We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Level Contributor
583 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“The most helpful staff!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in July, the breakfasts were really good and the food was labelled - so I knew what I was eating. The staff were fantastic in getting me Bruce Springsteen tickets after I got conned - liaising with locals and helping me search for venues that could also sell tickets, I felt they made my holiday worthwhile and without disappointment and nothing was too hard for them to do. The location was good for access to all local attractions and the boat was a great experience for sleeping. Once again, a big thank you to all the staff, your help was well appreciated.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    394
    142
    25
    12
See reviews for
99
307
137
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Was great to arrive here after two attempts at landing in a blizzard and three hours on bus from airport due to accidents.
Heavy snow gives great atmosphere but after all day trekking through it I was most disapointed that no dinner was available in the restaurant as they were having Yuletide buffets and they are sold out. I would have expected having booked a hotel that advertises its restaurant as part of its attraction that they would at least have advised me in advance I couldn't have dinner here.
Having to walk back into town in snow that comes up over my boots to get a meal is just not good enough. I booked in JUNE - couldn't they have let me know? I was so looking forward to a relaxing dinner and looking out over the sea.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked this reservation as the reviews said the rooms are tiny. Yes, they certainly are but my mom and I thoroughly enjoyed staying here, as it was something different and unusual. The room and bathroom, although very small, were very efficiently laid out. (Great water pressure in the shower by the way). We had bunk beds, which were surprisingly large and comfy. Rooms however are not very soundproof and we could hear our neighbors. Breakfast was excellent, so many hot and cold options to choose from. We also had dinner in the restaurant two nights and had excellent meals both times. Waitstaff was young but knowledgable and very attentive. The location to Gamla Stan can't be beat and we were able to walk and ferry everywhere. Overall, I would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganInQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Picked this "hotel" for price and location
Price is pretty good for area
Location 5 minute plod to Centre
Get your bearings as there is a lot of walkways
I had a single room with my own bathroom room was clean and tidy but dont forget it is a cabin
Reception friendly and helpful
Breakfast is average with cold cuts / cheese / bread / eggs and bacon
Area - 200 metres from Metro station Gamla Stan (head for Riddarholmen exit and keep walkin) there is some construction work in the area
If you arrive at Arlanda Airport you can either use the
Express Train (20 minutes)
Local Trains (35 Minutes)
Bus (45 minutes) Flybussarna This costs 99Kr single trip

Gamla Stan is the old town with loads of little shops / bars / cafes and restaurants

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Really great choice for my first night in Stockholm. Perfectly situated in Old Town. Clean, good service and a great breakfast spread. The price was great also. These are yacht cabins though so small. Great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

On the plus side, this is quirky, is in a great location and breakfast was excellent. On the down side, the rooms and very small (they do tell you this when you book but be ready for a narrow bunk bed and to have to step over your luggage all the as there's nowhere to keep it and little floor space). The wifi didn't work despite being 'fixed' several times during the few days I was there. Staff were apologetic and gave me a small compensation but all in all, not somewhere I'd consider staying again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed there for one night after business trip in Stockholm. The only reason is to experience sleeping on a ship! And it's a ship! Nice decoration, old style and very original. I am impressed with Sauna service that you will get a special room private on the ship. No view but good facility. For the room itself, The bunk bed is small but comfortable. It's strange by sleeping with another bed on top of me though.
If you are adventurer. You should try for your own. With same amount of money you can stay at 4 stars hotel in town but it's totally different. They are unique hotel and I like it.

Room Tip: If you are adventurer. You should try for your own. With same amount of money you can stay at 4 star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K2TravelPhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#94 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#88 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#50 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#52 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Riddarholmen, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Malardrottningen Hotel and Restaurant)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
#23 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#44 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malardrottningen or that the ship is really called: Lady Hutton, began its journey in 1924 and no one knows where or when it ends. With its amazing history, she has managed to take care of Barbara Hutton, the British Navy, traveled around the world and since 1982 moored at Riddarholms Quay. The Yacht has 61 cabins, sauna, restaurant and is perhaps best known for the latter. The restaurant with the beautiful view of Malaren, serves Scandinavian dishes using only the best ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malardrottningen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing