We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Ranked #74 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hi All!

Stayed 1 night an have to say that it was a good experience. Location is close to everything in Stockholm city. Service was excellent and everything just worked smoothly. I would be happy to go there agin and even bring my family.

Br, Johan Halvarsson

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 802 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Located quite centrally this hotel looks like attractive for the short business stay or for a tourist with intention to walk around the city. The breakfast is very good. Rooms are basic, and hm, Scandic: the tables looks like a simple desk without any compartments below, walls are decorated by photographs of the sea port working night shift, there is no ventilation except by opening the window, and no air conditioning. Hm, Scandic.
But if you will be unlucky like me you can stуз in the number of traps. First, you may be put on the fifth floor. When you go to the room you find that the window is opening right at the level of the pavement. Do you remember about possibility to get air only by opening the window?
Next, you may be sent to the upper, 7th floor. Terrible!!! They have a night bar at the 7th floor, and visitors go to there through the whole hotel corridor. So, you will enjoy the noise and smell from the crowd of drunk, drugged, flirting strangers.

Room Tip: not 7th floor, at 5th floor only the front looking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silencd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

What wonderful staff! Helpful, friendly, knowledgable. My baby and I were greeted warmly - and the baby was always supplied with a high chair and a smile.

The breakfast is excellent. Seriously good - with provisions for restricted diets, such as gluten free or lactose intolerance. High chairs provided. You can fill up on good food here.

The rooms are basic, but fine. Everything works and is well laid out. I had a very spacious room though it had no window which I found slightly disturbing.

It's well located and although not in the Gamla Stan (Old town) you're very near to just about everything you could need - food, transport, views, ferries etc. All a few minutes walk.

Don't expect the Ritz, but a comfortable stay in a nice hotel with the best staff I've encountered in a hotel.

Room Tip: Get one with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinyfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjofartshotellet, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sjofartshotellet, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Tinyfury,
thank you so much for writing this review and for your sweet words about our staff. I am happy and proud to read it!

Our location is indeed very convenient and, just as you say, close to everything!

We hope to see you here again soon!

Kind Regards
Kristin Bjerner
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The rooms are kind of small but their wooden style gives you a unique feeling of relaxation and well being.

The breakfast is awesome.

I enjoyed a pretty fast WI-FI access during all my stay.

It's really a nice place to be

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LamineKacimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjofartshotellet, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sjofartshotellet, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hello LamineKacimi,
I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I hope that Scandic Sjöfartshotellet will be your first choice everytime you visit Stockholm!

Best Regards
Kristin Bjerner
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotellets läge är det bästa med sjöfartshotellet - bara nån minuts gångväg från slussen är det nära upp till söder och ner på stan. Rummen har fin standard, är snygga och rena, personalen är trevlig // The best part with this hotel is the location (and possibly the price) as it lies close to the southern district with a lot of restaurants and night life as well as close to the centre of Stockholm. Its nice, neat and clean and the staff is nice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JofenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjofartshotellet, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sjofartshotellet, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013
Google Translation

Hej JofenK,
Roligt att läsa att du uppskattar våra rum, vår personal och vårt läge! Nu till sommaren vill jag även tipsa om att vi har vår takterrassbar öppen. En pärla som du inte får missa om du besöker Stockholm igen under sommaren.

Jag hoppas att vi ses här snart igen!

Bästa Hälsningar
Kristin Bjerner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is at a perfect location and you get a good view of the city. I was there during the winter and i enjoyed staying there.However, the rooms are small and you feel squashed. The breakfast is heavy and the buffet lunch is also great. The sauna is also perfect and well equipped gym. The internet was fast.

Room Tip: Get a room which gives you a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceropal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjofartshotellet, Front Office Manager at Scandic Sjofartshotellet, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Ceropal2013,
thank you so much for your nice review! It makes us really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We do have rooms in various sizes. If you want more space I recommend you one of our three types of Superior Rooms. For example our Superior Extra Room with a private terrace and a lovely view of Stockholm!

We hope to see you at Scandic Sjöfartshotellet again in the future!

Take care until next time!
Kind Regards
Kristin Bjerner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. The rooms were quite small and a bit dirty and old. The loby was clean and comfortable and so was the dining-hall/breakfast-hall. The breakfast was large and overall good with a multible choice of different sorts of food, but average for a hotel in this priceclass. Luckiley i wasen't at the hotel more than ween i sleept. Last the gym was nothing to cheer for.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
#88 of 154 in Stockholm
1,534 reviews
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#93 of 154 in Stockholm
245 reviews
Mariatorget
Hellstens Glashus
Hellstens Glashus
#86 of 154 in Stockholm
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
713 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
3,089 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Nofo Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sjofartshotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sjofartshotellet

Address: 26 Katarinavaegen, Stockholm 116 45, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Slussen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $117 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Sjofartshotellet 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Sjofartshotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Sjofartshotellet Stockholm
Scandic Sjofartshotellet Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing