We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but not that comfy hotel”
Review of Scandic Malmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Malmen
Ranked #89 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Room seemed to be nice at first but....
The chair was metallic really, uncomfortable to sit for those couple of hours I had to work. A chair from hell. Mattress had seen it's best days couple of years before. Pillows and covers were of very cheap quality. Breakfast at the restaurant was good in quality but the room was very crowded. Even just after seven. And it did not help that left luggage was not for free, so people took their luggage to restaurant. Did I already mention it was not too spatoius there...yes. Price of left luggage was not high, but it is matter of principle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaisaEspoo_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Hi Kaisa,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay with us, we always appreciate feedback from our guests. I am really sorry to hear you didn’t like the chair or the bed in your room. Kindly let us know straight away if there is something you don’t like about your room and we will do our best to solve it, for example bringing you another chair. We do not charge anything for leaving luggage in our luggage room, all you have to do is ask for the key in the front desk and it is for free. I am sorry if this was not communicated!
I hope you would consider staying with us again at Scandic Malmen, we would love a second chance to give you a nice stay!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Excellent location on Södermalm. T-bana station couldn't be closer. Great breakfast eith losts of choices. Clean room. Beds not so comfy - loose feet!Noice from the bars at night. We were on 1st floor.Most staff members were nice but some could have been friendlier.

Thank SissyBar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hi, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay. Glad to hear you enjoyed our location, breakfast and clean rooms. Apologize you were disturbed by the noise and that you didn’t like the bed. Very welcome back to us again in the future if you come to Stockholm!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed in Scandic Malmen back in December 2012 just before Christmas. The hotel is located in Södermalm, one of the nicest areas in Stockholm, the hotel is always super busy in the weekends, and this time was no exception. At first we were given a standard room on 4th floor, but due to some very noisy guests on the same floor, the duty manager was very nice and upgraded us to the top floor where we got a super nice room. It made a big difference and we really enjoyed our stay with Scandic Malmen. The breakfast is super good, plenty of variety and friendly staff. Will come back next time we are in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for writing this review, we’re glad to hear you had a nice stay with us. Hope to see you back with us again in the future!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Nice room, though no water cooker. But there´s a bar downstairs where you can get drinks. Ironing board and iron in the room. Breakfast is really good. There´s a small gym as well. When I was there there was a big problem with the WLAN, it worked shortly and then stopped and so on. This got fixed within 1-2 days. I can recommend the hotel - the location is great and it´s quite (room towards inner yard).

Room Tip: chose inner yard - really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hi Martin,
Thank you for sharing this review, we appreciate it. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the bar and breakfast. Kettles are available in our Suits and Superior rooms, but unfortunately not in the standard rooms. Sorry to hear the WIFI was not working properly! Very welcome back to Scandic Malmen again in the future,
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Naked and Famous had a concert at Debaser Medis, Stockholm and we got the tickets to show so we had to get a place to sleep too.

Scandic Malmen was the perfect spot to stay, just opposite to the Club with trafficlights making the walking over the road safe.

Behind the corner was a stairway to the metro/tube which got you easily basicly everywhere in the city.

The room was like MikaelBman has wroten, 2 floors under reception without a window - Perfect place for resting after club night. Room was clean, wifi-connection worked perfectly, toilet was ok, but the bed was a bit narrow (less then 160 cm) for 2. And the corridor smell a bit like a cellar?

Breakfast was nice, but there wasn't any porridge.

But perfect spot for resting (no window, really quiet, nice toilet/shower) with very good connections (metro, wifi, phone, tv) and good breakfast (though no porridge if it's important).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tero H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Hi,
Glad to hear Scandic Malmen was the perfect spot to stay for you! Our cabin rooms are indeed very convenient for a good nights sleep as they are dark and quiet. Some of the cabin rooms, like the one you stayed in, has a queen bed, and some of them has two twin beds. Please let us know the next time that you would like a twin bed and we’ll do our best to arrange this for you.
Hope to see you back at Scandic Malmen again in the future!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We really wanted to get some sleep and Hotel Malmen has these "cabin" rooms without windows where you don't hear anything from the street. Mind you, if you take a room with a view, you might be woken up every hour by the oppisite clock that strikes on the hour. We also had warm sandwiches downstairs in the restaurant, very good. Breakfast at this hotel is excellent!

Room Tip: If you value your sleep, take the cabin type of room. Also the Business rooms on the Business top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyasintti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Hi,
I am glad to hear you had a good nights sleep with us and liked your cabin room. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed your sandwiches and the breakfast. Welcome back again at any time!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I liked the look and feel of the reception and the bar had a good atmosphere and it's in a good central location, but I was disappointed with my room. I only stayed one night fortunately or I'd have insisted on moving. I booked a "cabin" as had a budget but it was a tiny room, two floors down underground with no windows. I'd have paid the additional Krone to have a bigger room with windows if I'd realised. There was also a slightly unpleasant smell in the corridor outside my room, which they said they were investigating. I would stay here again but not in a cabin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Hi Janet,
Thank you for writing this review, we’re glad to hear you like the nice atmosphere in our reception and bars. I am sorry to hear you didn’t like the cabin room, but it is nice to know you would like to visit us again and then stay in another room category. Very welcome back in the future!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#74 of 154 in Stockholm
802 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Nofo Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#93 of 154 in Stockholm
245 reviews
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
346 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Malmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Malmen

Address: 49 - 51 Goetgatan, Stockholm 116 21, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $115 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Malmen 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Malmen - town life, musical experiences and a feeling of home in the heart of Södermalm.Here you can dine, drink, meet and sleep. And loads of other fun things, such as enjoying free concerts for example. When you stay with us in one of our 332 rooms, you will live in a 50th century building in the middle of the metropolitan pulse. You will also have great access to other parts of the city by metro, train, boat or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Malmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Malmen Stockholm
Scandic Malmen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing