We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lady Hamilton Hotel, Stockholm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A disappointment: a hotel of undoubted charm but which fails in several important respects. There is no air conditioning so one has to open the bedroom windows which makes the rooms very noisy. We were very often woken by a church clock striking throughout the night and by very noisy rubbish collection early each morning. Better to have stayed in the new town and visited the Old Town by day.
The breakfasts were good, the staff were pleasant. But they should, as a matter of routine, warn guests about the frequent pickpocketing and robberies in the street. Warning notices appeared only after two of our party had had their handbags stolen. They should also explain the difference between the two types of taxis, one twice the price of the other. The city of Stockholm does not look after its visitors as well as it might - no police and no cameras in the streets of the Old Town where, we now know to our cost, gangs of pickpockets roam freely in the summer months.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highgate43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 480 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

My stay at Lady Hamilton was wonderful. Was traveling solo, and after several stays in modern Scandanavian design hotels, I felt like I was home in my cozy warm room. Excellent location for exploring Gamla Stan. I loved Stockholm and can't wait to return. When I do, I will definitely stay at Lady Hamilton again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRISBEOUGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fantastic location in Old Town. Utterly charming, though small, rooms.

The included breakfast is not quite as good as it used to be - Salami instead of Swedish Rókt Medvurst was disappointing, and the one bland cheese that was offered in no way showcased the wonderful cheese making tradition that Sweden has. Swedish pancakes for breakfast was un-Swedish, too. There was also no real whole grain bread with substance, all the bread was very soft. Despite this, the breakfast is more than adequate, and quite good, really.

The staff is polite and helpful. All in all, I have stayed here many, many times, and always been happy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tempchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Charming hotel in full of antiques but the rooms are small, there is no air condition and it is far too noisy to leave the window open. The hotel is also next to a church and the bell tolls all night. It is bad value, cheaper and better rooms are available in Stockholm

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank RagnhildLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved our stay at the Lady Hamilton and would happily have stayed longer. It is an old-fashioned but delightful hotel right in the heart of Gamla Stan, Stockholm's old town. The hotel is full of quirky and fascinating items. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the room was very comfortable. You can order champagne, chocolates and fruit to be ready in your room, if you would like to surprise your partner! The highlight was the fantastic sauna in the cellar, which you can book for private use. Ask for a couple of beers and some snacks to eat by the fireplace. As a plunge pool in the sauna, it has a medieval 14th-century, stone-lined well! One of the most romantic stays I've enjoyed anywhere - and certainly not something you expect to find in this very touristy area.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are full of light and worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you want a characterful and quirky independent hotel then the "Lady Hamilton" is really worth a stay. I spent one night here back in January and really enjoyed my stay.

The location is really ideal for "Gamla Stam" and the Cathedral and Royal Palace are only around 300m away, so the Old town can be easily explored on foot from this location.

We took the fast train from the Airport into Stockholm, and then a 5 minute cab ride to the hotel from the Railway station, so it is easy to get to.

The rooms are fairly small, so if you want to spend a lot of time relaxing in your hotel room then perhaps this hotel is not ideal, however for most sight-seeing tours the central location is a real bonus.

There is a small "conference room" which can be booked for business meetings, which is nice and quiet, and with a relaxed atmosphere ideal for negotiations with small business groups of 5-6 people.

Breakfast was fine with a reasonable selection of light dishes available.

Overall I would definitely stay at this hotel again as I liked the location and old character of the hotel.

Room Tip: The basement Conference Room is good for business meetings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonianBusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our room was nice with a double bed (two twins pushed together),two end tables by the bed, two chairs with a small table between, a desk, wardrobe, minibar, flat screen TV, wireless internet that worked, a connecting small room with a twin bed in it, cupboard and small end table. The bathroom was nice and clean and had a bathtub with shower attachment, shampoo, soap and blowdryer. It was a cute little room with windows that opened onto a courtyard that faced other people's room windows and the wall. The downside was that there is no AC, so even in May with outside temps in the 50's at night it got stuffy in the room unless we opened the windows. Once they were open we were kept awake all night by the chiming of the church bells every quarter hour. 1:15 would give you one chime, 1:30 two, 1:45 three, 2:00 four chimes, then the 2 bongs for the hours. Imagine midnight! I was up all night opening and closing the windows. Interestingly, my son slept like a baby and didn't hear the bells. If you are a heavy sleeper you will be fine here.
The breakfast was nice with an assortment of meat and cheese slices, bread to slice with jellies and butter, hard boiled eggs, fruit, other breads and cookies, juices, milk, yoghurt, cereal, good coffee. They even had a juicer there so that you could press your own oranges.
It is a cute place and a great location if you can take the bell ringing all night long. We had sticker shock with the prices throughout our stay in Sweden and Norway and this was no exception. Our room was about $500 US per night. By the way, Kryp In was our favorite place to eat there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strawberries4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
620 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#74 of 154 in Stockholm
261 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#57 of 154 in Stockholm
1,357 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#78 of 154 in Stockholm
170 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hamilton Hotel

Address: 5 Storkyrkobrinken | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#29 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $142 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lady Hamilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's genuinely personal touch, the Lady Hamilton Hotel is a feminine and romantic hotel in a fantastic location next to the Royal Palace in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's Old Town. The hotel's charming personality goes hand in hand with the amazing collection of antiques in the Swedish peasant style, which decorates both public areas and hotel rooms. The Breakfast has a organic, fairtrade and homemade profile, and a selection of typical Swedish delicacies. The hotel's Sauna and Relax area with a Cold water plunge pool can be booked and used free of charge. There are also complimentary Coffe and Tea making facilities on all floors. In the Autumn, Winter and Spring the hotel serves Afternoon Tea during most weekends, for details please inquire upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lady Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hamilton Stockholm
Hotel Lady Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing