We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Kallhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Kallhagen
Ranked #14 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right on a major bus line and within walking distance to the center of town, specifically the Vasa Museum area. It's also on a lake and pretty green space with a couple lesser known museums. The rooms are nicely appointed, the buffet breakfast is quite good and almost all of the staff are very helpful. Make sure to be on the renovated side with air conditioning in the summer. The older rooms are hot. There are adjoining rooms for families.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HBerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor O, Manager at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Berke family,

It was a great pleasure having you stay with us at Villa Källhagen. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I hope that you get to chance to visit Stockholm again, perhaps during a different season (winter is usually quite lovely, our open fireplace helps to add atomosphere).

Take care

Yours sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    135
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
75
153
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sverige
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed for two nights with my wife and our 9 months old son.
We had a junior suite to be able to stay up after the little one was in bed. Hotel supplied a baby crib without problem, worked well.
Note that the bathroom is accessed from the bedroom in the suite.
The best thing is the location, just by the sea. When it is hot you can even take a swim.
These rooms also have a terrace where we enjoyed a drink or two during the evening.
It is a very beautiful 20 min walk into the city, which we enjoyed several times. Walking over to Djurgården is also recommended.
Food was good, service OK, but not like a big 4 star hotel.
There was a wedding party at the hotel Saturday, which is common during the summer, but that did not bother us, a bit extra entertainment. Noice was not an issue.
A slight smell from unknown source and some ventilation noice in the morning was the only drawbacks.
All in all, we had a very good experience staying there!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with terrace are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor O, Manager at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Magnus,

I am glad that you and your family had an overall very good experience staying with us at Villa Källhagen.

I am happy that you enjoyed our great location by the Djurgårdsbrunns canal. During the summer we had a smaller bar menu, I hope that you get come back to try our full a la carte menu. It appears that the mysterious smell that you are referring to must have disappeared. I hope it was a one time thing.

Let us know if there are other things that we can improve on.

Have a great rest of the summer.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

So glad i took a chance booking this place. What a gem !! A 5 minute taxi ride from the center of town, this Villa is the perfect place to return to after a day of seeing the sights. At night you can hear a pin drop! I stayed in the master suite for 4 days, a room spread around the corner of the building overlooking a beautiful lake. There are other places to stay directly in the city, but i absolutely loved the tranquility of this place. There is a bus stop directly in front. Buying a Stockholm Card is a smart way to go. It can be used on all public transportation and entry to tons of sights. One day i took a subway and bus combo with the card to get back to the Villa after a day of shopping in the old town. It was perfect! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabrielleflawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor O, Chef at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Gabrielle,

We are absolutely delighted that you had a great stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experience.

I hope that it won't be too long until we get to welcome you back.

You should try to come during one of the other seasons, winter is absolutely magical with open fireplace and cross country skiing outside the door.

Have a great rest of the summer.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had a wonderful time at Villa Kallhagen this past week. We had ground floor rooms, so were able to either use AC or open doors onto patio for a breeze. Perfect location--just a short bus ride to central, yet located in a beautiful setting on the water. We were unsure about the location relative to getting to Gamle Stan, Sodermalm, etc, but bus stops right outside hotel and it is incredibly easy to navigate bus/T/metro system with a multi-day pass. We had an adjoining room with a connecting door for our teens. Would and absolutely stay again, but would take more advantage of location next to Djurgarden and its trail around the water and use of bikes. Used the patio late at night for a great end of the day. Excellent staff and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor O, Chef at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Lane,

We are very happy that you had a wonderful time at Villa Källhagen. A unique place at a great location, and excellent staff. Thank you for the kind words!

We will absolutely welcome you back again.

Have a great rest of the summer.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loeten, Norway
Level Contributor
241 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

What a shame! This hotel has a great location, tastefully decorated rooms, comfortable beds, spacious baths, free parking, courteous service... but totally inadequate ventilation for summer use! We stayed there two nights, and while the outdoor temperature was perfectly comfortable, even a bit chilly, it was hot and stuffy in the rooms. Only one small window can be opened, while the rest of the expansive window area is stationary. The table fan was noisy and rather ineffective--perhaps a ceiling fan would do better? Furthermore, the restaurant serves only a buffet during summer, which has yummy cold dishes but (as expected) tired-tasting hot ones. I wouldn't hestitate to come back in a colder season; the 30-minute walk to Gamla Stan is absolutely gorgeous, and a great way to get some exercise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanoffrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor O, Chef at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this honest review.

We are happy that you enjoyed our unique location, lovely beds, best parking possibilities in Stockholm? courteous service etc.

That is of course little consolation if you can't sleep because of the heat. For many Swedes (myself included) this summer with degress over 30 degrees Celsius has at some points been rather unbearable.

Last year we installed AC in about half of our hotel rooms, I am sorry that you did not get to stay in one of those this time. Until we get a chance to install AC in the rest of the rooms, I will look into other possibilities for cooling down the room. Fortunately this is only for a couple of weeks a year (at best).

I look forward welcoming you back to try Villa Källhagen again.

Have a nice and cool summer.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutzing, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

located close to city centre, but in a green area, directly located at a large park this hotel is a perfect place for getting to know Stockholm. Food is good, service very friendly, dogs allowed. Parking lot in front of hotel, bus takes you in 10 min to the centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lutz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor O, Manager at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Lutz,

We are most delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are indeed close to the center but in a wonderful green area. Our parking possibilities are amongst the very best in Stockholm, we have about 20 spaces that are free based on availability (on a first come first served basis), if they would all be taken, there is the large public lot just next door (where they charge).

It is a perfect location to bring your dog since we are surrounded by beautiful nature, we currently have one room where we allow dogs, contact us directly to see if it is available.

Hope to see you soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#8 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kallhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kallhagen

Property: Villa Kallhagen
Address: 10 Djurgaardsbrunnsvaegen, Stockholm 115 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kallhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Kallhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kallhagen Hotel Stockholm
Kallhagen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing