hotel is good. The bar is efficient if a bit lacking in atmosphere, the staff are good but well trained rather than friendly and a good feature is that one needs a room key to operate the lift to any of the floors. One last positive was that when we reported a light bulb out it was fixed vary quickly.

We stayed here two years ago and enjoyed it more. Recommend paying a bit more to get an upgraded room ( we did last time) since the one we got this time was small, dark and very hot since it was almost impossible to turn the heat down. The ice machine didn't work on our floor and was not fixed despite reporting it to reception. Lastly it seems the rooms could use a bit of maintenance.

Would we stay here next time? Probably not, but if we couldn't find a good alternative we wouldn't worry be too worried about it - we would order an upgrade though.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Chose this Hotel for its location, we wanted to Stay on Gamla Stan as it was close to the office of some business colleagues that we were visiting. It turned out also in a good location for visiting the local sites and attractions. The hotel itself is not untypical of many Stockholm hotels being sparsely decorated and furnished and getting to be a little old and dated. However it was very comfortable and good value for money. The Breakfast was the usual self service arrangements which are also typical in buffet style but sufficient and adequate. We will probably not use this Hotel again as our hosts recommended somewhere that was even nearer o where they work , but we would recommend this hotel for its proximity to the old town and the splendid dinning establishments that exist in the locality .

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Reisen hotel location is one of the best you can find in Stockholm. The hotel is rated highly - I assume it relates to the location and the preservation of the old building. It is a very nice welcoming hotel yet the rooms are quite small for my liking and fairly spartan. For my taste - too small rooms. Breakfast was good with many options, the staff is very welcoming and helpful.
It's a nice hotel but not likely I will go again, in terms of value for money - I think it's too expensive.

Room Tip: Try asking for high floors, than you can have a sea view Avoid the corner rooms on first floor, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#48 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#69 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#71 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Reisen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Reisen

Property: First Hotel Reisen
Address: Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 111 30, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Reisen 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Historic Hotel emcompassing 5 renovated 17th-century houses in Old Town setting, overlooking harbor; near Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Reisen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing