We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome - this hotel really doesn't give a shame to the king's name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #59 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Konstanz, Germany
1 review
“awesome - this hotel really doesn't give a shame to the king's name”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Ok, I had a very special room - upgraded without any request.
It was awesome, the room, he atmosphere, even the service soved a small problem with the receipt address quick and uncomplicated, simply via email.
Breakfast was also delicious, and nothing important missed, the room is small but the atmosphere is also phantastic..

Room Tip: First have a look at the room and remain it untouched until you decide to take it or ask politely fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaraldL630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    316
    94
    51
    16
See reviews for
105
212
33
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I arrived 7 AM on a Sunday morning , having no sleep the night before, I needed a room then and there at 7 AM (My check in time was 3 PM) got a small little room, but a room at 7 AM.
Could have upgraded my room to what was booked at a later point, but then I had to repack my stuff so I was in this little room by my own will. The room was facing the street on the 5th floor and had no problem with street noises. The phone in the was not working OK so I used the one at the front desk (Guess most have cellphones and never use regular phones ? ).
The reason I give this hotel 5 stars is the front desk. Pauline, Jenny and all of you.

Thanks,
Lennart Dahlstrom

Atlantic Highlands, NJ, USA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lennart0259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I visited Stockholm again on a business trip. I have been using this hotel for years now as it is very conveniently located at the beginning of a main pedestrian street and close to where I am heading. People working there are always very helpful and polite, breakfast is fine but rooms are very small (at least single rooms). A decent hotel for you to choose if you do not intend to stay in for long.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petra82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian O, Director of Sales at Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us during your trips to Stockholm! Our room categories vary in size, so for your next trip, please feel free to contact me directly at christian.ostlundh@hkchotels.se and I will be happy to guide you to find the room category that best suits your needs.

Kind regards

Christian Östlundh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was back in Stockholm for another visit, and decided to give Kung Carl another chance to win me over.

And win me over, he did!

First of all, there is still a mismatch between the ordering system my company offers for booking hotels, so I did not know what to expect when I showed up on monday evening this week. Jennifer, the nice and competent girl servicing me in the reception, quickly had me checked in and upgraded to a very nice and spacious double room, much to my surprise.

The room was very tasty in its decoration, not the same horrifying decor as my last visit, and with the windows facing away from the always-busy Birger Jarls Gatan. It quickly dawned on my, that my expectations for my first visit a few months back, simply were wrong. Kung Carl offers a unique experience for almost every room in the hotel, offering an invitation to come back and try another room, and then another!

I still stand by my advise to ask for a room as high as possible, facing away from Birger Jarls Gatan - I even recommend you to pay a little extra for this, if needed. Apart from that, Kung Carl has definitely grown on me, and this has not been my last visit.

The last "star", keeping Kung Carl from gaining all 5 stars, is because of lack of available tv channels (sorry, I guess I'm a bit spoiled and not having Discovery available was a bit of a let-down :-/) as well as the lack of a pool/spa (I know, this will never happen in such an old building as the one Kung Carl is located in).

Room Tip: Again, ask for a room as high as possible and away from Birger Jarls Gatan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasperH4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff- I arrived at 1am and still found a nice welcome.
The only issue I had was with the room size. As above, I found the room very small, even after an upgrade. It was ok for me as I was on business, with hand luggage only. But a couple would have found this room too small. Disappointing, given this was not a cheap room.
Everything else about this hotel is very satisfactory. E.g staff, service, breakfast, location...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macca07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian O, Director of Sales at Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us. We do have small and large rooms, in total we have 9 categories covering small single rooms, classic single rooms, classic double rooms, superior double rooms, family rooms, deluxe double rooms, deluxe bath rooms, junior suite, and last but not least one suite.

I would be very grateful if you wouldn’t mind getting back to me directly with your name (or room number), so that we can review whether the room you stayed in is definitely correctly categorised. My e-mail is christian.ostlundh@hkchotels.se.

Many thanks again and I wish you a great day.
 
Kind regards  

Christian Östlundh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel has a unique style - all rooms are different, with individual decor. The room I had was reasonably spacious, but was very poorly lit - very small window, and room lighting was from silly "Eco" lights (read: low watt, low power, low light). It was barely light enough to work at the desk.

Bed was reasonably comfortable, but was initially made up as two twins pushed together, rather than as a double that I'd booked, so I had to get the bed re-made up as a double - twin mattresses were not joined, so every morning I awoke to find the two halves had started to part. Also, even after the bed was re-made into a double, only twin quilts were provided. Pillows were not feather, very soft and left me with a stiff neck each morning.

The bathroom was functional, but water pressure in the shower was dry poor. Towels provided were limited, no face clothes were provided, and on my last night, only one bath towel was provided.

Breakfast (inc in my rate) was nothing special - the usual continental menu, with a couple of hot dishes. The restaurant in the evening was always busy, but I didn't eat there, as the one time I tried to, I was told no tables were available!

One thing that was very good was Internet connectivity - it's free, available throughout the hotel, with good connections everywhere, and fast - very fast (sometimes I was getting 80-90MB/s downloads!)

Overall, not somewhere I'd recommend. The facilities, room comfort and amenities do not justify the price paid (almost £200/night).

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank cb2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian O, Director of Sales at Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback. If it is not too much trouble, would it perhaps be possible for you to let us know the room number of the room you stayed in? We would very much like to look into the items you describe and fix any faults. I can be reached on christian.ostlundh@hkchotels.se and I would be very grateful for your help.

Many thanks in advance.

Kind regards
Christian Östlundh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The room was on top floor and coziest hotel room I have seen. Spacy enough, good wifi, clean bathroom and shower. Only minus was the big video ad across the street which was blinking through the curtains at night.


Breakfast was disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Tero K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#61 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western & Hotel
Best Western & Hotel
#34 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#26 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Ostermalm
Scandic Anglais
Scandic Anglais
#76 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Address: Birger Jarlsgatan 21, Stockholm 111 87, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Kung Carl, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#43 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#44 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel offers modern comforts and amenities, set in the Financial and Commercial center of the city; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Stockholm
Stockholm Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing