We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a really family hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Hasselbacken
Ranked #83 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My two daughters, my wife and I spent some great nights at the hotel. Most of the hotels in Stockholm were very expensive and I could hardly find the hotel that would fit for my family at a cost. It was a really family hotel. Location of the hotel was excellent. Most of the best museums were within walking distance. The tram stop was right outside the hotel. It was only 10 minutes to the historic city center by tram. Breakfast was excellent. I think it's the best hotel for families with children.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roman073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 741 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

We had a busines suite for our family of 2 adults and 3 children. It was pretty spacious for a city centre hotel, and the setting of the hotel was great. It ws an easy ferry/tram ride into central Stockholm, and retruning to the hotel by ferry at night was very pleasant. The staff were helpful,and breakfast was plentiful, if busy. The hotel is very well placed in particular for the Vasa Museum.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan123Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed at the hotel with my hubby in mid Dec. The hotel is beautyfully decorated with Christmas lightnings; very tasteful and not tacky at all. You are close to the Christmas market at Skansen and the Nordiska Museet. The surroundings are idyllic. Even though the hotell is at Djurgården, it is very easy to take the tram from the Sergels torg. The tram stops just below the hotell, then just enter the stairs up to the hotel. The rooms are nice. We had a standard room, that included a queen size bed and a full bath with tub and shower. The shower was rather "weak" and when I took a bath, it took a very long time for the tub to fill up. The bed was a bit soft for me but I prefer hard beds. The room decor is Scandinavian style. Since it was facing Skansen it was very quiet.

The breakfast was an ordinary Swedish hotel breakfast, which means different types of eggs, bacon, sausages, cold cuts, fruit sallad, cereals, bread/toast, juice, tea, coffee and hot beverages. The only things I disliked were the cheeses: They were boring and not tasty at all. There are also different types of cookies and Danish butter pastries.

The staff at the front desk were courteus and helpful.

All in all, it is a nice hotell with some flaws. It was a nice winter hotel, but I assume it is even nicer during the summer.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask the staff to make a revervation with a room facing Skansen. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenaUmeaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I went to Hasselbacken for an overnight seminar. The conference part of the hotel (including the restaurant) is very nice and it has an old-fashioned atmosphere. The hotel rooms are modern, basic (quiet) scandinavian hotel rooms. Breakfast is the same as in almost all Scandic hotels; bread, eggs, sausages, porridge, fruits etc. The only negative thing is that the wifi does not work in the conference part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible and on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globbaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel is located at Djurgården and thereby a bit out from the centre. Easy to get there though, summertime by boat and wintertime by tram.
I recommend a stay at this hotel if you're by any other reasons going to Djurgården, visiting Skansen, Gröna Lund or a theatre at Circus.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjarne_gallros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very good hotel. Great breakfast. Superior room was excellent. Nice yard to drink a cup of coffe.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We (two adults and one kid, aged 2) stayed at this hotel for two nights in July 2011. The location is excellent if you are visiting Skansen, Gröna Lund or some of the great museums near the hotel, and the city center is only a short tram ride away.
The hotel was clean and very quiet, the breakfast very good (but maybe not excellent as I had expected) and in general our stay was very pleasant, both for adults and the child.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IC4658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ostermalm
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
#107 of 154 in Stockholm
407 reviews
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#73 of 154 in Stockholm
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Scandic Park
Scandic Park
#72 of 154 in Stockholm
848 reviews
Ostermalm
Scandic Anglais
Scandic Anglais
#77 of 154 in Stockholm
1,182 reviews
Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Villa Kallhagen Hotel
Villa Kallhagen Hotel
#15 of 154 in Stockholm
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hasselbacken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hasselbacken

Address: 20 Hazeliusbacken, Stockholm 115 21, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $152 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hasselbacken 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Restored Hotel on Royal Djurgarden, near museums & art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Hasselbacken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hasselbacken Stockholm
Scandic Hasselbacken Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing