We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider for a novelty accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good location next to old town area.

As could be expected, facilities on an old yacht are restricted in size and, whilst being of good quality, are somewhat cramped.

Air conditioning would have helped ease the lack of air/ventilation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 902 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

check in is fast, efficient and friendly. Location is good, very close to City Hall and where you catch the frries to other islands. The room (cabin) is very small so you have to be creative on where to put your luggage. The bathroom is very small as well as the shower so dont drop your soap or you will have to step out of the shower to pick it up. The water pressure in the shower is great. The sauna is great and clean. The stairs are very steep and narrow so I had some problems getting my luggage downstairs as they do not help you with luggage. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. Breakfast is very good: cold cuts, bacon, eggs breads, pastries, cereal, coffee, tea, juice... They had a few new people working the front desk so when i asked about tourist attractions they did not know of them. They werent even from Sweden. Luckily Tobias that worked the front desk and was new did not hesitate to look up hte ice bar and other attractions. He made reservations at the ice bar for me and got me directions to the ice bar and other attractions. Tobias was the most kind and friendly out of all of the people working there. Thank you Tobias. I had a wonderful stay there. it is close to the train station. the wifi was a hit and miss and did not work in the room so you had to go up by the lobby to make it work. I would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World-wander-woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The location is just excellent, takes 5-10 minutes to the nearest high street and only few minutes from the old town. Cabins are small but very comfortable. This ship has got some history, read about it! Wireless Internet was a bit glitchy tho.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night for a business trip and picked it because of its central location and great price (considering the central location).

Staying in the captain's room, I had a modest sized double bed and a small room with a desk, TV, and a tiny little bathroom - all part of he novelty of staying on an old historic boat. The wifi worked great, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was tasty and kept fresh.

The location of this place is perfect - in a quiet corner in Gamla Stan (the historic old town) and next to one of Stockholm's most impressive and oldest cathedrals. It's also an easy walk to Central Stockholm and the Royal Palace.

I'd definnitely recommend this place for its location and value, but I'd issue a warning that you should expect small rooms as a trade-off for the novelty of staying on a boat.

Room Tip: You should be aware that some of the twin rooms have bunk beds... email them to make sure you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dion-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed in Mälardrottningen Yacht Hotel & Restaurant from 8 to 12 September 2012. A walk from Central Railway Station where I arrived by Arlanda Express to the hotel took about 10 minutes. A day earlier I booked a return Arlanda Express ticket on-line for 441 Sek and showed my credit card as the ticket to the attendant on board.
The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring on foot not just Gamla Stan which is just across the bridge but also Norrmalm and Sodermalm. Even to Djurgarden you can get by foot within 20 to 30 minutes! To take Under the Bridges boat trip you need to walk for just 10 minutes. Slussen if you choose to get to Djurgarden by ferry is also in 10 minutes walk. The hotel location is also perfect for shopping.
The hotel area with the embankment is very quiet and relaxing as there are only court buildings in Riddarholmen and the famous Riddarholmskyrkan. I lived in a Sailor's cabin (room 108) with a lovely view on the Lake Malaren. It was tiny as expected, clean and cosy. Two things I did not like about it: irritating noise from, I suppose, central air conditioning system that was shut off daily at about 11 pm, and distorted TV screen picture as the TV was located almost under the low ceiling of the cabin and you watch it from the bunk. No channels for children too which is quite upsetting as I would like to take my 11 y.o. son next time.
Buffy breakfasts were very nice especially if you sit at the window with a beautiful lake view. I really enjoyed my every morning at the hotel restaurant.
For dinner I once tried there fish of the day with mashed potatoes and mixed berry pie and they were very good. The meal price was much cheaper than at the recommended by Dorling Kindersley travel guide as rather affordable Grill Rubby in Gamla Stan that I did not like at all.
During my 4 days in Stockholm the weather was perfect - sunny and warm. There was an electric heater in the room and I can guess it may be cold sometimes. But I opened the window in the morning and at night every day to get some fresh air. The room was not stuffy at all but it was so nice to feel light breeze coming in.
I would no doubt stay in Mälardrottningen again. Living on a boat is great fun. )))

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessia_XS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I enjoyed my time at this hotel. We had rooms 2020 and 2023. Room 2023 was twice the normal size and faced the dock. Room 2020 was smaller but overlooked the water. We could open the portholes in both rooms.
The hotel was very quiet and all guests seemed to do their best to not make any noise.
The upstairs restaurant was excellent with great service, good food and great value - they gave a 20% discount to people staying at the hotel.
A two course meal (with beer) for two people cost around $80 Australian.
We were tired so got a taxi from Arlanda airport to the hotel and the cost was $71 Australian. Taxis from the airport offer a fixed rate so you know from the start what the total cost will be. The airport is about 42km from the city.
If you want to get from the hotel to or from central station then a taxi will charge around $14 Australian. Taxis are reliable and easy and accept credit cards.
Overall great value, excellent location not your average hotel. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClubSandwichForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The old ship was redesigned as a hotel, but that was long long time ago. There is an old hotel smell, room are smaller then tiny, bunk beds, you hardly can turn around in the room and in the bathroom. Tiny TV that needs to be watched from a certain narrow angle. On the bright site - location - it is in the center of Stockholm, OK service, good breakfast included. I do not know if the price is good or not - there is nothing else I know to compare too. It is a special place to stay - not sure if most visitors will enjoy it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#97 of 155 in Stockholm
279 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
2,360 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
1,389 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#29 of 155 in Stockholm
664 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#48 of 155 in Stockholm
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Riddarholmen, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Malardrottningen Hotel and Restaurant)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
#23 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#44 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $81 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malardrottningen or that the ship is really called: Lady Hutton, began its journey in 1924 and no one knows where or when it ends. With its amazing history, she has managed to take care of Barbara Hutton, the British Navy, traveled around the world and since 1982 moored at Riddarholms Quay. The Yacht has 61 cabins, sauna, restaurant and is perhaps best known for the latter. The restaurant with the beautiful view of Malaren, serves Scandinavian dishes using only the best ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malardrottningen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing