We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful Hotel in Gamla Stan!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #27 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful Hotel in Gamla Stan!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Lovely hotel in the centre of Stockholm. A good 'home' to relax before you go out again to enjoy the beauty of Stokholm. The location in 'old' Gamla Stan is like a dream your are walking in. I only had a problem wiht my smoking habbit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prre2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnikaH, Owner at Lady Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hej Prre2014,

Thank you so much for your really nice review, it made us very happy to read that you felt that Lady Hamilton Hotel was "home", while being away from your real home. That's really what we are hoping for and we truly appreciated to read your other comments.
We also do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to us again!

Best Regards,

Annika Höft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    183
    46
    12
    9
See reviews for
57
152
78
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

The Lady Hamilton is a lovely and charming hotel in the Old Town. It was conveniently located and well appointed. Staff was very helpful. I would suggest if you are a light sleeper that you bring earplugs, as the church bells can be heard from the rooms. All in all, a delightful stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnikaH, Owner at Lady Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Miriam,

Thank you so much for your nice review here at TripAdvisor! We truly appreciate when our guests take some time from their busy schedules to write to us here, and we do our best to try to improve the service to our guests. If ever in need of ear plugs during your stay just stop by the Front Desk, we have made sure that we have a supply of ear plugs there as well!

Wishing you a nice weekend!

Best regards,

Annika Höft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
178 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Having stayed at chain hotels in Stockholm on previous occasions I decided to try something a little different. Lady Hamilton is certainly different - it's almost like staying in a museum. Located in Gamla Stan, a stone's throw away from the cathedral and royal palace, the hotel is perfectly located. My single room was very spacious with a small, but perfectly functional bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. The turndown service provided was a nice touch, and I returned to my room to find chocolate, a bottle of mineral water and a bag of pepparkakor (Swedish ginger biscuits eaten at Christmas time) on my pillow with a handwritten note wishing me a good night's sleep. Lovely. Breakfast was served in the small, but charming dining room on the ground floor, and was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnikaH, Owner at Lady Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hej Uncle Bean,

Thank you so much for your really nice review, we truly appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment here about your visit, and we were especially happy to read that you liked our Turn Down Service!

We do hope we will get a possibility to welcome you back to Lady Hamilton Hotel some time in a not too distant future!

Best Regards,

Annika Höft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel is located in a perfect area to explore the city. They offered a nice breakfast, rooms were sufficient. It's an old hotel which gives it charm. We stayed with our two children and everyone had plenty of room.

Room Tip: We had an "extra" room with a twin bed with a private door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenifer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

First of all, this review is about one of the Apartments run by the Lady Hamilton hotel, not a room inside the hotel itself. To find it, search for Collectors Hotels and there's a link to apartments.

The location of the Miranda Apartment is great - at Skomakargatan 26 - you couldn't get more central if you tried. It is steps away from the old town square with the Nobel museum and the Cathedral.

But there are a few things to know before you book the Miranda or any of the three apartments beneath it. From the Collectors website there appear to be quite a few more apartments and I don't know where they are each located.

First, to get from the Lady Hamilton hotel (where you have to check in) to the apartment is a short walk across hostile cobblestones. A girl carried my small bag but I was left with my 22kg suitcase - I ended up carrying it above my head rather than risk breaking the wheels off my case - and they would have snapped off in seconds.

It's bad that the hotel doesn't provide any porter service. Just as bad, taxis rarely make it into the square (certainly they can't or won't make it to the front door) so you have to lug your bags back to the hotel to get a taxi. Top tip: when we saw a taxi in the square, we spoke directly to the driver and arranged a time for him to come back and pick us up, which was much easier than going back to the hotel reception. It's not a long walk at all but with bags over cobbles, it's a pain and (in the rain) potentially dangerous.

The other thing you should know is that the way up to the Miranda is a very old, winding, stone, spiral staircase all the way to the top floor, three or four floors up. I would NOT recommend this for elderly, infirm, obese or very unfit people. Put a foot wrong and you could have a nasty fall. Getting up and down this staircase with your suitcases is, fortunately, something you only have to do once. There is no elevator.

Note: As an apartment, there is no maid or housekeeping service, so keep things tidy!

The apartment is set over two floors, with most of the space upstairs. While it's big, the one problem with the unit is that there is not a full bathroom upstairs, just a toilet and basin (set in what looks and feels like a sound recording booth, with glass through which you can see and be seen!) Luckily I was upstairs on my own.

The unit needs a full bathroom upstairs because, as it is, everyone (up to four of you) is sharing the shower downstairs, which is far from ideal.

Also, again, it's a little spiral staircase between the two floors.

The apartment does have a washing machine (in the bathroom), which was very useful, and a small kitchen, which could do with bringing up to date (though there is a dishwasher if you need it). It's comfortably furnished in keeping with the old building.

Like everywhere in Stockholm, it's fairly expensive, but for three of us who wanted to be together in "our own place" and share drinks before dinner, that sort of thing, rather than be in separate hotel rooms, this place fitted the bill.

But please be aware of the logistics (the walk between hotel and apartment, and the winding staircase) before you book, because the hotel and website does not point this out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel many times, and have always met the same good service.
The hotel has a lot of character; lots of old things and curiosities can be found in the lobby, in the staircase, etc. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom fully refurbished. Located in the old town, the hotel is a good choice if you want to be close to both places of touristic interest and business (tube stop close by).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The interaction I had with staff, I found them to be very pleasant .
The receptionist Cecilia was most helpful and accommodating in aiding with managing my flight booking - checking in online and printing boarding passes which was really much appreciated and commend the same.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#50 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#71 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hamilton Hotel

Property: Lady Hamilton Hotel
Address: 5 Storkyrkobrinken | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#29 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lady Hamilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's genuinely personal touch, the Lady Hamilton Hotel is a feminine and romantic hotel in a fantastic location next to the Royal Palace in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's Old Town. The hotel's charming personality goes hand in hand with the amazing collection of antiques in the Swedish peasant style, which decorates both public areas and hotel rooms. The Breakfast has a organic, fairtrade and homemade profile, and a selection of typical Swedish delicacies. The hotel's Sauna and Relax area with a Cold water plunge pool can be booked and used free of charge. There are also complimentary Coffe and Tea making facilities on all floors. In the Autumn, Winter and Spring the hotel serves Afternoon Tea during most weekends, for details please inquire upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lady Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hamilton Stockholm
Hotel Lady Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing