We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Birger Jarl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Birger Jarl
Ranked #54 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Great, quiet location in a residential neighborhood with nearby restaurants and bars. Three blocks from a T-bana stop which is all you need to get to anywhere in Stockholm. Small but clean/modern rooms. Excellent breakfast buffet. Free wifi. At $120 USD/night I paid the hotel was an excellent value, particularly for Stockholm. I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlLarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    744
    281
    42
    17
See reviews for
172
553
110
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Clean and comfortable room, a touch on the small side, but no big deal. Good breakfast, busy room if you're a bit late.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitch11Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

The hotel is in good shape, the installations are nice, rooms are quite small like in any modern hotel.
The fitness room is quite good, the Sauna is good.
The breakfast is delicious and very complete
The attention is great like in most Sweeden.

The prices in my case where quite cheap (for Stockholm standards)

The location is a bit outside of the city centre, but easy reachable with a bike or the metro

Everything is designed, the chairs, the glasses in the restaurant.. i liked it a lot

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertoBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forde, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

The hotel is very nice, and had a friendy staff. Short walking distance to the city ( aprox 15-20 min). Nice clean rooms. The breackfast room was very crowded. Hard to find a table. The food was ok.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caiamaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights here in November 2008 and we were a bit apprehensive about checking in as we arrived around 1am and we've known other hotels to be a bit snotty with you if you turn up in the dead of night. We explained that we had a late flight in and the lady at reception was very welcoming and advised us that the room was ready and hoped we had a good rest. Her face was a picture 30 minutes later when we left the hotel to go out to a bar!
We thought the location was good and is about a 5 minute walk from the nearest metro station. If the weather is good though, I would recommend having a walk towards the harbourfront down Birger Jarlsgaten as it has some lovely cafes, restaurants and shops such as Hugo Boss, Louis Vuitton, etc.
Our room was impeccable and I think what you see on the hotel websites is pretty much what you get. Breakfast was superb and though we didn't eat in the restaurant, the bar area was very nice. On the subject of meals, don't eat at Eriks Gondolen in the Sodermalm district if you're counting the pennies. We had a wonderful meal there but the view we got was terrible and that is what they're charging the premium for (albeit it was a Saturday night and we turned up with no reservation). There's a steakhouse on Birger Jarlsgaten which was much better where we went on the Sunday - can't remember the name but I think it was something like Jimmy's Steakhouse (it had a decent wine list too).

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kallstrom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Went here for a buys weekend to Stockholm, not much to add really, the hotel is conviniently located for the main Stureplan region of bars and clubs. It's also near a nice big park and not far form the shopping district. We cleared out heads with a nice morning walk to the old town which is about 20 minutes away.

The hotel itself is nice and modern, clean and well located. The wet room style bathrooms are a god send!

I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

I was pleased with the Birger Jarl as a base for a couple of days of sightseeing in Stockholm. The hotel was smart, clean and, in places, quite funky, and while my single room was fairly compact it did at least boast a very comfy queen-sized bed. The complementary buffet breakfast was excellent, with a large choice of cereals, breads, fruits, cold meats and cheese, the usual cooked fare, juices etc., but I didn't eat any other meals at the hotel so I cannot comment on its bar menu or restaurant.

In terms of location, this is in a quiet spot just to the north of the city centre, so if you want to be right in the thick of it then this wouldn't be right for you. However, it is just a couple of minutes' walk from Radmansgatan T-bana station, which is itself only two stops from the main hub of T-Centralen (and on the same line that carries on out to Gamla Stan, Slussen and the main sights in Sodermalm - very convenient indeed), or you can walk down to the centre in 10-15 minutes.

I liked the Birger Jarl a lot, and would recommend it for anyone looking for a quiet and convenient base for sightseeing in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jghastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#44 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#33 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Hellsten
Hotel Hellsten
#40 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#38 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birger Jarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birger Jarl

Property: Hotel Birger Jarl
Address: Tulegatan 8 | Box 19016, Stockholm 113 53, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Birger Jarl 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Birger Jarl offers a wide range of rooms and suites all decorated in modern design. In the welcoming lobby you will find the restaurant and lobby bar where you can sip on a drink and enjoy a nice dinner. You are welcome to use the gym complete with views out over the rooftops. Complimentary WiFi in the whole hotel. We are centrally located with stores and restaurants within walking distance. Conference facilities with capacity for up to 550 people. Staying with us you will be welcomed with personal care, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and stylish design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Birger Jarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birger Jarl Hotel
Birger Jarl Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing