We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, nice location”
Review of Scandic Malmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Malmen
Ranked #84 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not bad, nice location”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed 2 weeks in this hotel between Nov/Dec and we managed to witness the first day of snow in Stockholm. The hotel is conveniently next to the metro/subway and it has a supermarket right beside the hotel. Couple of fast food joints is also located right around the hotel area, and also there are simply too many restaurants within walking distance.

Check-in process was a breeze probably because we arrived late evening on Sunday, and we were the only guest at the check-in counter. We were given the room on 7th floor (top most) and the noise from the pub/cafeteria below is no longer audible on this floor. The heater in the room was barely working but the room itself is pretty warm enough to be occupied during early winter.

Breakfast choice... sad to say is real limited. For the whole 1 week, we can see the main items are always beans, hotdogs, eggs and bacon. They have lots of bread/biscuits around but it just remain the same everyday. I dont mind that but to compare with the other hotels I have stayed, and cheaper hotels, this is just not that nice.

The complimentary free wifi in the hotel is also very fast and reliable. Never been down even once during my 2 weeks stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: High floors to avoid the sounds below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kons168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Kons168,
We are so happy that you have decided to write a review about us -thank you!
I am grateful to read your comments about the breakfast and will take them all into consideration.
Welcome back to us!
Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    558
    385
    155
    71
See reviews for
219
437
95
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The room is ok, nothing special. The breakfast was good, a lot to chose from but there were no place to sit so we had to stand and wait. The staff was not very welcoming. At night the lounge becomes a club with a lot of noisy people. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primcircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Primcircle,
Thank you so much for your review.
I am so sorry to read that you found our staff rude and not welcoming, this is not at all how we would like to present ourselves.
I hope that you would like to re-think your decicison and give us an opportunity to change your opinion of us!

Welcome back
Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel needs to decide whether it is a hotel or a club because currently it is both. The club on the groundfloor stays open until 2am so if you plan on going to sleep before then find another hotel. Our room was on the fourth floor and the bass was still audible.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pintyponty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Pintyponty,
We are so grateful that you take the time to write about us, thank you so much. Yes, Malmen has become a very attractive meeting spot for hotel guests and for "external" guest. Something that we are very grateful for! We have several different types of rooms, some of which are very quite and far away from all music, the front desk staff is available for you 24h a day and are more than happy to help you find another room if you should like to.

I am sad that we failed to meet you expectations and hope to get the opportunity to change your opinion of us!
Welcome back
Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

If I was 20 and travelling as a couple, then this hotel would be fine. Kinda 'hip' and good location.

With kids? No. It's not really kitted out for them. I feel a bit let down by the Scandic Hotel's website that claims that it caters for kids at every hotel - what a lie. On the hotel's tv information screen it says to ask at reception for a 'surprise for your children'. I did ask at reception and THEY looked surprised that their own guest info says that, and said that there is nothing for kids. And there really isn't. No play area, etc that Scandic Hotels are known for.

Although the hotel is above a subway station, access with a pushchair isn't great and I'd recommend a baby carrier. Also, on arrival at the hotel on a Friday afternoon via the subway we were greeted by the neighbourhood drunks - not a great first impression for us, or an easy explanation for the kids.

Food at breakfast was plentiful. The same cannot be said for seating availability.

The only superb thing about the hotel is that the bed would be the comfiest that I have ever slept on.

Would I stay here again or recommend to friends with young children? No way.

Room Tip: Avoid low floors - they really REALLY are noisy on the weekend, and also traffic noise is prominent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaffySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear SaffySmurf,
Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to share your thoughts about us! For future vacation when travelling with your kids have a look at Scandic homepage: http://www.scandichotels.com/Always-at-Scandic/Travelling-with-children/Our-most-playful-hotels/ .
Unfortunately Malmen is not one of the hotels that are ranked as one of the "most playful" in the chain and is as you write perhaps more suitable when travelling as a cuple or with friends. I am so sorry if the information on our homepage is missleading. We will take a good look into this asap. I have also made sure that the front desk has the little suprise for kids, I am sorry that it was not available upon your arrival.
Once again my sincere apologies that we failed to meet your expectations and hope that I will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Best
Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiruna
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Slept here before, about ten times for the last 4 years. The location is good, I like "Söder", but something happend to the hotel. Not as clean as before, Much more noise, a smell of fries i our room, from the ventilation i think. The breakfast was really crowdy, nowhere to sit, and a mess with food. No coffee and we had to wait for coffee cups a long time.

This trip we tried Nordic Sea hotel, Rica Kungsgatan and Scandic Malmen. And I have to say. Sorry Malmen, we would choose another Hotel in our nex stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on lower flors can be noisy on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirunaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear KirunaEric,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write down some feedback to us, it is so important for us to receive this kind of comments this to be able to improve in our daily work.
I am so sorry to read that you did not find the hotel clean and the breakfast crowded! I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back within a near future and hopefully receive a new better review!
Best Regards
Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiruna
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently made use of the Scandic Malmen hotel for an overnight stay. The hotel is from the fifties, which means some odd features, both good and bad. The room, located on the 6th floor had been refurbished into a fresh and modern standard. The work-space was small but ok. I did not have dinner in the restaurant so my judgment on the meal quality is based on the breakfast serving; pretty standard. I often stay at Scandic hotels but Malmen was first for me. I have no difficulties in returning to Malmen for other stays so I guess I can say I liked it. By the way, the hotel is very well located on Södermalm and is easily reached by the underground.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAND1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear HAND1,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write down some feedback to us, it is so important for us to receive this kind of comments this to be able to improve in our daily work.
I hope I will get the opportunity to welcome you back to Scandic Malmen!

Best,
Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Me and 2 girlfriends checked in yesterday and the first room we got wasn't cleaned. Dirty towels, bes unmade, no toiletpaper. We had to go back to the reception and tell them. They gave us another room.
Had we known the room was 2 floors undergrounds we wouldn't have booked it. My phone didn't even have reception down there. Really small elevators.
When we turned off the lights there was a green lamp by the door that lit up half the room. I dont know if it was an emergency exit light but you couldn't turn it off. Quite annoying to not have totally dark in the room.
One of us thought the bed was hard so her back hurts.
The breakfast....we dont understand the good reviews about the breakfast because none of us have seen a more poor breakfast buffet. The scrambled eggs where like pudding (we even heard other guests comment that it looked like crap), the soft boiled eggs where hard boiled, they only had one type of cookies and we are used to eat breakfast at places where they have a variation of things... If you consider ham, bread, yoghurt and cheese as a great buffet, be my guest. For us this was one of the worst breakfast buffets we've had. Compared to Hilton Slussen this is nothing.
The breakfast area isn't comfortable, tiny tables on one side or eat among the buffet tables with people running around. No relaxation.
Great location but thats about it. None of us are coming back here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PutteANDCarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear PutteANDCarro,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay here at Scandic Malmen.
I am sad to hear that we failed to meet your expectations of us and that you got such a bad experience of Scandic Malmen. This is not at all how we would like to present ourselves to our guests, we are usually very proud of our product and foremost our service and ability to engage in dialogue with our guests.

I hope you will give me the confidence to try to change your opinion of us and gain your trust again.
Welcome back!
Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#75 of 154 in Stockholm
713 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Nofo Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#90 of 154 in Stockholm
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
2,811 reviews
Mariatorget
Hellstens Glashus
Hellstens Glashus
#98 of 154 in Stockholm
55 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#47 of 154 in Stockholm
2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Malmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Malmen

Property: Scandic Malmen
Address: 49 - 51 Goetgatan, Stockholm 116 21, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Malmen 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Malmen - town life, musical experiences and a feeling of home in the heart of Södermalm.Here you can dine, drink, meet and sleep. And loads of other fun things, such as enjoying free concerts for example. When you stay with us in one of our 332 rooms, you will live in a 50th century building in the middle of the metropolitan pulse. You will also have great access to other parts of the city by metro, train, boat or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Malmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Malmen Stockholm
Scandic Malmen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing