We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For Arlanda Express Riders Only.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel C Stockholm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel C Stockholm
Ranked #34 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
677 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,857 helpful votes
“For Arlanda Express Riders Only.”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

LOCATION - Nordic Sea Hotel is the absolute best location you can have for riding the Arlanda Express train to the airport. It is right next to it, just a few steps away. However, if you are not riding Arlanda Express, it may not be the right location for you. For example, if you're riding the Bus and not Arlanda Express train, then Kungsbron Hotel is probably a better choice, though this is still quite convenient. If you are riding the Regional Train (SJ), then Hotel Terminus or one of the Radisson Hotels is a better choice, because this is at the opposite end of the very large train station from the central station. Nordic Light Hotel is literally across the street, so that too is a good choice for location to Arlanda Express. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Arlanda Express (we had an early morning train to the airport the next day) and in that it did not disappoint. Very convenient.

HOTEL - The hotel is a modern-styled Swedish "Design Hotel". There is a big aquarium in the lobby which is a nice touch. It is a middle-of-the-road type hotel with no bell service, simple furnishings (IKEA-style), with few amenities, but does have a restaurant and a bar. The bar keeps short hours though, so you may need to go around the corner to The Bishop's Arms pub for a drink after about 10:30 PM. I'd say imagine a Holiday Inn Express with a restaurant.

ROOMS - The rooms have three sizes - small, really small, and microscopic. The microscopic ones are the express rooms with single beds, these are for the budget traveler to sleep a few hours and get on the train the next morning. Some do not have windows, which is brutal in the summer because there is no Air Conditioning in the rooms. The smallest rooms are about 10 sq m (107 SF), with single beds or bunkbeds. The standard size is 18 sq m (193 SF), while the superior rooms can be between 22 and 30 sq m (236 SF to 322 SF). The superior rooms are recommended for more than one person, as the 18 sq m standard room we stayed in was really pretty claustrophobic for 2 people and a bunch of luggage.

The rooms do not have Air Conditioning, which in summertime makes it extremely humid and difficult to sleep. All but the smallest rooms have one window that opens, which is a must if it's warm or humid, but then you open it and you have the city noises keeping you up instead. The furnishings are typical Swedish business-class wood, with a small desk and an old-style CRT 20" television. The bed was hard and springy, the pillows were lumpy, and without any air flow or ventilation except the open window and its associated noise, sleep did not come easy. We would probably opt for a hotel with A/C if we were staying in the summertime again, though these are not easy to come by for less than $300 USD a night. Our standard room was $216 per night, an outrageous price for a room of this quality, but that's Sweden.

FOOD - We did not try the restaurant, and the breakfast starts serving at 7:00 AM, the time our train left so we didn't get to have the breakfast we paid for either. They offered a "box breakfast" which we accepted, but consisted of a banana and a tiny stale sandwich that was not edible.

BAR - The bar keeps strange hours, very short and even shorter than advertised. They literally kicked out everyone out of a full bar a half hour before closing.

In addition to the regular lobby bar, there is the Ice Bar, a popular tourist attraction. The Ice Bar is modeled after the one at the Ice Hotel in Jukkasjarvi, but is a pale comparison. For a whopping 190 SEK ($30.00) per person, you get admission to the ice bar, one small drink, and a cloak that semi-covers you so that you can be in the cold room. The ice bar itself is just a meat locker with nowhere to sit but a couple of small ice-benches, a small ice bar to stand at, and a couple ice sculptures. Enough room for only about 20 people to be in at a time comfortably, standing.

You will need to reserve a space in the ice bar, as it is frequented by tour groups and walk-ins are sometimes difficult. Supposedly you get a 40 SEK discount if you're a hotel guest, but that was not offered to us, and then when we found out they told us too bad, it's too late now, so make sure to point that out when you arrive. Once inside, you are quite cold, even with the cloak they give you, so average stay inside is about 10 minutes. They will kick you out after about a half-hour or so to make room for the next group. Essentially you go in, drink your drink quickly, take a few photos and leave within about 10 minutes. If you've ever been to the real ice hotel you'll want to save your money, there is nothing here for you, the real one is leagues more impressive and fun. However, if you've never seen an ice bar, and probably never will see another one, it might be worth it for a quick photo op. Quite a scam, $60 for 10 minutes and 2 drinks, but oh well. If we had it to do over again, we wouldn't have bothered. Don't let that deter you from the real Ice Hotel though, the real one is quite cool, and well worth the visit. Nobody who goes to the Ice Bar ever goes back, I think, it's a 1-photo-op-wonder only.

BUSINESS - There are conference rooms here, and free wi-fi in the rooms worked well. The desk is fine for one person to work at, but nowhere for a second person. Easy access to Arlanda Express, taxis, etc to go to business meetings. A better hotel if you're by yourself I think.

Overall, we had a pretty poor experience at Nordic Sea, a bad night's sleep in a tiny room with no A/C, no breakfast, ripped off at the Ice Bar, and kicked out of the lobby bar a half hour early. For this, we paid a premium price of over $200 a night at what felt like not much more than a hostel. But, it was convenient to the train, so if none of this sounds like a problem, and a quick overnight before Arlanda Express is what you need, this is a good bet. If you're looking for a location to sightsee around Stockholm for a few days in the summertime, keep looking, or at least do a Superior Room.

Room Tip: If more than 1 night or 1 person, book a Superior Room. Don't book Express Room with no windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordicsea, Front Office Manager at Hotel C Stockholm, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Johann&Sandra,

I would lite to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location, I would say it's about the same distance if you arrive by train our bus.

We have a big renovation coming up at the end of this year that will give us a complete new and fresh design. Our bar has shorter opening hours during the summer period, our staff are more than happy to give tips and suggestions to other places to go once the bar has closed.

I'm sorry to hear that you felt that our rooms were to small, with our new design coming up we have smarter solutions giving the rooms more space.

Breakfast is always included in the rate, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have time to try our breakfast and that you were not satisfied with the take away breakfast.

It's hard to compare the Icebar with the Icehotel up in Jukkasjärvi, but if you do not have the possibility to go to the Icehotel the Icebar is a good experience, as a hotel guest you get a discount of 40 SEK, I would recommed you to contact us so that we can give you back the money that you paid extra. When you make a reservation you can only stay for 45 min, this is because there is limited space and the Icebar is really popular so we need to have slot times.

I'm really sorry to hear about your experience, I would really like you to contact me if you have the possibility. I'm certain that we could give you a better experience if you decide to return.

Best Regards,

Michael Kjellander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    976
    374
    108
    66
See reviews for
319
718
177
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We've lived in Stockholm, so know the actual city very well. This hotel is very much in the centre, so the location is really good.

We stayed with our two small children who slept on the "sofa" bed (=made of a sofa and an extra bed beside it) which was ok and they slept well enough. The room, even though it was one of the bigger ones, was rather small. When the sofa bed was there, you really couldn't use the lounge area of the room for anything else. The television was in the lounge area and there was no way to watch it from the bed, so this made it a bit difficult (didn't watch any tv after the first night). We stayed for six nights, so having an extra space for sitting down as a family would have been nice. Other than that, the room was nice and clean. The room was spotless all through our stay and the bathroom - with a bath tub - was very nice and recently renovated. One thing was that when they changed the handkerchiefs they kept on missing the fact that there were four people staying in the room - the first night we got four big handkerchiefs and four little, when they were changed there were three big ones and the third time only two... Phoning the reception did help immediately with this problem, though. :)

There was a lovely big playroom for children in the conference area (it seems that it is only used during vacation periods). All the material was new and the room was nicely decorated, our kids really enjoyed it!

The breakfast was plentiful and nice but the breakfast room was so full of people that the hassle made it a bit uncomfortable. All the staff were nice. One thing would have been nice, though: to be helped with the high chair when I was alone with two kids and had to leave them alone waiting for me to get the high chair (of which there were plenty, which was good).

Since we were travelling with children, we didn't try the Icebar. For the location, we would stay again, if one of the neigbouring nicer hotels didn't have a vacancy (as was the reason for us staying here this time).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordicsea, Front Office Manager at Hotel C Stockholm, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Eabroad,

Thank you for all your feedback!

I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed our playroom, our staff has put alot of effort and time into making it, I will pass on your positive feedback to the two members of our conference staff who decorated it.

I'm sorry to hear about the problems you had with the towels, I will make sure that we take actions to prevent it from happening in the future. During rush hour at breakfast it unfortunately gets a bit crowded from time to time, we have an upcoming renovation that will take care of that problem by giving us a much larger breakfast area and also a better solution regarding the actual breakfast buffet.

I hope that you decide to return to us again!

Best Regards,

Michael Kjellander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The location could not be better. Close to everything in the city centre. Walking distance to many of the places you want to see. The standard room is good. No luxury but everything you expect from a modern hotel in terms of functionality. The beds from the famous Swedish brand "Hästens" are wonderful! You couldn't sleep better. The view from the rooms was just the wall of the coach terminal.

Service was OK and the breakfast is very good. Not as crowded as it usually is in hotel breakfast rooms. Plenty to choose from, both hot and cold items, but if you have a sweet tooth there was not much to find on the buffet!

Two drawbacks:
1. The hotel bar seemed to close at different times than stated in the hotel information.
2. The relax/sauna room is located in the sister hotel across the street, and not even IN that hotel, but in the basement of a connecting building.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swede1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We took the high speed train from the airport (also good & fast.
They had a summer special ) because cabs are quite expensive.
the hotel was right there we left the terminal and walked into the lobby.
The wonderful staff gave us our room early, small but clean. Location
and breakfasts which was included couldn't have been better.
Free wifi in the room. Wish I had a reason to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordicsea, Front Office Manager at Hotel C Stockholm, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear thomasHawaii,

I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Nordic Sea Hotel.

I hope to see you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Michael Kjellander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after reviewing others. We picked it due to price and location. Other reviews stated that the rooms were small and possibly did not have windows. On booking we requested a room with a view--there are no views as such but we had an opening window and our room was of a good size with everything you would expect of a modern hotel.it was very clean and the full bath/shower was excellent. The position for the price really is a plus. Stockholm is not cheap so the price was good value. you are not in Gamla Stan but are only 5 minutes easy walk away. from all the old town attractions and resturants. The breakfast in the Nordic Sea consists of a wide choice and the only small niggle is that the rather nice unsliced white breads dissapeared by 8:15am. This still left rather 'worthy' rye breads etc but they are not the same with your fried eggs.
The hotel has Stockholm's only Ice Bar, we did not visit but the entrance price of 190kr (£19) with first drink seemed reasonable for Sweden.
Overall I would recommend anybody to stay here and would certainly return on future visists.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and check the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian111England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordicsea, Front Office Manager at Hotel C Stockholm, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Ian111England,

It's good to hear that you were satisfied with your room and the cleaning. I'm sorry to hear about the white bread disapearing, I will of course bring this to the attention of the breakfast manager.

As a hotel guest you have a discount on the Icebar and the entrance fee is 150 SEK including the first drink.

I hope to see you as our guest in the future aswell.

Best regards,

Michael Kjellander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very functional all in all , a bit impersonal though . Check in staff were lovely , room was a good standard for the price . Breakfast was a bit dull though and far too busy to be relaxing. Conclusion is very good for the train & a good standard for a discount rate , but a little boring.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joancollins69
Level Contributor
160 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The cabin was small but cosey & clean. The beds fine though the pillows were lumpy, not that I addressed this with the lovely staff. Shower excellent and was great to get an iron which other motels lacked in Spain. Ice bar was ok & the breakfast teetered on healthy, great for meat lovers but veggos won't go hungry, very busy in there. Great location for airport arrival & tourist info a 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joancollins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordicsea, Front Office Manager at Hotel C Stockholm, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear joancollins69,

Thank you for your kind words, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Michael Kjellander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#28 of 157 in Stockholm
1,339 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 157 in Stockholm
1,101 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 157 in Stockholm
710 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#15 of 157 in Stockholm
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel C Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel C Stockholm

Property: Hotel C Stockholm
Address: Vasaplan 4, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden (Formerly Nordic Sea Hotel)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel C Stockholm 4*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel C Stockholm offers you the key to Stockholm. You'll find us in the city centre, right by the Central Station and Arlanda Airport Express train. The city's major attractions are within walking distance. We offer 367 rooms with a modern design inspired by the waters of Stockholm, providing you with all the service you expect, plus that little bit extra. Stockholm's coolest bar: ICEBAR by ICEHOTEL Stockholm is also located at Hotel C Stockholm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel C Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nordic Sea
Nordic Sea Stockholm
Nordic Sea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing