We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad but functional”
Review of Scandic Ariadne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Ariadne
Ranked #77 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Even though everything except way too overcrowded breakfast were working well here I find this place somewhat sad. Service in the lobby was good.

Oh, there was also this thing which did not work that well was the sauna. It was mentioned that it is warmed from 17.00 Saturdays it was not warm at 17.30. On the other hand sauna department looked really worn out anyway.

Location is not close to city but metro is in walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mka_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 974 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

Service at check-in desk was weak at night when we and many other families were checking in (2 outsourced dudes that knew pretty much nothing). Car park wasn't included in the price. Rooms were OK. In the daytime there were a lot of noisy children playing in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BIFtommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

For a first time visitor to Stockholm, going from Central station by Metro to this hotel is bit of a task. We got down at the nearest metro station (Gardet) and walked to reach Scandic before our checking time. However, there is a place where you can put your lugggage also freshen up yourself, buy City Card right at the counter and set out to explore the city.. The room was very comfortable and had excellent view of the Ships coming in and out of Sweden.. Breakfast was included in the tariff and there was a super market nearby where you could buy fruits, cakes and everything..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

when we got there the room wasn't ready yet but they sent us up anyway... so when we got there the room was filthy and we called the reception right away. they changed the room almost immediately, it was bigger and more comfy.
parking is not free of charge, about 150 skr/day
exept the "rocky" start our stay was pretty good, breakfast was awesome, preple working at reception were uber kind and helped us a lot.
food at the restaurant was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annavale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Didn't enjoy my stay here at all. Air con was useless so room was like an oven. Every time I showered the whole bathroom floor flooded. Room was hopelessly out dated, and there were few items on the hot breakfast buffet. As a plus point, the Internet is free. On balance I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swindoneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Well this point was our first reason to take this hotel and also the packet-trip with Silja Line boat-trip. When travelling with little children the location is important and this hotel was next to terminal. I must say that the place was modern and not very cozy, like big hall and kind of industrial, like school or hospital?

Well the service was friendly and there was little shop near the reception, where you could buy most of the things i.e. little snacks. The breakfeast was very good with many different foods and it was very nice to have breakfast on terrace with sun shining in the cloudless sky. If you want to eat supper or dinner you have to pay it separetly and it's overpriced so I recommend that you eat at the pizzeria that is next to the hotel entrance. There are little fridgerators in the hotel rooms and there's also a grocery store ICA nearby what I recommend to visit. Also theres a ATM machine nearby.

The rooms were good sized though the rooms qualities change very much i.e. our first room had a old TV and no table lamps and no snacks or drinks in the minibar but the second room had a new TV with nice lamps on the tables and the minibar was full :) The view from the room to outside was unfortunately depressing grey harbor though during the evening the city lights looked pretty.

Those who travel with small children, you can find a ball sea, (I don't know the english name for it exactly) and there was also a small playroom next to it but it seemed that it hasn't been used for awhile and it smelled weird and it was practially empty. Good thing was that there was two computers with internet connections that were free for customers to use.

Room Tip: Remember to wake up very early, I recommend 7 AM at latest. Also purchase stockholm card for a day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tumppi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed 5 wonderful nights at the hotel . At first we were afraid the hotel's location near the harbor and we were afraid it would be noisy but we did not feel the ships entering and leaving port.
High-level hotel in our opinion than 3 stars is rated.
The room we had was very clean and our expectations. The hotel staff was great and each request was answered quickly.
The hotel is near a bus station allows swift arrival to the city center. There is also a huge supermarket near the hotel that allows you bought food and drinks for a day trip to the city.
If we will arrive to Stockholm once again we will live again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shuki51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Scandic Foresta
#85 of 155 in Stockholm
445 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Best Western Capital Hotel
#103 of 155 in Stockholm
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Kungens Kurva
#97 of 155 in Stockholm
442 reviews
Kungsholmen
Connect Hotel City
Connect Hotel City
#68 of 155 in Stockholm
663 reviews
Kungsholmen
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
#112 of 155 in Stockholm
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Ariadne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ariadne

Address: 37 Soedra Kajen | Positionen 117, Stockholm 115 41, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $99 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Ariadne 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Ariadne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Ariadne Stockholm
Scandic Ariadne Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing