We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our coffee boat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our coffee boat”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is the best place to have a cup of coffee and a glass of wine on a sunny day. I have not seen the accommodation but the boat and the staff are really nice. we did try the food few times....and the grill is excellent but the salad bar is ok. Love the view of Gamla Stan and fancy yacht that just keep coming in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    132
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
58
61
77
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights here staying in a family room on the boat, with our 3 children. We all thought it was a great adventure. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. We thought the kitchen was quite small but we got round that by cooking our tea at 5pm before it got too crowded. Excellent location in terms of being able to walk into Stockholm, but also peaceful on the island of Sheppsholmen itself. We would definitely recommend this for a memorable trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Location
As this is a speciality hostel (a ship!), it was located on an island, which is served by only by one bus. If you take the T-bana (metro), the nearest stop is about 500m away, and can be quite a pain to walk with baggages. That said, it is still close to the heart of Stockholm and a short public transport ride to T-centralen (the central bus, train, metro terminal which has links to almost everywhere, including the airport).

Room / common area
If you are staying at this hostel, choose the rooms on the ship! This certainly gives a different hostelling experience. The ship is anchored but still moves slightly with the waves (do not worry, no big waves), and the view from the ship and off the ship are amazing.
The rooms are understandably small and squeezy as they used to be cabins on the ship, but the common toilets were very spacious. The rooms were clean and simple, perhaps reflecting what it would have been like to live on a ship.
The common areas like the kitchen (important because eating out is expensive in Sweden) are located in the main building off the ship, so it can be a hassle when cooking. Of course, the novelty of staying on the ship does make up for this hassle. :)

Staff
Friendly and helpful, with no complaints.

Overall, a hostel with a difference as published. The ship does make good photo opportunities (especially after dark).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheep1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Part of this hostel is on an old ship, the remainder in a building a few steps away. (I stayed in the building ) The hostel is very near Gamla Stan (Old Town), central Stockholm, many museums and tour boats.

Services are good, they offer bike rentals, laundry, good information about the area, free WiFi and friendly staff. Breakfast was an extra 70 SEK, I'd rate it "above average" but not as good as the suburb breakfast at the STF Fridhemsplan hostel that I'd stayed at a week earlier. (Given the trade-off between the breakfast and location, I'd probably choose af Chapmann for my next trip)

At first glance I thought the number of shower facilities would be inadequate, however, the hostel was full when I was there and I never experienced any wait.

There is an on-site cafe in addition to the breakfast room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrell_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Af Chapmann is used for marketing but part of the rooms are in a little old dated building nearby. Rooms are spacipus but very basic with dirty plastic carpets.

Reserve only if you are sure to get place in the boat!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_homefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed just for one night and partied in the city nightclub.
We liked the location very much, it was walking distance to everywhere despite that it is kind of isolated on this cute small island. The hostel is clean, the staff is friendly, the view from our window was definitely worth the money. breakfast is nothing special but all necessary is there. Although it was said that this is International Youth hostel, i think i mostly saw scandinavian families staying there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maksim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
298 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed in this hostel with a friend and we stayed in the dorm accommodation on the ship. I can't remember exactly how many beds there were but I can remember at least 6 and it is coed. The sheets and towels were included in the price 315SEK (May 2011) and there was also a washbasin in the room. The communal toilets and showers were clean as well.
The best part about this hostel is that it is centrally located... about 5-10 minute walk over the bridge to Gamla Stan and you also have a perfect view of Gamla Stan and the Royal Palace at all times of the day from the boat.
There was also a bus stop right outside the building part of the hostel. The reception can also guide you to a communal luggage room that you can only access by key (although it is communal and no cameras or security).

Would still recommend this hostel for its amazing location and the fact you are staying on an 18th Century boat!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 157 in Stockholm
1,254 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 157 in Stockholm
1,781 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#92 of 157 in Stockholm
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#6 of 62 in Stockholm
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel

Property: STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel
Address: 8 Flaggmansvaegen, Stockholm 111 49, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Skeppsholmen island in Stockholm, this STF hostel is split between a late 1800s ship called Af Chapman and former navy barracks called Hantverkshuset. Moderna Museum and East Asia Museum within walking distance. Guest can choose from guest rooms or ship cabins. The guest rooms located in the main building feature large windows, high ceiling and views of the water or park. Some of the ship cabins have a small sitting area and a small window with a city view. Both options include access to shared bathroom facilities. Guests can enjoy a traditional Swedish breakfast buffet. The on-site cafe serves light meals. There is also a shared kitchen where guests can prepare own meals. During June to August, guests can relax on the sun deck on Af Chapman. The Ostasiatiska Museet Bus Stop is 150 m from the hostel. Kungstradgarden Metro Station is 10 minutes’ walk from STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen. Welcome to visit STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Af Chapman Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing