We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very cozy boutique hotel in Stockholm central”
Review of Berns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Berns Hotel
Ranked #67 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A very cozy boutique hotel in Stockholm central”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with a high level of service. Its locataion is superb, the rooms are nice and the bed/pillows are very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaladaVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    252
    84
    52
    30
See reviews for
68
246
50
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I still don't know if it was the people I was with or the place, but I can say I had a fabulous time there. A swedish musician was singing and we had a great dinner.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

On a second trip to Stockholm in 16 months, the Berns Hotel was our favourite choice having had a very good experience there the first time. Although our room this time was much smaller, it was no less comfortable and the better view compensated for space! The staff are always helpful, relaxed, have a great sense of humour but top this off with style & finesse. The location is fantastic. As Stockholm is so wonderful for walking, we could easily find our way back purely due to the landmarks nearby. We liked the food in the Berns Bistro best which is outside & at the front of the hotel, more so than the 'Asian fusion' food in the main restaurant. Breakfast is sumptuous and as healthy or decadent as you choose. Great service from all staff. Thank you again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the noise of the disco. We didn't have a problem with this but our friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed for one night only. Location is great, the rooms are nice. Bar and restaurant are the real things that make this place cool although with quite some patina. We arrived quite late and there were cardboard boxes stapled next to our room for repairs of the neighbour room. That gave it a messy appearance. People are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hublis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK South West
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, the staff are nice, the Asian restaurant serves great food and the rooms (certainly the one I stayed in) are modern and well equipped, but... the hotel is also a nightclub and unless you are on the top floor, everything in the room rattles along to the huge bass line which there is simply no way you are going to be able to sleep through.

If you're in Stockholm on business, come for the food but stay in another hotel, if you're here for pleasure then you may enjoy it.

Room Tip: You need to stay on the higher floors else you'll be awake all night listening to music from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtjwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2012

While on a business trip to Stockholm I had occasion to stay at the Berns Hotel in the center of Stockholm. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful and most significantly a colleague of mine from UK, who was not a guest at the Berns, and who was in need of medical care, was the beneficiary of their unique approach to service. At my request and on behalf of my colleague the hotel arranged for a physician to come to the hotel to treat my friend. Again he was not a guest, I was, but the staff did not blink when we asked for their help. They made a room available for the physician to use and managed the entire process promptly and with great care.

The hotel itself is a beautiful boutique, very popular with the late night crowd insofar as it's dance club is concerned (though I slept soundly throughout each night). The bar and restaurant are expansive and the lunch and dinner traffic high. Sushi was excellent in the Asian-themed restaurant. I took a fairly small room facing the interior but there was a small balcony with french doors to allow air and light into the room. The facilities have a somewhat maritime theme and the service, food and facilities were very, very nice. There was some construction taking place on my floor but only well into the morning did work begin and each day the mess made by the workmen was cleared and cleaned.

Given the care they provided my colleague and the high level of service, I highly recommend the Berns!

Room Tip: Choose a larger room, the smaller rooms are nice but very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chronway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Good:

1. Nice big room with a large balcony overlooking the garden with views of the harbour, nice design.
2. AsiaTiska restaurant, a very nice room and good (but expensive) drinks.
3. Superb location

Bad:

1. Very laid back style. Few staff about. No porter, lug your own bags up to your room! No dedicated concierge but the front of house staff were very helpful.
2. AsiaTiska restaurant, not that impressive food-wise
3. Generally a little tired looking, could do with a touch up
4. Noise from a music festival/the street-food restaurant/club was really loud at night and kept us up a couple of the nights.

Room Tip: Beware the noise at night from the restaurant/club downstairs. We may have just been unlucky with ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,374 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
319 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,260 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berns Hotel

Property: Berns Hotel
Address: 8 Naeckstroemsgatan | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#47 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berns Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best-kept secrets in Stockholm. Located in a central city alley, Berns Hotel is a premium boutique hotel full of modern design. At the same time it is part of the legendary house of Berns dating back to 1863. Maybe it's the secret entrance that has made guests such as Rihanna, Bill Gates, Noomi Rapace and Dalai Lama pass through the doors. Or maybe it's the majestic breakfast hall with crystal chandeliers and mirrors. Either way, Berns Hotel is known for excellent service.Berns Hotel also opens the doors to Stockholm's hottest nightlife. When your stay include days from Wednesday to Saturday you will get a VIP wristband allowing you to jump the queues to the best nightclubs of the central city. You may also sleep in the morning after and receive a refreshing Bloody Mary before your late check-out. Private parking is found nearby and costs 550 SEK per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berns Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing