We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Kallhagen Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Berns Hotel(Stockholm)
$190
$161
Berns Hotel
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$235
$150
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Freys Hotel(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
$168
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victory Hotel(Stockholm)
$222
$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Story Hotel Riddargatan(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Central by Scandic(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
$138
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lydmar Hotel(Stockholm)
$284
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveler rating
239
164
38
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
164
38
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry hotelgreen areacity centrea short bus ridelarge bathtubrelaxing stayquiet locationbeautiful parksmall hotelhome away from homerooms are greatview of the waterground floorvasa museumlobby barstayed for one nightfantastic location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 452 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Five minutes by taxi from the centre of Stockholm, Villa Källhagen (apparently pronounced 'shell-hah-gen') has an unlikely combination of features. The restaurant/hotel/small conference centre has about 36 elegantly designed, comfortable rooms overlooking Djurgarden Park in the quietest, greenest part of the city. We were there at Midsummer when the restaurant was closed for lunch and dinner, but the breakfast was the best I've ever had in Sweden.

Villa Källhagen's front desk service is also exceptional. They are happy to check addresses, telephone numbers, opening times etc. online and print out information as necessary.

Recommended for first time visitors, business people, gourmets and nature lovers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skakagrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kallhagen, Manager at Villa Kallhagen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to write the review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our helful staff, and our beautiful surroundings. On few occasions our restaurant is closed, we are sorry that this was the case when you visited. When you stay with us again we hope that you will get the full Villa Källhagen experience and try our excellent cuisine.

Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Kallhagen is a unique hotel that is not very large. The rooms are clean and quiet, and the onsite restaurant has a good breakfast. It is located outside of the city center, so it is a good walk into town, however that's not a deterrent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind review.
We always try our best to exceed expectations.
/Management, Villa Kallhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We ate dinner there last night. The entry was a marinated salmon which was pretty average. Nothing special. The main dish was a fish and seafood "wallenbergare" (kind of hamburger) accompanied by mashed potatoes and a veggie sauce.Grossly under seasoned, dripping oil, and the texture made me think it was more egg and flour than fish and seafood in the "hamburger". I ended up eating just the mashed potatoes. Then for dessert, I ordered my all-times favorite, Fondant au chocolate. This was the last straw to spoil the whole dinner!! The fondant which is meant to be full of warm and runny chocolate, was like a chocolate muffin, no liquid chocolate in the middle accompanied by badly caramelized green pistachios that stick on your teeth. Very, very bad.
Our waiter, while effective, was not charming at all. No smile, no how was your dinner?, no personalized service, made the atmosphere to feel as heavy as their greasy main dish.
Good sides: OK wine of the house, nice view if you seat by the windows.
For that money you could get much better food and service in Stockholm, without having to go so far away. Personally, I will never go back to this restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Grazziana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

We are truly sorry for this evening! We are trying all the time to get better and since February we have changed a lot, for example almost all service staff is new.
We also have a new swedish menu which is great!
See the new menu at http://www.kallhagen.se/Dinner+menu__.html

I really hope you are willing to try us again when in Stockholm.
/Management at Villa Kallhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was there on a business trip and allocated by the company which invited me. On the plus side: very good restaurant, very pleasant, almost rural environment. Beautiful view of a lake and yacht marina, very calm, nice place for walks. The city centre is about 40 mins by walk or 10 mins by taxi. Not very convenient for a shopping trip. Very comfortable beds. The room was a bit small and had rather tired decor. There seems to have been a bit of a problem with the staff. Sometimes not very responsive and "on the ball". The best hotel if you want to go for a concert to Berwaldhallen or have some business at the US embassy.

Room Tip: For the best views ask for the first floor rooms. The suite on first floor has got a wonderful panorama from the living room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtsAndWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kallhagen, Manager at Villa Kallhagen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Our guests reviews and opinions are a great help to us and highly appreciated no matter what. Thank you for taking the time to write this.

We are glad that you got to experience the good food and refreshing surroundings. A 10-15 minute walk along the water will get you to Djurgården and the waterview street of Strandvägen. To stay at the very center of Stockholm could be more convenient for shopping but might not be as charming and relaxing.

We strive to provide excellent service at all times. On quite few occasions we do not live up to our own high expectations of service quality. We are deeply sorry that you did not get to see us on our best.

Our standard 22sq meter large rooms are too small for some people when you are in your home away from home. Next time please try one of our larger room types; Villa Källhagen features some lovely superior rooms, junior suites and a suite.

We hope that we get to see you soon again.

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We have very mixed feelings about this hotel after having stayed here. The location is wonderful if you appreciate a quiet atmosphere in a park area but still only 10 minutes by bus to the city. The restaurant is excellent both when it comes to the cuisine and service. The hotel however doesnt come up to the same standard. We had a double room that was standard size. We also had a junior suite with two rooms, one larger with a sofa chairs and an office desk, and a bedroom that was pretty dark with only a rooftop window. Both rooms were terribly cold at arrival the central heating was turned off !!! We did put it on and got some heat after a few hours. Both rooms had bathroom with a bathtub/shower and rooftop windows. A brownish yellow colour of dirt here and there in the corners between wall and bathtub. The toilet bowl in the double wasnt clean at arrival something I ve hardly ever have experienced at a hotel. The rooms seem to be a bit dated, carpets were dirty and the sofa had stains. There were spots where the paint was gone on the walls. These arent things you expect in a hotel in this price class. Rooms had a minibar with softdrinks for free. Flats creen television with some cable channels. The suite had a television also in the bedroom but the remote didnt work. On day two even the television in the suite stopped working. The suite had a small patio and must be nice during summertime. There was a view towards a park and the water from both rooms that was nice. The reception area also has alounge with a bar where drinks and coffe is sold. There is also a fireplace giving a nice cosy atmosphere. They did however have obvious problems with the service and cleaning, There were plates with leftovers from previous guests here and there and nobody seemed to clean up. Empty glasses and cups were also frequent. Breakfast was good standard as a buffet. We particularily liked the fresh bread. I dont recommend this as a hotel but its a nice place to have dinner. Its sad to see that the hotel isnt better maintained.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews