We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room above nightclub...did not sleep and reception was fully aware but did not do anything about it”
Review of Berns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Berns Hotel
Ranked #67 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room above nightclub...did not sleep and reception was fully aware but did not do anything about it”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you need a good night sleep, go somewhere else the nightclub of the hotel is really loud and they will not tell you this when you book or check-in. They only offer ear plugs once you complain....and tell you to take it with the manager the next morning...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevebosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaBengtsson, Hotel Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest,

I apologize that we failed to fulfill your expectations during your stay with us. We always try to be clear, both during booking and over check in, of the fact that Berns is a popular entertainment destination that is centrally located. We have clearly failed to do so in this instance and I can thus only apologize once again.

Best Regards,
Anna Bengtsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    244
    80
    48
    30
See reviews for
61
229
48
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel is located in a great location in very old beautiful building with two good restaurants. Bistro in the park across the st and Asian inside which turns into a very loud night club at night. Our room was supposedly one of the more quiet but after club closes at 3 a.m., all of the drunkards yelled outside which woke us up. There is a charming bar on the rooftop but make a reservation as has limited space. The rooms and bathrooms are small and we had a superior room. I would be in fear to see the standard ones. The worst is that there is no air conditioning which is a first for us. The price was quite high for such a mediocre stay. The beds and
linens were nice but the wall photography was so offensive, we had to temporarily remove from our walls. The decor needs help! The location is great so I would recommend if you aren't used to the best and get a great price.

Room Tip: 510 was a superior room with small living area. You can open the windows for fresh air but close bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toxaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaBengtsson, Hotel Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review. Your feedback is very important for us. Because of the short season it is very uncommon to have air conditioning in the hotels in Scandinavia. However we do have an air cooler system and also fans to put into the rooms when our air cooler is not satisfactory enough. Regarding the wall photography we feel appreciation of art is subjective although I am very sorry you found it offensive.
I look forward to welcome you back to Berns Hotel,

Best Regards,
Anna Bengtsson
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've never been in Stockholm before, I was a little bit scary for the place, the language and all the ideas we usually made in a brand new place.
But when I arrived Berns Hotel they make me feel so comfortable to explore the city helping me with maps, electric converters and an umbrella.
Always asking for my needs and tastes...
The bistro and restaurant are amazing, visually, architectonic and of course because the fantastic food.

But the best of all is the great service of each member of the hotel.

I don't miss home, I miss Berns! (Well, I don't miss home because I came back)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morlesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaBengtsson, Hotel Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your nice words, we miss you too.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Berns Hotel

Warm Regards,
Anna Bengtsson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The city is so beautiful that one should walk around to soak up all the beauty and architecture and that exactly what you can do if you stay at this hotel. The best thing about the hotel was its location, it was so very close to all the site seeing, good restaurants, shopping district. The breakfast was really good with lots of variety and the perfect view of the garden. Their restaurant serves excellent Thai food and they have a nightclub that is extremely popular but I could not find time to visit it. The vibe of the hotel is quiet Moulin Rouge-ish with nude art all around the lobby and the remarkable staircase that’s the center piece of the lobby until you get to the rooms. The room was extremely small with hardly any space to even keep my luggage. Don’t even think of an extra bed or a child in the room. The room was well planned and had all the amenities (TV, work station, closet) but not enough space to walk 10 steps. Having said that it would be comfortable for a cozy couple or a solo traveler and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SapnaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is nice and central. We walked everywhere on foot and never had to rent a bike, car or use public transport. Its a beautiful city to explore on foot so worth staying here to be central to most sights.

There are great shopping streets around the hotel. Its near a couple cute parks. The old town isn't far to walk and lots of nice old buildings on the way.

The staff were very friendly and professional and looked after everything easily.

The rooms on the website looked more "designer/boutique" than the one we got given. I know its a very old hotel, but they were a tad on the small size and more plainly designed than the pictures we saw on the site which looked quite contemporary and funky. We did only get the basic room but still was hoping for more of that funky Danish design.

The bar/restaurant in the same building also happens to one of the city's favourite spots and popular night club so that was handy having that downstairs.

Overall enjoyed my stay...everything was clean, tidy, organised and friendly.

Thanks Berns hotel for a great stay. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaBengtsson, Hotel Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for you nice feedback. You stayed in a standard rom, that unfortunately was the only category we hadn’t yet refurbished during you stay. But I can happily say that it is refurbished since 1st of June so the whole hotel now has a stylish design.
I look forward to welcome you back to explore our newly renovated hotel.

Warm Regards,

Anna Bengtsson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sverige
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel. Great location. Lots of life and amazing lunch rooms with great nightlife. Rooms a little old though. Service was nice and friendly. Breakfast is expensive and not really worth the money. The biggest negative was temperature. Extremely warm in room. Bed however really comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaBengtsson, Hotel Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking you time to write this review. You feedback is very important for us. I am happy that you like our beds and thought the hotel was good. It is very sad to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast. We get a lot of nice comments from guests who love our breakfast buffet. Regarding the temperature, one only needs to contact the front desk. We have both fans and heaters to put into the rooms when our air cooler is not satisfactory enough.

Warm Regards,
Anna Bengtsson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I would describe our experience as positive overall, but with room for improvement. The hotel's location is excellent - particularly for the beautiful old town, staff are warm and friendly and the bar serves up impressive cocktails. However, the bathroom was a bit small and the showers need improvement (ours was leaky and not fixed despite a mention at reception) ; not a lot of English TV channels and we did not get a turn in service in the evenings which was a bit surprising (most other hotels we have stayed in clean the room in the morning and also tidy it up once in the evening). These are niggles that can fixed easily and should help improve an establishment which has a lot of positives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMohinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaBengtsson, Hotel manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review. Your feedback is very important for us. I apologize for not taking care of you leak fast enough something we of course always strive to do. Regarding the TV channels I absolutely agree, we will look over the assortment to offer a more attractive choice for all our guests. Turn down is a very nice service but actually not that common in hotels in Scandinavia, maybe something we will implement in the future.

I look forward to welcome you back to Berns Hotel,

Best Regards,
Anna Bengtsson
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#21 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#25 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berns Hotel

Property: Berns Hotel
Address: 8 Naeckstroemsgatan | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#48 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berns Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best-kept secrets in Stockholm. Located in a central city alley, Berns Hotel is a premium boutique hotel full of modern design. At the same time it is part of the legendary house of Berns dating back to 1863. Maybe it's the secret entrance that has made guests such as Rihanna, Bill Gates, Noomi Rapace and Dalai Lama pass through the doors. Or maybe it's the majestic breakfast hall with crystal chandeliers and mirrors. Either way, Berns Hotel is known for excellent service.Berns Hotel also opens the doors to Stockholm's hottest nightlife. When your stay include days from Wednesday to Saturday you will get a VIP wristband allowing you to jump the queues to the best nightclubs of the central city. You may also sleep in the morning after and receive a refreshing Bloody Mary before your late check-out. Private parking is found nearby and costs 550 SEK per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Berns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berns Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing