We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Scandic hotel in Stockholm city”
Review of Scandic Anglais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Anglais
Ranked #76 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice hotel in central Stockholm. The breakfast menu was good. Space and environment could be better in the restaurant. The rooms downstairs were not of the highest quality. Leak in the basin and less well cleaned.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fregus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have spent between 10-15 nights here between Aug 2012 and Mars 2013 and have the same satisfied feeling afterworth every time. Superb staff, nice rooms, perfect atmosphere at the evenings in the bar, generous breakfast open until 2pm and nice spa area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valaszkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We chose this hotel because we weren't all that familiar with this side of Stockholm. The location was very nice, right across the street to the royal library. The park must be very beautiful when the trees have leaves on. It was easy to reach the hotel by bus.

The hotel in itself was clean and accessible. The staff was very friendly. They even made porridge for our daughter by request at the breakfast. We had pre-ordered an accessible room and got one. It was accessible enough for my small manual wheelchair but I doubt the toilet would be spacious for someone using a large electrical wheelchair. The room wasn't huge overall but it did well for me.

My parents-in-law told me they had been disturbed by lots of noises from the park during the night. My husband said the same thing about our room, as well. I didn't notice anything and slept like a baby.

The breakfast was ok. As a former vegan I was very happy to see they even served soya yogurt. I would have liked to see more non-meat options to put on my bread. We went to the hotel restaurant in the evening and found the food good. There was only one vegetable choice on the menu. Fortunately, that was good.

The jacuzzi was not accessible for wheelchair. I crawled there anyway and got bruises on my knees. It was nice and warm but I really don't understand why it has to be so hard to reach.

There wasn't any proper playing room for kids. Only a small corner with a Play Station. That didn't attract our child at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urhonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The location of the hotel is very good and the general atmosphere is nice. Personnel is very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast (nothing special). Rooms with enough space and clean.
Transportation from the hotel very easy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yiapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed only one night in this hotel in the weekend. During check-in staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice clean huge room and own balcony as well. We arrived to the nearby metro station and it was not so simple to find the hotel first of all. In the evening hotel bar was very crowded and so noisy up to the lobby area. Maybe not so comfortable for the travellers with small kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pariscity044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed their two times in the recent weeks. The location of the hotel is very good and the general atmosphese is nice. Good breakfast area and solid gym. Rooms are basic and clean. For my taste the rooms are a bit dark and lack a bit of atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springergabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's a fun hotel in a good location and the bar is somewhat of a hotspot. It can be very noisy in the weekends (starting from Thursday) so prepared for some drunken laughter and shouting in the corridors way after midnight.
Also better never to book a single room. You will be tucked away in a broom closet.
I would recommend this hotel if you like to meet up with people or are staying with friends. If you need a good night sleep, or are travelling alone, the Scandic Park across the park is a more quiet option.

Room Tip: Don't book a single room. You will be sleeping in a broom closet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilse020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Scandic Park
Scandic Park
#72 of 154 in Stockholm
826 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Norrmalm
Scandic Klara
Scandic Klara
#70 of 154 in Stockholm
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
1,945 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
704 reviews
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#67 of 154 in Stockholm
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Anglais

Address: Humlegardsgatan 23, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#52 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $125 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Scandic Anglais, next to the beautiful garden Humlegarden and in the buzzling square Stureplan in central Stockholm, you can enjoy fantastic and simple Italian twisted meals in the restaurant Jamie's Italian and relax in the warm jacuzzi after a hard workout in the well equipped gym. The hotel offers two bars with a wide selection of wine, cocktails and DJ's and during summer time our roof terrace on the 7th floor is open. All rooms at Scandic Anglais features cable TV with plenty of channels, bathroom with shower or bathtub, wooden floors and a refrigerator (exept cabin rooms), which you can make to your own mini bar. Some of the rooms also have balconies. As a hotel guest you have free access to wireless Internet in your room and public areas, and don't forget that the energizing breakfast is always organic and certified by KRAV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Anglais Stockholm
Scandic Anglais Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing