We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not the usual canal side.”
Review of Villa Kallhagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Kallhagen
Ranked #15 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Roydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“not the usual canal side.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Villa Kallhagen is a small hotel set in what were once Royal hunting groundsJust outside central Stockholm, a nice 30 minute walk or 10 minutes by cab. I have been staying here for the past thirteen years on my regular trips to Stockholm and frequently use the excellent restaurant. There is a choice of rooms and suites,my particular favourite being 24,very spacious and light.The staff are very attentive and helpful although the overall ambiance is relaxed and unstuffy. The restaurant is of high quality and offers a changing menu with the seasons,during the Summer months it is possible to eat Al Fresco and it can be extremely busy with locals so reservations are essential. It is not cheap and the dishes are sometimes smaller than might be expected but always interesting. The high taxation on alcohol in Sweden suggests careful attention is required in this area, a couple of glasses too many could easily break the bank. A lovely setting by the canal,closer in appearance to a lake, makes this a very nice stopover
George Crossman
Roydon, Essex

Room Tip: Suite 24 is a largecorner room with delightful views towards the town and also over the canal and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor O, Manager at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Crossman,

Thank you for the lovely review. It is always a great pleasure having you stay with us at Villa Källhagen. My colleagues and I are truly privileged having so many charming and loyal guests such as yourself.

We look forward to your next visit, we wish you a fantastic summer.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    139
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
156
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
132 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband I and stayed here because we needed to visit the embassy and it couldn't have been any closer. The staff was friendly, our room was very clean, there was a wonderful breakfast and the atmosphere was calm. The mini bar was stocked in the room too. If you don't mind being outside of the center of the city then this is the place for you. Really a great place and if I come back to Stockholm I would stay here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ALJSKEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam_STHLM, Manager at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Alhski,

We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us, thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Our location is quite excellent, near the center of Stockholm, yet in the middle of nature. Perfect for visiting embassies, since we are located in Stockholm's "Diplomat Town".

Have a fantastic week,

Hope it won't be too long since we get to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Villa källhagen is a really nice hotel, close to the city but still out from the bustle. You can walk into city from this place and at the same time to get a great view over Stockholms Lovely water.
The hotel is really nice, friendly staff, good food and great breakfast. The rooms are cosy and we slept really good in the beds. We had a small Child with us and we were a bit afraid that he should disturbe other ppl but not- everything went fine, both staff and other guest were very understanding. We will go back here for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor O, Manager at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Sofia,

Thank you for taking the time and write the lovely review. We enjoyed having you and your family here and we are happy that your stay was such a success.

I hope it won't be too long until we get a chance to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I followed the fellow tripadvisor reviewers' reviews and they served me well once more!
This is a really nice place with excellent food and service (rooms on the small size and dated but ok value for money) that is worth to be on the list of hotels to consider seriously when in Stockholm and being at the very center not a must...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_TA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaKallhagen, Manager at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear John,

We are most delighted that you stayed with us at Villa Källhagen. Reading reviews before choosing a place to stay is always a good idea and usually provide a pretty good indication about the type of establishment.

Great that you got a chance to eat here as well as stay over. The restaurant is quite excellent, and our staff tend to be lovely, friendly and service-minded.

Thank you for writing about us. The next time you come feel free to look at our larger room types; we have superior rooms, junior suites, and a suite as a compliment to the 22 sq. m standard rooms.

Have a lovely rest of the week,

Yours sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The room we got had seen it's better days with the paint falling of the door to the bathroom, cracks around the bathroom tiles, the heating/AC didn't work that well and the room got quite cold. Absolutely delicious breakfast and realy friendly and helpfull staff made up for the short commings of the room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor or exterior house (red villa) are newer than the ones on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mknordstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaKallhagen, Manager at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time and write about us, seriously appreciated.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay overall. We do have a delicious breakfast, and most of our staff are absolutely exceptional.

We are always on an onqoing quest to improve our facilities, and there are a couple of rooms that might be a little out of date. In the beginning of next year we have great plans to make all the rooms live up to the same great standard that is Villa Källhagen.

We installed a new AC system just this year, I apologize that the heating was not working properly during your stay. If you could get back to me and tell what which room you stayed in I will personally look at the things that did not live up to your expectations.
Please email me at your convenience, victor@kallhagen.se

There are some newer rooms that you could try on your next stay. They are located on the ground floor. As for the historical red house located in the garden, it features two of our lovely conference rooms, and unfortunately no hotel rooms.

Have a great winter, hope to see you again.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great location very close to the centre of Stockholm (5 mins via taxi). Situated on the edge of the water with views down to the Nordic Museum.

Very friendly helpful staff. I dined in the restaurant - exceptional food (i particularly recommend the fallow deer).

The only reason this doesn't score a 5 is that the rooms are showing a few signs of age but very clean and didn't spoil the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaKallhagen, Manager at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you so much for staying with us and writing this positive review. Our cuisine is quite delicious and our staff friendly and helpful.

Updating our rooms is an ongoing process, we have a great plans for further improvements in the very near future. Also feel free to try one of the rooms that we built just a few years ago.

Have a great autumn, hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, comfortable, with pleasant personell in reception, however it is a bit faded. The breakfast was ok but the service was not really the usual friendly faces one meets in Stockholm.
Also the hotel caters for conferences so at times the small reception area can be very crowded. I had a feeling that at times the hotel was understaffed.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the water are best but expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swingelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaKallhagen, Manager at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and for writing this review.

Thank you for appreciating our pleasant hotel staff. We are happy that you were comfortable during your stay, and that you enjoy our great location as much as we do.

We are sorry to hear that service was uneven during this stay. Apparently we failed to live up to our own very high standard when it comes overall service. We are increasingly more poplular, and we have enjoyed a period of fully booked hotel, restaurant and conference rooms.

Hope to see at Villa Källhagens in the near future, so we can prove that the imperfect service was an exception and not a rule.

Have a wonderful autumn,

Sincerely,

Victor Olin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kallhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kallhagen

Property: Villa Kallhagen
Address: 10 Djurgaardsbrunnsvaegen, Stockholm 115 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kallhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Kallhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kallhagen Hotel Stockholm
Kallhagen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing