We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freys Hotel, Stockholm”
Review of Freys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Freys Hotel
Ranked #20 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Freys Hotel, Stockholm”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great small hotel, located close by to everything you need in central Stockholm. Really enjoyed the atmosphere, the staff and the breakfast buffet. Highly recommend if staying in Stockholm, a couple of minutes walking distance from the Arlanda express from the airport. Give it a go, you'll enjoy it too.

Room Tip: We had the top floor with a small balcony which was nice, meant the rooms were a little bigger that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiinaKalpa, Sales & Marketing Manager at Freys Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Im pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was also great to hear that you noticed our great location in Stockholm city Centre . We hope seeing you again In Stockholm and at Freys Hotels ! With kindest regards, Tiina Kalpa / Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    540
    179
    44
    12
See reviews for
259
434
92
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is in a great location across the road and half a block up a quiet street from the Arlanda Airport Express train (which is a quick 20 min ride to the airport) The rooms are typical European size and the beds comfortable. There is a restaurant downstairs and the breakfast was good though often crowded. The hotel is easy walking distance to the Palace and other major sites. They have an odd collection of paintings of cats in the public areas but otherwise very nice decor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cararmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The convenience of the recently refurbished Freys Hotel is one of its great strengths. Arrive from Arlanda Airport on the Arlanda Express and the hotel is just across the road from the terminus. The hotel was even offering a cut-price ticket for the 20-minute rail link to Arlanda. But convenience doesn't stop there. Once ensconsed at the hotel, most of Stockholm's central sights and shopping are an easy walk away. The pedestrianised Drottninggaten is two minutes away at the end of the street and Hotorget market is a little further on. For those destinations which are further afield there is ready access to the metro service (although one line of this was closed during our stay). We walked to Gamla Stan, the Old Town, and to the river terminii of various water taxis and ferries to the islands.
Our room was, to be kind, compact. All was well designed but hanging and drawer space were limited in a room which found space for a desk, chair, bedside tables, a fan, a television and a minibar. A kettle for making tea or coffee is not included and the sweet-scented handcream and shower gel might not be to everyone's taste. The lights which stick out in the middle of the bed and get in the way when trying to read, were ridiculous. But for the rest, all scored well. The bed was comfortable; the shower efficient; the linen clean and well-serviced throughout our three-day stay. Breakfast was abundant and included in the tariff. For a centrally placed hotel, our room was generally remarkably quiet. The sound levels were efficiently muffled by double glazing.
The associated restaurant is a Belgian bar offering a considerable range of beers as well as food. The 187SEK Swedish dish special - potato pancakes with pork and lingonberries - included a small beer or wine and compared well with other local eateries.
A particular word of praise goes to the 24/7 reception staff who handled problems and questions cheerfully and efficiently.
This was a happy stay for us. We would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredtraveller0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

On all my last trips to Stockholm I've stayed at Freys Hotel, and there are two reasons for that.
One is the location which is very close to Stockholm Central train station. Just a few hundred meters away. The other reason is the very friendly staff in the reception. They just make me feel welcome each time, even if it's been a long time since I last visited.

The rooms are OK and I slept in a very good bed.
The breakfast could be better, but I can't really complain to much as they have a fairly good selection, just not what I wanted.

Not the cheapest place in Stockholm, but so far my hotel of choice in this city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Loved the hotel! They lost one of our reservation (hotels.com did not send it to them), but they made every effort to accommodate us. I will give them 5 stars just for their service!

Location is awesome! Everything... ...banks, restaurants, public transport is just a few steps away. Stockholm Central is so close by that we could walk with our luggage to catch a train for Oslo. Kulturhuset is about 10 mins walk. And the hotel itself is very charming. Rooms are tiny and so are the bathrooms, but the cleanliness and the charming nature overshadowed that.

I would definitely go back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dukkar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were on our way back from Lapland when we stopped at Freys hotel.

The main advantage was the near distance to Stockholm Central (and the good discount). Coming from the night train we arrived before breakfast time and got a real nice welcome from the front desk personnel (really funny, really helpful, really good)

Unfortunately the rest did not match the expectations. It was fairly average: average room (a bit small, but OK), average breakfast, average restaurant, ... the charm was slightly missing.


And as always in Sweden, it was quite expensive

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good location,reception staff friendley/helpful. Avoid the restaurant,breakfast was a gloomy affair,someone asked for the lighting to be turned up,they did for for half an hour then back to doom and gloom. Food good. In the evening a very unfriendly bar man said bar is closed at 10pm?? As guests we asked if we could bring the coffee and a glass of water up to our room. He barked orders that if we pay???

Room Tip: avoid bar in eve
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnut600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#31 of 154 in Stockholm
2,467 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,509 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
753 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freys Hotel

Property: Freys Hotel
Address: 12 Bryggargatan, Stockholm 111 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel offering warm hospitality, restaurant and bar; located in city center near shopping and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Freys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing