We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with real character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #59 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel with real character”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week for 5 nights. I had a very small single room but the size didn't worry me too much as the room had real style and charm. I liked staying in such an old building full of history and you could tell they had made the best use of the space available. My one complaint about the size of the room was the shower recess - I'm fairly tall and have to say that it was a bit of an ordeal showering in such a small enclosed space.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in the middle of a shopping district and within walking distance of all the main tourist sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    316
    94
    51
    16
See reviews for
105
212
33
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

For our three day trip to Stockholm we chose Hotell Kung Carl for its central location. We arrived early and were happy to check-in at eight in the morning. The front desk staff was always very accommodating to any of our requests.

We had a First floor room facing Birger Jarlsgatan. Room was clean, spacious enough for two people and the noise from the street was almost non-existent. After a full day's walk in brisk October weather the bed provided a very good sleep. As the hotel is eco-labeled, they don't provide amenities in the rooms. If you need them, though, all the necessities including body lotions and vanity kits may be collected from the lobby.

Breakfast was quite good. Not overly inventive but enough basics to keep you fully satisfied until late lunch. As a side note, from the dining room you can spot Pocket on the opposite side of the street, a newish restaurant that provides moderately priced French-Swedish bistro grub. Think two starters and two mains (huge portions) without drinks for a little under 600 crowns. ”Moderately priced” for Stockholm, mind you, it's a really expensive city.

Hotel is only a couple of blocks from Östermalmstorg subway station (Tunnelbana in Swedish). We'd suggest taking the Red line to Hornstull and finding a restaurant called Barbro on the bank side right next to the bridge. They serve fabulous Asian-inspired food for local crowds. Absolutely great service and delicious dishes (spicy tuna and duck liver, for example) were one of the highlights for our trip. Book a table or turn up early, as the restaurant was really busy on a Wednesday night.

For those enjoying vegetarian food, you won't go wrong with Hermans (Fjällgatan) at the other end of Södermalm. Spicy and again, you can enjoy it without breaking the bank.

In addition to usual suspects like Vasa Museum or Abba Museum, we also encourage you to try one of the walks organized by Free Tour Stockholm. As the name implies, they are free although you definitely want to tip your guide afterwards.

Returning to the actual hotel review, we thought whether to award the hotel three or four stars. When compared to hotels in other parts of the worlds, even in Europe the Stockholm hotel prices are really high. Hence, the value for money is really open for discussion. But I suppose we need to rate the hotels in relation to other hotels in the area and decided to go with four stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandomGrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very nicely sized rooms, friendly and helpful staff and a tremendous breakfast. Location is ideal near park and short walk to more touristy areas. This is a great value for Europe - try finding such a big and comfortable room in one of the trendiest areas of the city in another major European city. On top of it, great staff who really had to hustle during a crowded breakfast and always were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nestled in the perfect location in Stockholm city, this hotel is a worthy stay. The ancient European style adds to the majestic feel of this hotel. Helpful staff, ample breakfast option and close vicinity to train stations and shopping centers.. what more would you need for a holiday. We alongwith 2 small kids enjoyed every bit of it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SinSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgå
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed there 1 night my mom and I, and after a lot of complications with the check-in, overbooking, our room not available, offering us 1 persons room with extra bed, we checking in at 7:15 PM and the extra bed arriving just before midgnight, we finally got ourselves a somehow good sleep and woke up in time for the breakfast. Breakfast itself was good but the serving area is crammed and tiny so expect tight seating, unclear queues, queuing for everything etc. The location is a five star, interior so too, front desk service very friendly but regarding handling irregularities I see the hotel could imporove.

Room Tip: The higher the better =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelynErika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is just in the center of Stockholm, it's around the trendy area with nice bars and shops. The breakfast is really good! Really nice rooms with comfortable beds. Friendly staff also that are willing to help.we had a really nice time there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great location affording easy walking access to the old city and also in a quiet area. Our room was comfortable and breakfast offered enough variety and quality to see us through till lunch time. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#61 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western & Hotel
Best Western & Hotel
#34 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#26 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Ostermalm
Scandic Anglais
Scandic Anglais
#76 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Address: Birger Jarlsgatan 21, Stockholm 111 87, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Kung Carl, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#43 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#44 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel offers modern comforts and amenities, set in the Financial and Commercial center of the city; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Stockholm
Stockholm Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing