We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for trip”
Review of Scandic Ariadne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Ariadne
Ranked #82 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient for trip”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is situated in a really good place. We are stayed for 2 nights in January. The subway station Gardet is in 5 minutes walk. The hotel breakfast was excellent, our room is clear, wi-fi is not so quick as a Scandic Continental but it's quality was acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuriyRusinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna C, Receptionschef at Scandic Ariadne, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
It seems like you had a good stay with us!
We have previously been uppdated our WiFi system, it works much better now.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    280
    229
    98
    40
See reviews for
307
144
26
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sukses
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel was in a really good spot.
The room was really good also the food was good.
The hotel elevator was terrible, it was Saturday night 30.11 lift to the top on the way once the Skybar and the elevator got stuck on the lowest deck and could not get out of the elevator before the repairman arrived on the scene.
We had to be more than an hour in a hot elevator :)
Fortunately, we saw out all the time.
So a small tip While in the elevator says 12 people and 900 pounds so it is not true.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is located next to Tallink and Silja ferry terminal. The subway at a walking distance (5 minutes, across a park mainly) and gets you in the center in just 10 minutes. The location is then ideal before or after a ferry trip, even if you want to spend some time visiting Stockholm.

The hotel has "normal" and a few "economy" rooms (that can be booked only on their website, as far as I know). The last ones are only a little smaller (like 2m² less) and around 20% less expensive. They all face the rear of the building and are located at the ends of the wings. Though their furnishing is maybe a little less modern than other rooms, they are still very nice and comfortable.

However, two points that are usual in Northern European countries but people from Western Europe may be bothered with: the very thin curtains curtains, meaning that you'll wake up with the sun, and the shower that is barely separated from the rest of the bathroom: the bathrooms turns into a "swimming pool" after you use the shower (a scraper is though available to cope with this).

We only dealt with one person at the front desk during our stay, which was very nice and helpful, either about the hotel or to provide touristic information. Thanks a lot to her!

The buffet breakfast was extensive and quite good, but also very crowded: a lot of noise, difficulties to find a table and to access the buffet...

A small Italian style restaurant is located next to hotel's entrance, and provide a cheap alternative to hotel's restaurant. A bar is located at the last floor of the hotel, and boasts greats views on the harbor (if you want to see cruise ships moving, get there between 17.00 and 19.00).

Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nico_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in August as part of our tour of Denmark and Sweden while we were in Stockholm. Good hotel that is clean with good food and loads of parking, The usual comfortable Scandic beds and the view from our window on the 9 floor was just fantastic. Although very busy they keep a good level of professionalism at all times. Good food particularly breakfast with loads of choice and refreshed regularly, we will stay again I am sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
332 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are planning on taking a ferry from Stockholm, this is a good choice to stay overnight. Prices are reasonable, rooms are clean, food in restaurant is good too. Not much else around there though. The metro station (gardet) is about a ten minute walk. I would stay there again if I was taking a ferry.

Room Tip: Might have a spa, no swimming pool.. Has a nice bar at the top with a great view of the harbor calle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciahasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna C, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ariadne, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
You are welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I traveled from Helsinki, Finland with my husband,dog and aging parent to Stockholm, Sweden.
We found the perfect hotel. Scandic Ariadne is positioned right smack in the harbor where the ships and ferries dock. We were able to disembark from the ship and then follow the sky walk to the hotel and in 10 minutes we were in the hotel lobby.
The reception desk staff were helpful, we upgraded to a suite with an adjoining room for my mother.
The suite was breathtaking, we had a full view of the harbor, we were on the top floor.
The furnishing was modern, we also had a sauna.
The next day we went downtown Stockholm , the reception desk staff tipped us on the best way to get there, there is a bus stop near the hotel that takes you straight to the city center, we were there in about 20 minutes. There is also a grocery store and a pizza joint by the hotel.
I only had breakfast at the hotel, it was a buffet but rather crowded with people bumping into each other and children spilling food.
When it was time to return to the ship for our journey back to Finland, we took the sky walk and were on the ship in 15 minutes and heading back to Helsinki, no need for a cab and hassles with traffic.

Room Tip: try booking a suite, calling the hotel from the states is a good idea, the front desk staff are pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna C, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ariadne, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay! Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokaro Steel City, India
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our fourth destination at Europe after travelling for 7 days and while having breakfast in their restaurant which was not even crowded , the purse of my wife hanging behind the chair was stolen containing our 2 Passports , credit cards and cash . The hotel staff said that this is the 5 th such case and even then the hotel has not provided any security for tourists. Very bad experience and lost lot of money and facing severe harassments as we have to postpone our travel and continue to stay at this hotel for issue of new passport...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnetha M, General Manager at Scandic Ariadne, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Mahesh,
I am sorry to hear that you was affected by pickpockets in the breakfast room at our hotel, and that your journey due to this was delayed. Continuously, we are following up this kind of situations. We always try to do our best to help our guest if they have any problems.

Unfortunately is this quite common throughout Europe during the holiday season. We try to prevent theft by warning signs on each table, and the staff try to bee so observant they can.
We are so sorry inconvenience this may caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Scandic Foresta
#85 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Scandic Kungens Kurva
#87 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
#106 of 155 in Stockholm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Hotell Dialog
#115 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Ariadne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ariadne

Property: Scandic Ariadne
Address: 37 Soedra Kajen | Positionen 117, Stockholm 115 41, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Ariadne 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Ariadne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Ariadne Stockholm
Scandic Ariadne Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing