We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”
Review of Freys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Freys Hotel
Ranked #16 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

For fantastic transport links and walking distance to tourist attractions and city centre this comfortable hotel is ideal. We flew into Skavska airport by Ryanair and were a little apprehensive about the transfer time by bus to Stockholm but the buses (Flybussarma) were frequent,efficient and speedy and tickets could be bought at the bus terminal or online before travel. Furthermore they took you directly to the bus terminal in Stockholm - a five minute walk from the hotel. An equal distance is the mainline train station with connections from Arlanda airport.

The hotel itself is charming with helpful staff,well equipped rooms and plentiful buffet breakfast.
It is centrally located to allow easy access on foot to Gamla Stan (old town),the river and river tours,bus tours,several main shopping areas and a great variety of restaurants and coffee shops.
The hotel room was well decorated and had a smart shower room (with a beautifully scented bodywash provided), The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The buffet breakfast provided a full and plentiful choice including ceraels,fresh fruit,meats,boiled eggs,pancakes,many different breads and cooked English breakfast and was continually replenished.

Despite the fact we arrived two hours before the earliest check in time, there was no problem and we were given keys to our room without delay. Would not hesitate recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsy_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiinaKalpa, Director of Sales at Freys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us !
Hope to see you again in Stockholm and Freys Hotel ! best Regards Tiina Kalpa Sales& marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

My teenage son and I stayed at the Freys Hotel for four days in the autumn of 2012, and really enjoyed it. The room we got was indeed small, but had two separate beds (though one was only a sofa bed), and it served the purpose for us - a base for our exploring Stockholm.

The hotel also provided a restaurant, specialicing in Belgian beers, whcih we did not try - apart from the fact that it was also the breakfast room. The breakfast served was a typical Scandinavian one, with a selection of cold cuts, cheese and marmelades, as well as boiled eggs. A big plus for the way they handled our requests for gluten- and lactose free items! "No problem" was the answer - and despite the fact that we had forgotten to inform them in advance, bread milk etc was served immediately.

The hotel is quite small, and at the time we stayed there, had a varied group of guests - both Swedish and international.

Room Tip: If you don't like sofa beds check in advance to get a room with proper beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snehvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinniBLO, Guest Relations Manager at Freys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very glad you left a comment under Room Tip. We hope to see you again at Freys Hotel!

Warm Regards
Ninni Blomberg
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at Freys in the last two years and it is very adequate and centrally located very near the Central Station. The rooms are generally small but adequate by local standards. The bathroom somewhat flooded when the shower was used. The staff is generally friendly and helpful. The included breakfast is excellent and extensive with both Swedish and European fare. Overall a decent option in pricey Stockholm

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiinaKalpa, Director of Sales at Freys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Im pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward seeing you again! With kind regards Tiina Kalpa Sales&Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I think, having seen some if the other reviews, that it seems to be luck of the draw as far as rooms go. We were in a superior room on rhe 6th floor. It had a seating area with a 3 seater sofa and 2 armchairs, desk and chair, flat screen tv, decent drink making facilities, really spacious room, tastefully decorated. The bathroom was nothing special and the double bed was 2 singles pushed together but this didn't detract from anything. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the dining area very pleasant. Centrally located, perfect if arriving on the arlanda express and the central station not far away either. Everything we wanted to see was in walking distance and the staff were friendly. All in all a great stay :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitsy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiinaKalpa, Director of Sales at Freys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Im pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward seeing you again! With kind regards Tiina Kalpa Sales&marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel was centrally located and next to the Belgobaren, an affordable restaurant with good food.
However, room was very small and had a strange smell. The bathroom was also small and there was no separation of the shower on the floor which wasn't convenient as the water was going everywhere in the bathroom. Breakfast was served in Belgobaren and was ok. All in all, I think this hotel is too expensive for the quality you get.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAuditeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiinaKalpa, Director of Sales at Freys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is very unfortunate that your visit at Freys Hotel wasn´t that satisfactory. Will make sure that matter at this bathroom will be taken care of. Thank you for staying at our hotel and we wish that you enjoyed your stay in Stockhom ! Best Regards Tiina Kalpa Sales &Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The reasons I booked this hotel were 1. It's closeness to the Arlanda Express train 2 -3 minutes. 2.Similar closeness to the main shopping street Drottingatan. 3. Short walk to the old town Gamla Stan with all the historic buildings etc. This is more of a 3 star than a 4 star hotel - very small with cramped lobby and very cramped bar/ breakfast room though with 4 star prices. Reception staff generally nice and helpful except for one female receptionist who has an attitude problem and displayed arrogance and off-handedness . Booked a Superior double room at approx Euro 218 per night and was disappointed to find 2 single narrow beds there , asked to be changed but was told by Miss Charm at reception that there were only 2 -3 double beds in the hotel and that these were in Superior rooms with balconies or views - the photos supplied by the hotel show double beds. Superior room was still cramped though well equipped with closeted kitchenette with tea/coffee making facility. Bathroom small and functional . Breakfast was poor by Scandinavian standards - very basic and difficult to find space to move around buffet and to sit down. Sleep quality was good and room was warm and well serviced daily.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, be aware that the hotel has only a few rooms with double beds and these are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limerickjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

very conveninet if you come to Stockholm via arlanda express train or any train arriving at Central Station, the lobby is quite nice but the room was very disappointing. Little and with two single beds that was closer to a bunk that to a hotel bed..
even the bathroom is quite unconfortable and spartan
Breakfast by the way was great

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bidibodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinniBLO, Guest Relations Manager at Freys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time too write your review!

We are very happy you chosed to stay with Freys Hotel, however its very said you weren´t satisfied with the room and the bed. We have 5 diffrent room types some are smaller and some are bigger. We appreciate your feedback and we will take this with us.
We hope to see you again in Stockholm!

With Kind Regards
Ninni Blomberg
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
349 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
2,838 reviews
Norrmalm
Hobo
Hobo
#22 of 154 in Stockholm
417 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#28 of 154 in Stockholm
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freys Hotel

Address: Bryggargatan 12, Stockholm 111 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $122 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Freys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel offering warm hospitality, restaurant and bar; located in city center near shopping and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing