We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Scandic Malmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Malmen
Ranked #87 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Södermalm being the hippest and best area in Stockholm staying in this place is a good idea since you have very close to most of the things you might want to see. The hotel itself is like an old communist block house on the outside but on the iside t's quite the opposite. The bar and restaurant is awesome and at night they throw great parties here with live music sometimes. The rooms are rather boring but ok no more no less... But really you pay for the location!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattsaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hi,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay. We’re really glad that you like our location as well as the great vibe in our bar and restaurant. Hope to see you back with us again!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Due to work, I had to stay at Malmen for 3 weeks. You can see a lot in 3 weeks, housekeeper only tidy up surface, only to make the room LOOK CLEAN, but actually very dirty. They don´t wash floors at all, they dont vacuum clean unless you create some dirt for them that is VISIBLE. It does not work to tell the management at hotel about how dirty the room is, I still had to tidy up my Suite room everyday myself. The hotel is really close to my work area so I will still stay there due to the location and convenience, but i WOULD NOT recommend to people who likes to stay in a clean room for a long period of time, then you had to tidy up yourself. Hotel is also noisy due to bar downstairs, but that is just unlucky i guess.

Room Tip: higher floors is less noisy, and get a suite room. and dont expect a clean room. check cornors and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hi Bobo,
Thank you for taking your time to write this review regarding your stay, although it makes us very sad to hear that your experience with us has not been very good. What you describe about the room is not at all how we want it to feel like staying with us, and we’re sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, we will use them in order to improve our everyday work! We still hope to see you as a guests with us at Scandic Malmen again!
Kind regards, Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The family room at the hotel looked very nice and at first we were really pleased! But we soon realized that the room was not very practical - especially the sink and the doors in the shower corner proved to be somewhat troublesome.
Then there are the little things: the room had only one cup for tea and coffee, the "dining room" lights could only be switched off by the door to the hallway, the sofa bed was terrible, the cleaner didn't put a new trash bag after emptying the trash can in the toilet, the shower head fell of many times (but was maintained during breakfast, big + for that!),... I'm glad we didn't travel with small children since the street next to the hotel is very noisy and there where fights in front of the hotel from very early in the evening (or maybe kids would be okay: we could have disposed of the diapers by throwing them on honking cars - since there was no big trash cans in the room).
Positive sides: the location is very good and it's easy to take the metro (t-bana) to Old Town and city center. There are plenty of pubs near the hotel for those who are into strong cheap (by Nordic standards) beer. Great shopping possibilities.

Room Tip: The family room is spacious but not too practical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naava87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hi Naava87!
Thank you for sharing all these little things and letting us know what we can do better. It's appreciated and helps us to make a better hotel! Glad to hear you liked our location on fabulous Södermalm, the nightlife and shopping is great here indeed.
Very welcome to stay with us again! Kind regards, Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

First of all Thank you Scandic hotel for a GREAT service that made me feel secure & relaxed during my weekend, Sandra & I think her name was Jenny (?!), so anticipated and well-connected with me. Wonderfull great impression. I was suppose to check out at 11am , and check in in another room at 3pm (the next day), but they made it for me immedietly so i could rest instead. They made everything easier and comfortable.

Its a great location where its close to hundreds of restaurants, supermarkets, McDonalds & KFC 7eleven, Waynes Coffee, Cinema, Systembolaget (buy alcohol), shopping street & metro (only 6min to centralstation).

During the evenings there is a security guard outside the hotels entrance that makes sure it's only Hotel guests getting inside. And to get in to the elevator and get to yours room you need to use a room key. So it feeeels REALLY SAFE!


The rooms were FRESH, cozy and nice modern design. Though they were really tiny, almost like a cabin room on a boat. That's the ONLY minus I would give.

The breakfast buffée was of so many choices, fresh, juicy, health choices with different kind of granola and yoghurts, eggs fruits & vegetables. THANK YOU!

Natalia Pilat

Room Tip: The cabin rooms are the cheapest one cause they are placed in the basement. Which means no window. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia-Pilat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Hi Natalia, Thank you so much for this lovely review, it makes us really happy to hear how much you enjoyed everything about your stay! I will let the staff know how much you appreciated your stay and the service. Hope to see you back with us again soon!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Room seemed to be nice at first but....
The chair was metallic really, uncomfortable to sit for those couple of hours I had to work. A chair from hell. Mattress had seen it's best days couple of years before. Pillows and covers were of very cheap quality. Breakfast at the restaurant was good in quality but the room was very crowded. Even just after seven. And it did not help that left luggage was not for free, so people took their luggage to restaurant. Did I already mention it was not too spatoius there...yes. Price of left luggage was not high, but it is matter of principle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaisaEspoo_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Hi Kaisa,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay with us, we always appreciate feedback from our guests. I am really sorry to hear you didn’t like the chair or the bed in your room. Kindly let us know straight away if there is something you don’t like about your room and we will do our best to solve it, for example bringing you another chair. We do not charge anything for leaving luggage in our luggage room, all you have to do is ask for the key in the front desk and it is for free. I am sorry if this was not communicated!
I hope you would consider staying with us again at Scandic Malmen, we would love a second chance to give you a nice stay!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Excellent location on Södermalm. T-bana station couldn't be closer. Great breakfast eith losts of choices. Clean room. Beds not so comfy - loose feet!Noice from the bars at night. We were on 1st floor.Most staff members were nice but some could have been friendlier.

Thank SissyBar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hi, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay. Glad to hear you enjoyed our location, breakfast and clean rooms. Apologize you were disturbed by the noise and that you didn’t like the bed. Very welcome back to us again in the future if you come to Stockholm!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed in Scandic Malmen back in December 2012 just before Christmas. The hotel is located in Södermalm, one of the nicest areas in Stockholm, the hotel is always super busy in the weekends, and this time was no exception. At first we were given a standard room on 4th floor, but due to some very noisy guests on the same floor, the duty manager was very nice and upgraded us to the top floor where we got a super nice room. It made a big difference and we really enjoyed our stay with Scandic Malmen. The breakfast is super good, plenty of variety and friendly staff. Will come back next time we are in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for writing this review, we’re glad to hear you had a nice stay with us. Hope to see you back with us again in the future!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#73 of 155 in Stockholm
780 reviews
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#89 of 155 in Stockholm
241 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Nofo Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#109 of 155 in Stockholm
107 reviews
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#42 of 155 in Stockholm
2,981 reviews
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#9 of 155 in Stockholm
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Malmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Malmen

Address: 49 - 51 Goetgatan, Stockholm 116 21, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $103 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Malmen 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Malmen - town life, musical experiences and a feeling of home in the heart of Södermalm.Here you can dine, drink, meet and sleep. And loads of other fun things, such as enjoying free concerts for example. When you stay with us in one of our 332 rooms, you will live in a 50th century building in the middle of the metropolitan pulse. You will also have great access to other parts of the city by metro, train, boat or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Malmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Malmen Stockholm
Scandic Malmen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing