We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Birger Jarl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Birger Jarl
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed July 18, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jenny B, Manager at Hotel Birger Jarl, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Birger Jarl
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Room was really clean and nice. Wifi did work without problem with phone. Couple minutes walk to nearest metro, bus nr 2 went also near, and you can get to Gamla stan with it. Breakfast was nice and helpful personal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Annika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Each room has its own design, ours was a bit vintage but still very nice, although a bit too small to my taste. Staff is, as everywhere else in Stockholm, very nice and helpful. Breakfast is OK, but I've seen better ones. The location is not so central but city centre is at a walkable distance (15-20mn) and there is a metro station very near the hotel. You definitely have to go the Tradition restaurant just across the street! All in all, a nice place to stay and not so expensive when you find the right Internet deals.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FroggieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good location, the room was well laid out and comfortable.
Buffet breakfast was also good with lots of choices.
The shower used half of the bathroom so tended to get very wet, took a bit of getting used to !!


  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have stayed here four times now - why?

It's within walking distance of the city centre with plenty of restaurants nearby as well as one in the hotel. As one comes to expect in Scandinavia, the breakfast is superb "grazing" as one of my friends calls it.

The rooms are comfortable and the staff friendly. Search around various hotel websites for a good rate, we did!

We'll be back here next time we visit Stockholm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was one of a party of over 30 people attending a course at the School of Economics. For us the location was ideal as the school is a five minute walk away. As I was staying for five nights I took on board previous reviews and made sure I did not have a cabin room. My room was a larger double and actually had three beds within it. The fittings looked a wee bit tired however the cleanliness of the room and comfort of the bed was of a very high standard. Being there just after mid-summer's night meant it never truly got dark. No problem with good curtains (which I did have) however they were just marginally too short and so light got through. Perhaps this is one of the advantages of a cabin room which has no window! I liked the wet room bathroom and the drainage was quick and efficient so no wet floor for hours. I found the staff at the hotel very helpful and made use of the free computer and printer in the basement.

Breakfast even after five days did not get boring. The selection was huge and very fresh and healthy. They even offer vitamin C tablets. I had some free time before my flight home and used the tourist hop on bus. As usual it was pricey but since I only had a few hours it was a good way to see the city and convince me to come back to visit.

Would I go back to the Hotel, yes for business purposes but not sure if I'd select it for a special trip or holiday.

Room Tip: I had a front facing room on the second floor but did not experience any issues with traffic or stre...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Planning a business trip to Stockholm in late May it was difficult to find a decent hotel in Stockholm for less than about 150 EUR (NZD250) per night, so I was pleased to find the Birger Jarl for that price, which included breakfast and Wi-Fi.
The location is close to downtown and only three blocks east of Radmansgaten T-bana.
The hotel is modern and the staff very helpful and polite, helping with parking, suggesting places to go for a jog, shopping etc. I went up the end of Tulegaten and left around to Sveavagen and over the main road to Brunnsviken a large pretty lake with a great walking path round the lake where couples stroll and relax by the water.
The room was a little small, typical of a big city hotel, and only looked into an internal courtyard but had everything you need: coffee/tea making facilities, mini bar with complimentary mineral water, large flat screen TV and very comfortable bedding. I had a great sleep every night. The bathroom was small but very clean and had a walk-in shower. The room was very quiet as there is hardly any traffic on Tulegaten.
As others have noted the breakfast buffet was excellent with lots of choice and decent coffee.
I liked that they serve breakfast till later on the weekend so a 10:30am breakfast on Saturday after a sleep-in was a luxury. I also ate in the restaurant for dinner after my colleagues arrived at 9:00pm and the service was great. I stayed for 3 nights and overall had a great stay. I would recommend this hotel for a short business stay.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up looking out over the street as there is no internal view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keitho59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#40 of 154 in Stockholm
830 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
620 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
1,552 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#42 of 154 in Stockholm
860 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birger Jarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birger Jarl

Address: Tulegatan 8 | Box 19016, Stockholm 113 53, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $135 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Birger Jarl 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Birger Jarl offers a wide range of rooms and suites all decorated in modern design. In the welcoming lobby you will find the restaurant and lobby bar where you can sip on a drink and enjoy a nice dinner. You are welcome to use the gym complete with views out over the rooftops. Complimentary WiFi in the whole hotel. We are centrally located with stores and restaurants within walking distance. Conference facilities with capacity for up to 550 people. Staying with us you will be welcomed with personal care, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and stylish design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Birger Jarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birger Jarl Hotel
Birger Jarl Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing