We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible rooms, not great service but good location”
Review of Scandic Malmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Malmen
Ranked #84 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Terrible rooms, not great service but good location”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

There are many opinions on what makes a good hotel and the location is of course important. Here the location is good, next to the subway station at Medborgarplatsen (virtually be the exit) and if one want to be at Södermalm this is a good location.

That was the good part about the hotel. The room was a disappointment, located on the first floor facing the street it was fairly noisy (both from cars and the bar located in the hotel). In addition to that it was small which for me is not necessarily a problem but here the combination of a small room and decor and design from the 80s is not really what one wants.

The room was also poorly equipped - lacked any coffee, tea or water kettle. There was an iron and ironing board but it was first of all filthy and also it was the cheapest type of iron. Clearly they have saved on everything here. TV was the old type and picture quality was awful. There were also a few annoying things such as the typical Scandic cheapness of not having proper shampoo and shower gel (they claim that environmental reasons make them have the big bottles of it in the shower - may explain why one has a big bottle but not crappy quality). Other annoyance was also sign in bathroom stating more towels available in the drawers, of course not correct. Hotel staff also ignores the do not disturb signs (why even have those if they ignore it).

The breakfast was acceptable quality and a plus that they serve it until 11. The service (if it can even be called that) was sub-standard, plates and glasses were not cleared from the tables and the breakfast rooms do not have enough seats - we were late for breakfast and it was still difficult to find a spot so wonder how it is earlier.

All together I would not recommend the place - there are better hotels than this in the same price range.

Room Tip: Room on high floor should be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesaint01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hello!
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am happy to hear that you like the location of the hotel and Södermalm. We are currently undergoing a renovation and what I can see from your review you got one of our rooms that stands in line to be renovated within a couple of months. Be patient, after summer alla our rooms will be up to date!
However, I am so sorry to hear that you found the service poor and sub-standard, service is the key factor in our industry and we work hard every day to exceed expectiations. I will take your thoughts and opionons back to my co-workers and use as an example of how we do not want to be preceived by our guests.

Once again thank you so much for your review and welcome back to us!
Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    557
    385
    155
    71
See reviews for
219
437
94
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sverige
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stay here a couple of nights every month.and the reason is mainly the location. Södermalm is a vibrant, pulsating neighbourhood with lots of restaurants, cafes, bars, shops and - people. The communication to the city centre i s easy by metro or by walking.
The hotel is also vibrant with lots of people passing by in the bars. The rooms are now newly renovated. Try to get a room on the upper floors preferebly with a view to the park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review, I am very happy to read that you like our new rooms, we are so proud of them!

Best Regards
Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I recently stayed here with my family for 3 nights. The first night when I checked in, the front desk receptionists, offers me an upgrade to a suite for roughly $40 more. I was refused as I had already coughed up $200 per night. The hotel then said that there are no other rooms available and hence offered me a room in the basement.

The room was tiny and had no windows (I have never seen such a room). I fought with the staff and they later offered me a room on the first floor for the next 2 nights. This room was slightly bigger, but due to the location its very noisy.

The bed too was a thin spring mattress....very uncomfortable..

The only positive factor was the location... The hotel is at prime location right at Modbergerplatsen Sq. in Stockholm. This area is filled with bars and clubs, so for young people looking to party...the location is perfect. There is also a Metro Station right below...

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on a higher floor. Also strictly avoid the basement..There are 2 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akgandhi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review however I am sad to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay with us!
We do have rooms without window but that was also clearly specified we you made your reservation and in your confirmation. We have several cathegories of rooms however they are slighty more expensive hence why the receptionist offered you an upgrade for 40$.

I am glad that you liked the location of the hotel and hope to see you again as a guest here at Scandic Malmen so we can get the opportunity to change your opinion of us.
Best Regards,
Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our stay was excellent from the moment we walked in the door. Daniel at the front desk was so helpful and accommodating. We had a cabin room which means it has no windows. this is perfect as the sun does not actually set during this time of year in Stockholm. It was still dusk at 1:30 am and the sun starts to rise at 3:30 am so a dark room is perfect. I read other reviews about this hotel that were negative and I just want to say I don't know what hotel they stayed in but ignore them. My room was below the bars and night club and I did not hear a thing. The free breakfast buffet is amazing. So many choices!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback, I am happy to read that you liked your stay here with us-
Welcome back!!

ElinRoquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

As a couple on a pleasure/business trip to Stockholm we stayed at the Scandic Malmen for 4 days 3 nights.Fri-Sunday.Before I forget...if you fly into Arlanda airport and need a taxi - use a yellow cab - safe and normally best price to city. Right the Malmen Hotel. Comfortable/functional room (basic double) 5th floor facing street - no problem with noise even with window open. Modern clean decor and clean but compact shower/bathroom. Check in V.good and had read before travelling about the bar/reception being 'lively' in the evening so asked for 5th/6th room which was no problem. In the evening the whole of the ground floor/lobby area is split in two. One side a cool chic lively bar the other a venue for live music - all good! Location was great.Tube station outside, a choice of restaurants and bars close by. Turn right out of the hotel and you have no more than 10-15 minute walk to Gamla Stam and the waterfront of Stockholm. Breakfast - yes as expected quite busy but plenty of room as you can use the bar areas from night before as well as the restauranty area. Liked this laid back feel! Breakfast was good and had everything we needed.We were woken at 8.30am one morning as the 4th floor rooms were being decorated but was no issue as wanted to get up anyway and explore this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors if worried about any street noise etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElToroChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review about Scandic Malmen, I am happy to see that you had a good vacation and hope you would consider coming back to Scandic Malmen next time you visit Stockholm.

Wecome back to us!

Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is sitting right above a T-bana metro stop (Medborgarplatsen) with an entrance just around the entrace to the hotel. This makes the hotel very prominent in Sodermalm.

Sadly, the hotel is dated and has very small rooms. We had a renovated room but the renovation was not tastefully done. We had wallpaper which had creepy childrens writing on the wall (giving the impression of a set of horror movie). The TV took up 60% of the desk and the metal picnic chair was very uncomfortable. We also had a queen size bed which was more like a large single bed. Being a very small room, meant the room heated up very quickly without a heater and sleeping was very uncomforable. The sound from night club at the hotel ground level meant you stayed up all night or suffer in a sauna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear sir,
Thank you for your review, I am so sorry to read that you did not like our wallpaper! We do have other rooms with another colorscheme and also larger size so if you would consider coming back to us, please do not hesitate to specify that you would like another room.

Welcome back!
Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, UK
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a good choice for a short stay. Very good central position, extremely well connected, it's a modern hotel with a very good restaurant and piano bar.
I had a single room, decent size, decent bathroom (although the shower had a tent, not a cabin), superfast free internet connection, huge tv screen....but very thin walls, so if your neighbour is a bit noisy it might be a problem.
The breakfast buffet is gorgeous and all organic.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
Good value for money in a quite expensive capital.

Room Tip: The hotel also offer cabins: they are larger rooms but with no windows. However, the view is not a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arimaior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us!
I am happy that you had a good stay with us and hope that Scandic Malmen will be your first hand choice when visiting Stockholm again.

Welcome back!
Elin Roquet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#75 of 154 in Stockholm
712 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Nofo Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#88 of 154 in Stockholm
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#47 of 154 in Stockholm
2,808 reviews
Mariatorget
Hellstens Glashus
Hellstens Glashus
#96 of 154 in Stockholm
55 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#108 of 154 in Stockholm
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Malmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Malmen

Property: Scandic Malmen
Address: 49 - 51 Goetgatan, Stockholm 116 21, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Malmen 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Malmen - town life, musical experiences and a feeling of home in the heart of Södermalm.Here you can dine, drink, meet and sleep. And loads of other fun things, such as enjoying free concerts for example. When you stay with us in one of our 332 rooms, you will live in a 50th century building in the middle of the metropolitan pulse. You will also have great access to other parts of the city by metro, train, boat or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Malmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Malmen Stockholm
Scandic Malmen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing