We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in July of 2012. We loved it! We are a family of 4 with 2 teenage daughters. The ship was magnificent. We sat up on the deck at night and had a chance to mingle with other guests. The view from the deck of the city was awesome. We walked to all the museums , it's very well situated. The ship was clean and the staff was very helpful. Our daughters, being teenagers, were hesitant to stay at a hostle, but they found it great fun!
Hope this is helpful to someone, safe travels!!!

Room Tip: Request the v berth for a group of 4 or more!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 364 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were 2 couples who had rooms on the ship on the top level (which is really nice as you only share toilet and shower facilities with a few other rooms). Rooms are simple but clean and we enjoyed the fun of being on a ship with a porthole window. The check-in was great and the staff is very helpful. We ate breakfast and the price is worth the many choices you have. We also ate dinner both evenings and that was quite nice too. We would recommend a stay here. Just know that rooms are small. It is in easy walking distance to sites in downtown Stockholm, but we did use a taxi for arrival from the airport and also for departure.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the ship rather than on land just for the novelty of it. I think getting the do...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Bug-369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I spent a night in Stf Af Chapman, Stockholm.
The personal was very correct, the boat is splendid, well situated,
The interior of the boat seems clean BUT during the night i get bitten almost 50 times by flea, it was a nightmare on the morning.
I was refund by the team, they were nice with me, but it took me almost one week to recover : theItch was unbearable: all my body was covered by flea sting with inflammation:
Thank you Stf Af Chapman !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Really good place. Stayed in the land building for two nights in a 6-people room. As we arrived before 3pm, they let us leave our luggage in a locked room for no extra fee. The room was clean and the bathrooms and showers were good. It was a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JobHenrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is the best place to have a cup of coffee and a glass of wine on a sunny day. I have not seen the accommodation but the boat and the staff are really nice. we did try the food few times....and the grill is excellent but the salad bar is ok. Love the view of Gamla Stan and fancy yacht that just keep coming in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights here staying in a family room on the boat, with our 3 children. We all thought it was a great adventure. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. We thought the kitchen was quite small but we got round that by cooking our tea at 5pm before it got too crowded. Excellent location in terms of being able to walk into Stockholm, but also peaceful on the island of Sheppsholmen itself. We would definitely recommend this for a memorable trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Location
As this is a speciality hostel (a ship!), it was located on an island, which is served by only by one bus. If you take the T-bana (metro), the nearest stop is about 500m away, and can be quite a pain to walk with baggages. That said, it is still close to the heart of Stockholm and a short public transport ride to T-centralen (the central bus, train, metro terminal which has links to almost everywhere, including the airport).

Room / common area
If you are staying at this hostel, choose the rooms on the ship! This certainly gives a different hostelling experience. The ship is anchored but still moves slightly with the waves (do not worry, no big waves), and the view from the ship and off the ship are amazing.
The rooms are understandably small and squeezy as they used to be cabins on the ship, but the common toilets were very spacious. The rooms were clean and simple, perhaps reflecting what it would have been like to live on a ship.
The common areas like the kitchen (important because eating out is expensive in Sweden) are located in the main building off the ship, so it can be a hassle when cooking. Of course, the novelty of staying on the ship does make up for this hassle. :)

Staff
Friendly and helpful, with no complaints.

Overall, a hostel with a difference as published. The ship does make good photo opportunities (especially after dark).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheep1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#98 of 154 in Stockholm
266 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,321 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel

Address: 8 Flaggmansvaegen, Stockholm 111 49, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: $32 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Skeppsholmen island in Stockholm, this STF hostel is split between a late 1800s ship called Af Chapman and former navy barracks called Hantverkshuset. Moderna Museum and East Asia Museum within walking distance. Guest can choose from guest rooms or ship cabins. The guest rooms located in the main building feature large windows, high ceiling and views of the water or park. Some of the ship cabins have a small sitting area and a small window with a city view. Both options include access to shared bathroom facilities. Guests can enjoy a traditional Swedish breakfast buffet. The on-site cafe serves light meals. There is also a shared kitchen where guests can prepare own meals. During June to August, guests can relax on the sun deck on Af Chapman. The Ostasiatiska Museet Bus Stop is 150 m from the hostel. Kungstradgarden Metro Station is 10 minutes’ walk from STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen. Welcome to visit STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Af Chapman Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing