We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Malmen
Nearby Hotels
Hotel C Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
$279
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Freys Hotel(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
$173
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
$172
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victory Hotel(Stockholm)
$196
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Skeppsholmen(Stockholm)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$207
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Berns Hotel(Stockholm)
$200
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,567)
Filter reviews
1,567 results
Traveler rating
262
614
430
184
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
614
430
184
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgamla stanmetro stationold townpopular barhotel barslocation is greatcomfortable roomscity centrehotel is situatedsuperior roomno windowexcellent breakfastvisit stockholmyogurtsodermalmstopspartying
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 1,567 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very good location in short walking distance to ie Gamla Stan and other attractions. Rather small room with tiny bathroom. Wooden floor and comfortable beds. Popular bar in connection with lobby. Start prices on Wine and drinks. Very delicious breakfast with all you need and can think of. Frontstaff friendly and helpful, but one employee looked like he just had walked out of bed after a heavy night in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SENOdense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for writing this review, what a nice one to receive. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our location, delicious breakfast, popular bar and the friendly staff. I am sorry though to hear that one of the front desk staff seemed a bit tired, I will talk to them about it.
Hope to see you back at Scandic Malmen again in the future, you are always welcome!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A room where designers must have spent some time to make it "fun" (see photo). I asked and got a room at the fourth floor at a quiet street side. The bathroom is very tiny, but thanks to an ingenious convex glass door that could be turned away to the wall so as to make more space. Once positioned towards you it leaves a nice round space to shower. Clever. The breakfast was a real "hurried up" experience, way too many people literally - it seemed all at the same time - running around to and from the buffet tables, the place hardly suited for all those guests. Not your idea of a nice start of the morning. The beds have two duvets on one bed, typically for Scandinavian countries and German hotels. I really hate it. First of all they are folded on the bed when you come in, then you have to unfold it and basically making up your own bed. Fortunately I was by myself so I could use the second duvet to keep the rear end under the mattress. If with two its really uncomfortable. You wonder who invented that ridiculous system. Time for a chance!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay, we appreciate feedback from our guests. I am sorry to hear the breakfast was not ideal during your stay. Our breakfast room can get a bit crowded from time to time, especially on weekends when most guests eat at the same time. If arriving a bit earlier there are normally lots of places available.
We do hope that you would consider staying with us at Scandic Malmen again if you come back to Stockholm. We would really like a second chance to give you a great stay!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed at Scandic Malmen several times before, and often choose it for the excellent location and since we know that Scandic as a chain is always dependable for good breakfast and a high minimal quality level. The location is hard to beat, expecially now that the Continental has been torn down.

As usual and as expected, check-in, check.out was qick and easy, room clean and bright if small, breakfast selection varied and plentiful.

Unfortunately, the hotel has now undergone a renovation. The breakfast is served in what is a nightclub in the evening, and the new design by some local vintage store is an excellent example of form over function; tables are ridiculously small, chairs uncomfortable and badly matched to the tables, large spaces are unused so people are forced to sit on high chairs at the bar.

The rooms are also renovated, meaning that the bathrooms are small with a tiny, tiny basin (as shown in one of the user pictures), a shower that leaves the entire floor wet, and no shelf space for toiletries. Speaking of shelf space - not very much in the room either.

Will I stay here again? Yes, but only if the other central Scandic hotels are full.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street, Götgatan, can be noisy; this is a lively neighbourhood with much people and nightlife. Rooms toward the back are smaller but quiet. Note that there are cabin rooms without windows - they are cheaper, though.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swede83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Swede83,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay, we appreciate to get feedback from our guests. I am glad to hear you like our location, the rooms and that the check-in/check-out is quick and easy. On the other hand, I am very sorry to hear you don’t like what our ground floor is like since the renovation. We will take your thoughts about the small tables, uncomfortable chairs and shelf space in the rooms into consideration next time it is time for us to make changes.
Regarding the basins we do have smaller basins in some of the rooms where we couldn’t fit a bigger one, but most rooms has a standard sized basin.
We hope to see you back as guests with us again, you are always welcome!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

All hotels in Stockholm are overpriced, so its hard to speak about the value of Scandic Malmen, but as an above basic hotel in Stockholm it was excellent. The location Sodermalm was great for exploring that part of the city and you can literally enter the Metro from walking outside the building. We also stayed in Ostermalm and enjoyed getting an experience of both sides of the city, although if I had to pick one I'd stay in Ostermalm.

The rooms are nicely finished and clean without being special. Oddly they have these tiny square pillows instead of normal sleeping pillows. The bathrooms are tiny but ok. The reception and service was utilitarian, they check you in but nothing more. The breakfast as others have eluded to was nice but a bit of a free for all. We struggled to get a seat on a busy Saturday morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrrplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for sharing this nice review. We’re really glad to hear that you that you enjoyed your stay at Scandic Malmen and our beautiful pillow. I’m sorry you had a hard time finding a seat in the breakfast room. The tends to get busy sometimes, especially on weekends when most guests eating at the same time, so sorry about this. Hope to see you back at Scandic Malmen again soon, you are always welcome!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Fairly standard hotel experience. Room was clean. Great shower with good water pressure. Bar was above average. The two downsides came in the morning - breakfast was a bit of a free-for-all and quite disappointing in quality. Secondly, the lifts were very busy at this time - perhaps to be expected, but could be an issue for some people, although I was fine with the stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enfilade405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hi,
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the clean room, the shower and the bar, thank you for letting us know. I am sorry you didn’t like our breakfast and had to wait for the elevators. We’re planning a renovation of our elevators at the end of this year that will make them run faster, so hopefully this won’t be a problem if you visit us again in the future. Welcome back to us at Scandic Malmen.
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews