We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & friendly athmosphere”
Review of Lord Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lord Nelson Hotel
Ranked #73 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy & friendly athmosphere”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The tiny room was a suprise but everything needed (bed, bathroom, tv) was available and the marine decoration theme in the hotel was very pleasant. The personnel was very friendly, breakfast delicious and the free sauna was a very enjoyable experience. The sounds of live music from the old town streets were entertaining:)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaanairmeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    117
    54
    13
    2
See reviews for
18
46
93
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This hotel was booked for me by my hosts for a business meeting. Reviews had been somewhat mixed but I went with an open mind. Sadly I have to agree with those who highlight the crying need for refurbishment. Small and quirky rooms can be great, but not if they have old misshapen furniture, threadbare carpets and dead flowerboxes on the window sills as was the case here. On the other hand the staff were unfailingly charming and helpful and the location is good. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet on the first morning but, sadly, it was exactly the same on days 2 and 3 as well; also there was far too little space for everyone. Finally, I thought the prices were very high and not good value for money. All in all an underwhelming experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davethewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Comfy small hotel. Stayd there many times and now it's starting to need repairs. But the atmosfhere in gamla stan is so unique: compard to other gamla stan hotels this is great value.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Very cozy and cute hotel right in heart of Old Town. I stayed in December. Not sure if it might be a little loud in the summer. Hotel rooms are small but comfortable. Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Pride of ownership is everywhere. Modest breakfast included in price. Can't miss location. Good value. 15 minute walk from Main Train station.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank trinzeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
195 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Such a small place but we had enough room in our double. I did not see one of the single rooms so I can't comment on their sizes. We had two double rooms on the top floor. Ours had a smaller room but very good sized bathroom, ensuite. The other double room was a bigger room but had a smaller bathroom. Shower stalls only, no tubs. The beds were comfortable and the rooms fit our needs perfectly. The room was very quiet and even the closeness of the building out our window was tolerable and hardly noticeable (with the curtains closed).

Breakfast was included and was sufficient. The staff were always available and would even keep our room keys when we left. We only spent two nights here but after the first night the staff knew our names and room numbers, very friendly (and it helped that there were so few rooms in the place). There was free internet on the lounge computer, but that was on the blink our first night. Better access to free internet would have been very nice.

Our taxi was not allowed to drive onto Västerlånggatan to drop us at the front door, but we only had to walk about 30 yards to get there. It might have been more troublesome if we had had more luggage. Once we checked out we were able to leave our bags at the front desk and retrieved them nearly 6 hours later, a very nice way to continue siteseeing. We had no trouble picking up our rental car days later near T-Central and driving right up into Gamla Stan. We did have to park illegally to load our bags, which might have been more troublesome had we been in a more peak tourist time of year.

The hotel is right on the main drag in Gamla Stan, steps away from the Royal Palace and Cathedral. Access to Drottninggatan (pedestrian shopping street) was quick and a short distance away. It was a perfect location for us.

All in all, a very nice time there. I would stay here again, for the location if for nothing else!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bez71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I had known that this is the smallest hotel in Stockholm, but I thought I'd give it a shot anyways. I am so glad I did! Upon arrival, I went to the check-in desk, where I was greeted with smiles, and great attitudes. They were so interested in where I was from, and wanted to know everything about the state/country I live in. That made me feel great, because it was my first time traveling overseas, and I was doing it alone. I went to my room, and yes it was small, but it was the most charming hotel room I had ever been in. Each room is named for a ship, and in the room there is a little glass case above the bed with that ship in it. The porthole on the bathroom door was also a nice touch. Everything was clean, as well (one of the main things I look for when I travel.) I was staying on the second floor, and so I explored there first. Down the hall from me was this cute, little sitting room that looked out onto the bustling street. It was really a nice place to unwind. If you happen to go into this room, look on the bookshelf for a book that has pictures from all around Stockholm. The third floor has a door that leads onto the roof deck. I didn't get to use this out of sheer forgetfulness, and some rainy days. However, I had heard that it was relaxing up there. Onto the main floor... Although small, the dining area is efficient for the most part. I went at a time of the year when it wasn't fully booked. For summer months, I can see there not being enough sitting/dining areas for the amount of guests. Although, they did the best that they could with the space they have. Their breakfast is wonderfully laid out every morning, and it was nice to have it included in the price. The very bottom floor has a sauna if you're into that. The hotel is decorated wonderfully to it's theme. I found myself always looking around and finding something new that would interest me.

As far as location goes, it is fantastic. You're on the main street in Old town, and you're a walking distance from the Royal Palace, Stortorget, Storkyrkan, Nobel Museum, T-bana, and so much more. You can walk down to Södermalm, or up to central Stockholm. Really with such a great location, you can be anywhere pretty quickly.

I really enjoyed my stay there, and I am going back again. I will be booking with Lord Nelson again. I hold the record for longest stay there (18 days.) I won't be there as long this time around, but if I had the time, I'd do it again in a heartbeat. I would recommend this to anyone actually. I stayed in a single room, and was more than happy with it. They do have double rooms, if you're looking for more space.

I really liked the fact that it's a locally owned hotel. It's gives it a sense of charm.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potat0zilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Rooms:
- both single and double rooms are really tiny; bathrooms are brand new (small too). Once you open your suitcase its probably the best to stay in bed and watch TV - as there is not space to walk around at all; rooms are very clean; I like the idea of the hotel - designed like a ship. They hv a library with free internet terminal

Staff:
- always friendly, always smiling, always happy to help!

Location:
in Gamla Stan - Old City, maybe 2 minutes to subway, 2 minutes to start sightseeing

Summary:
- I have been there at Lord Nelson many times and I will for sure come back

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalCitizenOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
455 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
566 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#79 of 154 in Stockholm
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#43 of 154 in Stockholm
641 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 154 in Stockholm
1,266 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#9 of 64 in Stockholm
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson Hotel

Property: Lord Nelson Hotel
Address: 22 Vaesterlaanggatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 29, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lord Nelson Hotel is an intimate, friendly and pleasant hotel right in the heart of Gamla Stan, Stockholm’s Old Town. You find the hotel on the main street, close to the city centre and all the capital’s sights and attractions. But the hotel itself is also an attraction, as it contains a unique, private collection of maritime antiques – passionately gathered through the decades by the owner family Bengtsson. All rooms have been designed and decorated to resemble cabins on a ship. The building dates from the 17th century and at just under six metres wide, this property is undoubtedly Sweden’s narrowest hotel. In the Summer time the hotel guests can enjoy a Beautiful view on Poop Deck, the roof top terrace. The Continental Breakfast has an organic a fairtrade profile, and the hotel offers free coffe and tea service in the library on the first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lord Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Stockholm
Hotel Lord Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing