We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far, so good!”
Review of Hotel Birger Jarl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Birger Jarl
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So far, so good!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My first impression is positive (five more nights to go). The staff was helpful, my standard room is clean and large enough, and the bed quite comfortable. By far the best part is the very large desk with a comfortable chair at the right height; I come here for work, and to have an actual desk that I can spread out on is unusual for me in Stockholm. I'm also happy to report that the free internet WORKS! I've encountered so many hotels here where it doesn't, and this is so important for business. My only complaint so far is that coffee/espresso isn't available throughout the day for free: this is the first hotel in Stockholm that I've stayed in where I had to pay for my post-international flight cafe latte.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose10027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B, Manager at Hotel Birger Jarl, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We welcome and pay close attention to all feedback as it helps us improve our standard and service in line with our guest expectations.

It makes us happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We have upgraded our Wi-Fi network as we know this is very very important for our guests.

Regarding free coffee during daytime I will see what we can do about this in the future.

I look forward seeing you here again with us.

Kind regards,

Jenny Björk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    768
    295
    43
    18
See reviews for
178
589
114
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I chose the hotel for its location primarily as I had two days of meetings in the area. There are some cool local restaurants and its only 15 minutes to walk into town.
Hotel is modern and clean and feels quite buzzy downstairs as the bar, restaurant and lobby area are all in the open plan area.
My room was one of the 'designer' rooms that had been done out by a local celebrity designer. It was small, had no desk and was in fairly poor state of repair. There were no curtains only blinds and the string was broken so could not raise them or lower them all the way. The bathroom was so dark that I had to have the door open to the bedroom and it was in a poor state with broken fittings and water damage.

A colleague had a much better (and cheaper) room on another floor. Avoid the polka dot room.
Everything else about the stay was fine - wifi in rooms, there was good breakfast and the service was friendly and helpful. Probably wouldn't stay here if I was travelling as a tourist on my own money but it was convenient for me on my stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feedthemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B, Manager at Hotel Birger Jarl, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We welcome and pay close attention to all feedback as it helps us improve our standard and service in line with our guest expectations.

I assume that you have stayed in one of our 17 unique design rooms, individually designed by Swedish best contemporary interior architects and designers.
I am sorry to hear that you didn´t enjoy your room. Let us know next time in the reception as we always do our outmost to make our guests happy with their rooms.

I wish you a warm welcome back to us here at Birger Jarl!

Kind regards,

Jenny Björk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Simple modern and in a great location. The room we booked was huge similar to a small apartment. The bedroom was very dark and quiet at night so we slept very well. Staff were friendly and the buffet style breakfast was very good too!would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We really looked forward to staying in this hotel for 4 nights. It started out well. The receptionist was very nice. The lobby looked new and modern. We got rooms on the 1st floor. Soon we realised that they were not the best of rooms. They were so cold that we had to ask for extra heating in th reception. The bathroom was worst, absolutely no heating and the floor was ice cold. Every morning we had to drop the towels on the floor to be sure to get new ones. They didn't dry in the cold room.
The breakfast was very good and the service was perfect. Maybe we only had bad luck .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B, Manager at Hotel Birger Jarl, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We welcome and pay close attention to all feedback as it helps us improve our standard and service in line with our guest expectations.

I wish you return to us for another visit, since for me you it seems that you have had bad luck at your last stay. Generally our rooms are warm (central heating) and cozy and we have several bathrooms with floor heating.

I do look forward seeing you here again with us!

Kind regards,

Jenny Björk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room had been refurbished to a very high standard, you can't go wrong especially as the room rates are very competitive. Breakfast was also to very nice, everything was presented well. Location was a nice stroll into the centre, 10-15 mins or the subway is only 5 mins away. Quite a few restaurants near by, plus convenience stores. Best tip, get Stockholm card for 2 days, unlimited transport and entry to attractions, Globe and Royal Palace are a must.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D209916R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Lovely, trendy, stylish hotel in Stockholm. It's located in a calm part of the city, but close to the shopping street and subway-station. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was great and kept me full all the way 'til dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingvill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Birger Jarl for one night as a stop over to Kiruna. All I can say is that I wish we had had longer here! Everyone was lovely, so helpful and went out of their way to ensure that you had a wonderful stay there. Its quite central to everything and in 30mins, you can be in the "old town".

The breakfast buffet was brilliant, hot, fresh and very tasty!

The rooms aren't the biggest, but they don't need to be. You have everything you need in these rooms including a TV with English channels and the beds are lovely! We will be returning to Stockholm very soon and I will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahlouise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#43 of 154 in Stockholm
809 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#27 of 154 in Stockholm
596 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#41 of 154 in Stockholm
845 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
1,517 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#39 of 154 in Stockholm
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birger Jarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birger Jarl

Property: Hotel Birger Jarl
Address: Tulegatan 8 | Box 19016, Stockholm 113 53, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Birger Jarl 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Birger Jarl offers a wide range of rooms and suites all decorated in modern design. In the welcoming lobby you will find the restaurant and lobby bar where you can sip on a drink and enjoy a nice dinner. You are welcome to use the gym complete with views out over the rooftops. Complimentary WiFi in the whole hotel. We are centrally located with stores and restaurants within walking distance. Conference facilities with capacity for up to 550 people. Staying with us you will be welcomed with personal care, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and stylish design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Birger Jarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birger Jarl Hotel
Birger Jarl Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing