We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor security inside the Hotel as theft takes place in their Restaurent”
Review of Scandic Ariadne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Ariadne
Ranked #82 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersGold level
Bokaro Steel City, India
1 review
“Very poor security inside the Hotel as theft takes place in their Restaurent”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our fourth destination at Europe after travelling for 7 days and while having breakfast in their restaurant which was not even crowded , the purse of my wife hanging behind the chair was stolen containing our 2 Passports , credit cards and cash . The hotel staff said that this is the 5 th such case and even then the hotel has not provided any security for tourists. Very bad experience and lost lot of money and facing severe harassments as we have to postpone our travel and continue to stay at this hotel for issue of new passport...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnetha M, General Manager at Scandic Ariadne, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Mahesh,
I am sorry to hear that you was affected by pickpockets in the breakfast room at our hotel, and that your journey due to this was delayed. Continuously, we are following up this kind of situations. We always try to do our best to help our guest if they have any problems.

Unfortunately is this quite common throughout Europe during the holiday season. We try to prevent theft by warning signs on each table, and the staff try to bee so observant they can.
We are so sorry inconvenience this may caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    279
    229
    98
    40
See reviews for
306
144
26
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Excellent choice for the people travelling by Silja Line ferry to Finland. Lot of parking places and good metro connection to the downtown (10 min.). Quiet and clean rooms, even very basic. No-mini fridge or coffee making facilities. Breakfast was better than average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 125Seppo125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna C, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ariadne, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi!
Thank you for your comments! If you would like to have a fridge and coffe&tea facilities next time you stay with us I suggest you to book a superior room. Pst, then you get a very nice sea view as well!

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was at the tail end of a two week journey through Denmark and Sweden. We stayed at the Scandic in Malmo, Sweden and found that to be a great location. Our hopes were high for a good experience and this place did not disappoint.

The room was big, clean and very functional. The room did not have a mini fridge, but during two weeks in Europe, we only found one hotel with a mini fridge, so not a surprise. The hotel is beautiful, the breakfast had a lot of options and the beds were very comfortable!

Definitely a must stay if we find ourselves back in Denmark.

Room Tip: If you are driving, the rate to park is fairly high...instead park in the lot directly outside the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cardhuneat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Scandic Ariadne is just what you would expect from a Scandic hotel. Basic, clean and well-run hotel that provides good value for money. Its location next to Silja terminal makes it a handy choice for Silja Line passengers. You can walk indoors from Silja terminal to the hotel. A metro stop is nearby and it is only a few stops to the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeppoTulppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna C, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ariadne, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi!
Thank you for your comments.
Welcome back!

Johanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I booked this hotel, because of it's location right next to Silja Lines ferry terminal,as I was taking the early morning ferry out of Stockholm.

The check-in was quick and service from the receptionist was good. I got a singleroom on the 6th floor. The room was big and it felt roomy for one person and it also had free wi-fi. It had a 140 cm wide bed,which was nice.Too bad the room didn't have a better view as my room faced the back of the hotel,so my view was of a parking lot.General cleanliness of the room was good,standard Scandic quality.The only complaint I have about the room,is the noisy AC unit.

I didn't eat breakfast,but I had dinner at the hotel as they serve a buffet dinner during summer. The food was ok,not much variety to choose from,but what they did have was ok. The waiters were friendly.

All in all,Scandic Ariadne is a clean,basic hotel with friendly service.Great for ferry travellers but a little far from the city centre (10 min on the metro).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annicha84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna C, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ariadne, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad that you mention our friendly service.
Our facility manager has resolved the problem with the noisy AC, thank you for letting us know. Welcome back!

Johanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had originally wanted to stay at Scandic Norra Bantorget, as it is closer to the city-centre. But when we checked the prices the room we wanted was booked out and when it became available it was too expensive.

When we arrived at Scandic Ariande, it was in the afternoon. We checked-in and got a room on Floor 8, we couldn't open the window then went down to reception and requested a new room, but there was non available till the next morning so we stayed the night in the room on floor 8 and the following morning after breakfast got a new room on floor 11 and we were able to open the window. Our new room (floor 11) we could open the window, the bathroom was very bad layout because if one had a shower the whole bathroom was flooded with water, the rooms were very small for four of us the kids had to share a sofa-bed and weren't too happy, the bed was quite small even for them (a normal single bed for TWO people). The rooms were small, cramped and stuffy even with the window open

The food in Scandic was good, the breakfasts have a wide range of stuff but staff do not refill as quickly as needed. The foods for breakfasts were:
Breads, toasts, crackers, rye-bread etc
Cereals, muesili, bran flakes etc
Yogurts, strawberry, organic, natural and vanilla
Milk lactose-free, low fat, whole milk
Bacon, sausages, eggs, wholegrain/oat pancakes etc
Juices, orange, apple, multi-fruit, water
Coffee & tea
Cookies & Swedish bread, dried fruits etc

On one of the nights we had dinner in the hotel, we had the buffet dinner which was very nice. Would strongly recommend. Foods available:
Starter:
Salads

Main Course:
Chicken wings
Meatballs & pasta
Chips & potatoes
Onion rings

Dessert:
Cheesecake
Crackers & cheese
Apple crumble etc
Oat pancakes


The location is perfect if you are getting the ferry, but is a good drive out from Stockholm centre. A bus runs in the morning to the centre but is busy in high season so be there early. Scandic was as I anticipated average. It can be noisy in the night due to ferries coming and going.

Room Tip: Choose one where you can open the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingkids1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Ipswich UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

As others have written, the Ariadne is good but the decor is rather tired.
The hotel was chosen by the conference organisers.
The breakfasts were good, with a wide choice of breads, yoghurts and hot dishes. A wider selection of stewed fruit would have been good.
The dinner was very disappointing - can the Swedes not cook a steak correctly?
The hotel is located in the docks, so there was nowhere to go if you wanted to stroll around or go for a meal or drink nearby. The rest of the building complex was like a ghost town!
The Tunnelbana (Metro/subway) is 10-15mins walk away, so central Stockholm is reachable in 30 mins.
The Hotel does advertise a gym, but the free option was only a few machines. We didn't try the sauna as it was single-sex only

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big-bill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Scandic Foresta
#85 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Scandic Kungens Kurva
#87 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
#106 of 155 in Stockholm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Hotell Dialog
#115 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Ariadne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ariadne

Property: Scandic Ariadne
Address: 37 Soedra Kajen | Positionen 117, Stockholm 115 41, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Ariadne 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Ariadne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Ariadne Stockholm
Scandic Ariadne Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing